We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Hotel Purley Way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton London Croydon
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hilton Hotel Purley Way”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Hotel staff were fine & helpful but the room furniture was tatty & worn, TV was rubbish only 7 or 8 channels offered even though there is Freeview available, curtains falling off the wall, no free WiFi for guests,would think twice about staying here again,,, expected more from a Hilton Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRHotelManager, General Manager at Hilton London Croydon, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Colin M,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am glad that you found our staff very friendly and helpful. I am sorry that you feel the room was not up to expectation. Our simple aim is to have our rooms ultra clean and to meet or exceed expectation wherever possible, so I very much regret we did not hit this in your eyes.

Regarding the issues you experienced, I would appreciate it if you would inform us during your stay of any issues so that we can resolve them straightaway to ensure a more comfortable stay for you. We do, however provide complimentary WiFi in our lobby/bar areas and in our Business centre.

Thanks once again for taking the time to write a review.


David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    372
    236
    160
    103
See reviews for
283
333
64
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

A little way out of town but worth it with car parking charges

Friendly staff

bar prices a little expensive 1 pint of Boddingtons and a bottle of Becks £7.89

Round the corner 100 yard walk you Macdonalds, Subway, Pizza, Chinese and Indian food hall. Decent food and far cheaper. You also have Pizza Hut, and a pub with far cheaper prices, Opposite the hotel you have T J Fridays, There is a direct bus service into Croydon .

The rooms were very clean tidy and huge we had a double room and each bed was a double, only one complaint no biscuits, and restricted milk and coffee alowence

Room Tip: go there but eat and drink next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WELSHMAN1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRHotelManager, General Manager at Hilton London Croydon, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Welshman1949,

Thank you for your review of the Hotel. I am pleased that you found the room to expectation and received good service from the team.

Being centrally located, we do have a wealth of nearby restaurants and bars to choose from so I am glad you took advantage of this. That said, we also have a fantastic restaurant and bar at the Hotel which is a little pricier than the high street but does offer some premium alternatives that I hope you will try next time.

I am going to contact you directly through trip advisor so we can add additional tea, coffee and biscuits to your guest profile when you next stay with Hilton. We do not restrict the availability of these so we will aim to anticipate your needs for future stays.

Thanks again for the feedback

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had two of the junior suites booked. We arrived at 4.30pm and one of the rooms still wasn't ready. Our air conditioning wasn't working and when we complained they said they'd look into it. We heard nothing more and in the end we requested a fan instead and received a tiny plastic fan which did pretty much nothing. Air conditioning was the main reason we chose this venue. There were empty sweet wrappers behind the sofa, no hand soap, and the TV channel and radio station selection were very limited. There was also some sort of industrial building next door which was really loud until well after 11pm on a sunday night which we were not aware of. We were happy with the bar service and the staff were polite if unable to resolve issues which is why I'm giving it 2 stars instead if 1. Really not what I expected of the Hilton group.

Room Tip: Ask for one with functioning air con, as far away from the building next door as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elmit2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRHotelManager, General Manager at Hilton London Croydon, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear elmit2013,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel after your recent stay. I am sorry that your experience was not to expectation. I was disappointed to read of the AC issue in your room. We have a number of procedures to ensure that issues are rectified before our guests arrive so this is something I will be addressing with the team.

I am glad that you were happy with the bar service and the staff. I have discussed the contents of your review with the team so that appropriate lessons are learnt from your review.

Many thanks

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The team were welcoming an even did a prompt room swap when I requested. Their professionalism is genuine and sincere. They were full of smiles and very willing to help with everything. The cleaners showed sensitivity and provided us with all the extra linen requested.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Yawinski Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRHotelManager, General Manager at Hilton London Croydon, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Yawinski Y,

Thank you for your review of our Hotel. I am glad that you found our staff to be very helpful and enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward tro welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, NJ, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2013

It will be wonderful if Hilton management includes free continental breakfast as part of their guest room package. Another issue worthy of mention is the lack of available TV channels in the guest rooms. Only the major TV stations were accessible from the guest room at the Hilton Croydon, London. I was not able to watch most of the sports channels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Godson O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRHotelManager, General Manager at Hilton London Croydon, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Godson O,
Thanks for reviewing the hotel. I am pleased that your stay was enjoyable. Although we would not be able to include complimentary breakfast for all guests without increasing our prices, our Gold and Diamond Hilton Honors members can however opt have a complimentary breakfast. So if you are able to stay with Hilton regularly this is a great perk.

I am sorry you could not watch sport in your room but we do offer all sky channels including the new BT sports channels in our bar so I hope you will take advantage of this in future.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed here for nearly 3mnths whilst moving to the area and I thought it was fantastic, very well managed and always polite and friendly. Always clean and often gave me free meals (due to the size of my overall bill!). Couldn't recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRHotelManager, General Manager at Hilton London Croydon, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hi Deborah E,

Many Thanks for the review. I was pleased to read of your pleasant stay. I can imagine 3 months away from home would be tough on anyone so I am delighted that we could make it a home from home and that the team recognised your long stay.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Booked the Hilton Croydon for a stay in April via a hotel booking site - it was a non-refundable deal. We were unable to make our trip due to a family drama - the Hilton very kindly allowed us to postpone our stay until July.
Had a friendly easy check in and our room was nice - aircon already going to bring the temperature of the room down. Free carparking - a bonus. Had a quick drink in the bar - the staff were very friendly and professional. On returning to the room we requested additional pillows from reception which arrived in the room ten minutes later. Shower was powerful and nice products in the room. The breakfast was great - definitely one of the best hotel buffet we have had. Lots of choice, very well cooked, good presentation. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff here. A very good hotel at a very good price. Would definitely stop there again and recommend to anyone who is visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saraandstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRHotelManager, General Manager at Hilton London Croydon, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Saraandstuart,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am glad that you found everything to your satisfaction as our aim at Hilton Croydon is to have our guests enjoy their stay and leave wanting to return.

I am glad that we accomplished this during you r visit.

regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Croydon hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#9 of 24 in Croydon
1,050 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
2.7 mi away
De Vere Selsdon Estate
De Vere Selsdon Estate
#18 of 24 in Croydon
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Croydon

Property: Hilton London Croydon
Address: 101 Waddon Way | Purley Way, Croydon CR9 4HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Croydon 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 8 miles from the sights and shops of London, the contemporary Hilton London Croydon hotel is just 16 minutes by train to Victoria Station. Do business in one of 15 meeting rooms for 3-300, or work out at the gym. Round off your day with dinner at The Larder Restaurant or a nightcap at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton London Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Croydon Hotel Croydon
Hilton Hotel Croydon
Hilton Hotel London
London Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing