We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eat Up & Clear Off You Have 1hr 14 mins” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of JRC Global Buffet

JRC Global Buffet
Ranked #142 of 458 Restaurants in Croydon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Eat Up & Clear Off You Have 1hr 14 mins”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

If you're expecting to enjoy a relaxed evening eating drinking & chatting etc. Don't go to this restaurant. If you cannot chomp rapidly through your meal don't go to this restaurant. There is a wide variety of international food served but you have to make your mind up quickly because the clock is ticking towards chucking out time.

We went on a weekday night at the end of November, it wasn't crowded but we still only had 1 hr and 14 mins of table time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pogson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    149
    158
    102
    102
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
121 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“good and bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Need to pre-book. Pay on the way in after you get past the 'door staff'. Two hour limit with reminders from the surly staff. Really hectic atmosphere and hard to relax.
BUT
Quite good food with a very wide choice. Some things excellent, especially from the tepanyaki but need to queue. Scallops in shell really really good. Other items such as crab and lobster available but a bit bland and tasteless. Excellent thai green curry and superb massaman curry.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DenDen1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Dont Bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The reviews are true !


Went to this place in November 2012 (I will not be going back) made the reservation on line the day before, and was turned away at the door on arrival.

The attitude is like they are doing you a favour by letting you in, I had travelled from SW6 to Croydon eventually went down to Brighton and had a wonderful afternoon

If you are thinking of booking this place ask yourself the question, why the management of this establishment have not responded to any of the negative feedback…. They obviously don’t care !!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cletus_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Berkshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Food ok, seriously overpriced, rude staff and NO SERVICE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Have been to this restaurant a quite a few times, and it has always been value for money, however on this trip I was firstly shocked to see how much the prices had increased for lunch. Obviously their price increase had impacted upon their custom as all previous visits the restaurant was very busy with people queuing. However this trip was different, there was hardly anyone in there except an annoying birthday party with really naughty children who ran around the whole time, put their fingers and hands into food there, and the staff did and said nothing.

We were taken to a tiny table and asked if we could have a booth, and told no we have to have this table, so I asked why, its not like they were busy with the exception of us and this birthday party on a busy Saturday Christmas shopping afternoon in December that was about all that was in the restaurant. So they reluctantly let us have a booth but pointed out whe had to vacate the booth by a certain time an hour and a half I think to enable them to have more customers in. Let me tell you when we left there was probably about 2 or 3 customers more in there, all you could see was empty tables.

They do a nice buffet of all different foods, its rather like the commercial American eat as much as you like places you see in places like Orlando, only difference in America you get service. For paying £16 a head, you dont even get asked what drinks you want, if you want a drink you have to go to the bar and get one yourself. The service really is awful, and those on the front desk and at the gate have probably never been to catering school, I think they were trained by the Gestapo, they are rude and quote rules and times.

When this was previously priced at a more reasonable price nearer to single figures for a lunch, it was tollerable, but to charge almost the same price as a fine dining experience would charge, it just isnt worth the money. Oh and remember the children putting their fingers in the food and in the chocolate fountain, at this time of year plenty of bugs around without paying £16 for the privalege of an illness.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank julesbirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The worse restaurant. Don't go there”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Rude staff. Cold food. Bad quality, I tried so many different dishes and none of them was freshly made. I felt like in a night club with security everywhere.I'll definatly advice anyone to go anywhere else before selecting this place. One of us had food poising and spend the day after vomiting all day

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kikoeiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JRC Global Buffet also viewed

Ilford, Greater London
Watford, Hertfordshire
 
Croydon, Greater London
Romford, Greater London
 

Been to JRC Global Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing