We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location byt needs a great deal of work.”
Review of Croydon Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Croydon Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good location byt needs a great deal of work.”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Other than the fact that the toulets don't flush, limited towels and only one wash cloth for family of three, the place has possibilites. I'd rather be at a Martiott, The only doesn't serve dinner until 6 pm, 6:30 on holidays which I found annoying.
The holiday is one block from the train station making it an ideal location for visits to London. Oh, and they could use some "real" mattresses.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rjsniteflyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Rjsniteflyte

Thanks for leaving us a review here. I am glad to see that all in all your stay with us was not a bad one and all the points you made will be looked into. Please accept my apologies for any inconveniences that you might have experienced during your stay with us.

Even though Oscars does not serve dinner unti the times you stated, Whistlers is opened all day where meals could be had from a menu.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    392
    228
    86
    82
See reviews for
182
279
76
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Like many other visitors, the hotel’s proximity to East Croydon Station (Victoria is just a quarter of an hour away) was a definite draw. And unlike, say, Jurys Inn Hotel - adjacent to the underpass - where we stayed last December, there was noticeably less noise from emergency vehicle sirens and general traffic noise.

We had an executive room which is on 5th (top) floor for three nights and were impressed by the comfortable king size bed and the good size of the room. Everything was reasonably clean but at least once the floor did not get vacuumed. Don’t know how the room compares to a standard unit. Were impressed by the speed of the lifts with rarely a delay.

Sometimes there were not enough staff on reception to deal with waiting guests and believe more should be drafted in when a coach full of visitors is anticipated.

Whilst at £5 per day, on site parking represents reasonable value, beware the unpublicised regulations e.g. only 10 minutes after ticket validation is permitted until vehicle departure. Several cars were seen to be clamped for infringements during the period of our brief stay and the hotel’s deliberate policy of encouraging non-resident visitors to use the underground facility could well mean no space being available for guests.

The buffet breakfasts generally provided a good choice of food but, with more than an hour to go before the end of the service, to run out of orange juice is not good but to obviously dilute the grapefruit juice to compensate is even worse. Similarly to not have white bread available to make toast is a little remiss when the “walk-up rate” for the meal is a hefty £14 p.p.

Overall, a reasonable experience and, if the price is right, would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borderpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear borderpath

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

All your comment and concerns are noted and will be addressed accordingly. Its our hope that you will return to us in the near future.



Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashgill, Scotland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Stayed here on business for 1 night. It is a short walk from East Croydon station, so very handy. The hotel has a good range of facilities including restaurant and a fitness club (although I never used the gym).

Overall impressions were good, it is just that the hotel is a little dated looking, some people may call it homely! All staff that I had dealings with were pleasant and I didn't experience any issues.

The room was spacious and had a sofa, table as well as iron and ironing board, individually controlled temperature control and tea and coffee. So the room was certainly comfortable.

The only gripe I had was that for someone reason the toilet in my room was almost right next to the bath, making it difficult to sit (but maybe you didn't want to know that).

I used the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast, they offer a choice of al a carte or buffet for dinner and the food was good - not amazing but for hotel standards, it was better than average. Breakfast was the usual mix of continental and cooked items.

Overall, I would have no worries staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyMc1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear AndyMc1976

Thanks for leaving us a review here. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

All your comments have been noted.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times, the rooms have always been faultless, I have always booked twin rooms and I have always had 2 double beds, these rooms are large enough for a family, the bathroom's have always been clean and amenities have included a show cap and shampoo and bubble bath, how ever these were one per room not per person.

The restaurant is overpriced as are the drinks, it will cost around £100 for 2 people for 3 courses with a few drinks, buffett breakfast in the morning is always cold, there is plenty of selection but it isn't as hot as it should be and items are not replenished.

The spa is awful! Do not go for the spa! We booked in for a facial at 10.30 and as the therapist 'forgot' we didn't recieve our treatment and I had a lot of bother getting my deposit back! the jacuzzi does not work and is filthy as is the pool and gym. the facilities at the pool and spa are just as bad!

Room Tip: All rooms are good but an executive room is worth the extra £20 a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear CharlotteB170

Thanks for leaving us a review here. I am pleased to see that you have found most of our product and services faultless.

Regarding to the prices in Oscars, we have meals that spans through different price ranges accross the buffet to the a la carte, so how much you will pay for a meal really depends on what your taste buds fancies.

Please accepy my apologies regarding the bad experience that you had with the spa. The spa is run by an outside agent who have been spoken to regarding your experience.

We hop to get the chance to welcome you back to The Croydon park Hotel in the near future.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in April and will be staying again in may for a night. This hotel is a good base for London without being in the Centre. Checking in and out was speedy and efficient. The room was dated but clean and comfortable. The neighbours were noisy but shut up when I asked them to! Clearly this was not the hotels fault, just inconsiderate guests.

The breakfasts were superb!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr-Cinnamon-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear KAB1966

Thanks for leaving us a review here. I am glad to see that you had a great time staying with us.

Thaks for your kind comments and all will be passed to all members of staff. We look forward to hosting you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I recently celebrated my birthday at Oscar Brassirie, Croydon, with 20 friends and family. The service was good - we were served pomptly with a variety of freshly made sandiwches, cakes and scones. The waiters were attentive and available to top up the hot water, milk etc and even asked if we would like more sandwiches/cakes!.

At the time of booking the Manager was flexible and very helpful - due to dietary needs, one of my guests required a special meal and he readily agreed to provide her with a meal of her choosing (and it was cheaper!).

For improvement: some chairs had food stains and should be cleaned but overall the dining area was clean and plesant.

I have a special likeness for 'afternoon tea' and have experienced these in a number of Central London establishments over the years - at £12.50 per person/£18.00 with champagne and car parking facilities, I think Oscar's is an excellent venue and excellent value for money.

Whitehall02
Croydon

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear LolaB228

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review here.

I am very pleased to see that you and your party enjopyed being hosted here at The Croydon Park Hotel, and moreover you enjoyed the Afternoon tea. As you might have known this is a new thing we are doing and so it give us great pleasure to have such great feedback.

All your comments have been passed on to the Manager and his team in Oscars who I am sure are encouraged by your kind words.

We do look forward to hosting you agin in the near future.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This hotel has all the facilities that you would expect in this market segment. Bar, restaurant etc. The health club and pool was a more than I expected. However as other reviewers have pointed out it is worn and dated. The furniture in our room had knocks and the sofa looked like it had seen better days. All this said for the price it was acceptable.

Room Tip: One with more than a tiny wifi signal should be asked for avoid 316. Ask for the non broken iron
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krcb197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear krcb197

Thanks for leaving us a review here. All your comments are noted.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
1.5 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#9 of 24 in Croydon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croydon Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croydon Park Hotel

Property: Croydon Park Hotel
Address: 7 Altyre Road, Croydon CR9 5AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Croydon Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warmest Welcome in Croydon...Look no further than Croydon Park Hotel London for all you would expect from a great 4* experience.We've just been through a fantastic refurbishment of our lobby and one floor of bedrooms to ensure your stay is an enjoyable and memorable one.When choosing your next break in London, be it leisure or business what more could you ask for than a great location in the metropolitan center of Croydon, a newly refurbished hotel, FREE WIFI, great values as well as a team of friendly and experienced staff to make your stay one to remember.Getting here could not be easier, we are 15 minutes off the M25, from Gatwick Airport we are just 15 minutes and East Croydon Station is just a stone's throw from our doorstep, as is Croydon's tram-link. By train you will be in London's West End in just 15 minutes.Car parking available £5 per day for residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Croydon Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing