We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs updating” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton London Croydon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton London Croydon
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
159 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a long weekend and I must say I was very dissapointed with the room - we had chosen a Junior Suite. The room was on the 1st floor corner block - it was the darkest room I had ever been in - the lighting was totally inadequate for the size of the room - the room lacked any character and was totally un-inviting. The furniture was very dated and in poor condition. However the common areas - reception, restaurant were ok the staff were friendly and efficient and the food in the restaurant both for dinner and breakfast was very nice. Woudl I recommend this hotel - no.

Room Tip: Brides need to be aware of selecting rooms - my make-up lady said it was the worse lighting she had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoMo512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltoncroydon, General Manager at Hilton London Croydon, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear MoMo512,

Further to your recent stay here at the Hilton Croydon, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to give your comments on Trip Advisor.

As a hotel we really value receiving both positive and negative feedback which allows us to focus on where further improvements and training may be needed. Regarding the condition of the furniture as stated in your review, I will be discussing your comments with the necessary department.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments.


Yours sincerely,
Nicolas Craninx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    349
    215
    145
    98
See reviews for
260
301
61
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here again in middle of November. Got a great 2 night bargain in the sale and requested an upper floor quiet room. That is exactly what we got, top floor, end of corridor overlooking car park.
Check-in was easy and breakfast was great again. Was a bit concerned about fried eggs being cooked already but the one chef on duty was trying to fill up all of the dishes which were being emptied at a rate because of large number of birthday guests from previous night. As soon as he realised what I wanted he apologised (needlessly as he could not have worked any faster) and cooked me some exactly as I liked them.
One humorous point was that as I was getting eggs the waitress obviously thought we had finished and cleared my pot of tea - a major disaster in a morning. How often can you say that the staff are too efficient? The problem was instantly resolved when I mentioned.
As you can probably guess, this will become a regular fixture.

Room Tip: Top floor facing car park- 316 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldsandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltoncroydon, General Manager at Hilton London Croydon, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Oldsandals,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to the Hilton Croydon. I was glad to read that you had a comfortable stay with us at Hilton Croydon.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and services. Our aim at Hilton Croydon is to have our guests enjoy their stay and leave wanting to return.

Thank you once again for taking the time and trouble to provide your comments and for your custom. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Hilton Croydon in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
Nicolas Craninx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here with my daughter and granddaughter for a short visit to London. We used the hotel shuttle each morning to go to the East Croydon tube stop. It was very convenient. The room was very large but had an odor. There was plenty of staff but they didn't go out of their way for the most part. The restaurant staff was friendly. It was common to walk by staff without them saying Hi.

Room Tip: ask for the room freshner to be removed from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltoncroydon, General Manager at Hilton London Croydon, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Mmrock,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to the Hilton Croydon. I am glad that you found aspects of our hotel such as the room and the morning shuttle to East Croydon station to be satisfactory.

Hilton Croydon has always been complimented on the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff, I am sorry that you felt our staff were not forthcoming on this occasion.

Thank you once again for your valued comments. I do hope that despite these issues, you would give us the opportunity to welcome you back to The Hilton Croydon in the near future, where we will endeavour to provide the Hilton service and standards that we are proud to be associated with.

Yours sincerely
Nicolas Craninx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
289 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel needs help. The front desk staff was friendly and welcoming. The breakfast buffet was quite good. The rooms are dated and faded. The windows don't close tight so there is a lot of street noise. Beds are extrenely firm. The WiFi works well when it is connected, if you close your phone or are inactive you get disconnected and have to sign in all over again.
The sad part is it's probably the best hotel in Croydon...

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Earthbound-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltoncroydon, General Manager at Hilton London Croydon, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Earthbound-Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to the Hilton Croydon. I am glad that you found our staff to be friendly and welcoming. I have passed your comments to the relevant departments to address.

Regarding the provision of WiFi, I am sure you are aware that as a security measure, you would get disconnected if you have been inactive for a while regardless of where you may be using it.

Thank you once again for your feedback and also for your custom.

Yours sincerely,

Nicolas Craninx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Hotel downstair lounge was good. Room werent upto standard, rollaway bed was so small,rooms and walkways had funny/disgusting smell,heaters werent working properly either. overall ,not pleased with the stay.services werent like 4* hotel..rooms were noisy and windows werent good either i could easily hear wind through out the night.advantage was only free parking on site.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fparekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltoncroydon, General Manager at Hilton London Croydon, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Fparekh,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor after your stay at the Hilton Croydon. I am sorry that your review heading states not a good hotel to stay. Your comments have been discussed with the relevant departmental heads and remedial action has been put in place.

As a hotel we really value receiving both positive and negative feedback allowing us to focus on where further improvements and training is needed.
But on the issue of the rollaway bed and our services, our rollaway beds are the standard rollaway beds for hotels and as you can see from other comments on Trip advisor, we provide a service which most of our guests say makes them feel cared for, valued and respected.

Thank you again for taking the time to tell us about your stay and for your custom.

Yours sincerely,
Nicolas Craninx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel. Free wifi. Free parking. Such a pleasant stay. Lots of shop around and restaurants. Price paid £53. Gym too. Quiet rooms, very nice and clean. Great in room services. All excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ISRAELranjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltoncroydon, General Manager at Hilton London Croydon, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Ranjanisreal,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Hilton Croydon. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from guests.

I was glad to read that you generally enjoyed your stay and felt that you had good value for money. All our comments are shared with the team and it is always good when we have positive feedback to share with them.

Thank you once again for taking the time and trouble to provide your comments. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Hilton Croydon in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
Nicolas Craninx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I am in the hotel now and about to check out. Got here yesterday and arrived in this hotel to a cold room with a funny smell to it.
Called up reception and when they finally answered they told me they will be up in ten mins to check it out. An hour later I called again rather frustrated and they said ok they will come up. Within half an hour a girl arrives at my door with 2 bath gowns and says here sir. I tell her I didn't ask for that and my heaters not working.. She doesn't speak English... I have to show her and do some sign language to explain the problem.. Within ten mins she comes back with an electric heater... THIS IS MEANT TO BE A FOUR STAR HOTEL????!!? I've stayed at better travelodges!!!
Not impressed..
Hilton need to either sell this property or put some serious investment into re-vamping the entire building and also investing into English speaking staff that put their customers first !!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltoncroydon, General Manager at Hilton London Croydon, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Kazkan

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor after your stay at the Hilton Croydon.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused regarding the issues mentioned in your review. Your comments are very important to us in ensuring we continue to grow and improve our business.

Your comments have been taken on board and will be addressed by the necessary department

Thank you again for your custom.



Yours sincerely,
Nicolas Craninx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Croydon hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
1.5 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#7 of 24 in Croydon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Croydon

Property: Hilton London Croydon
Address: 101 Waddon Way | Purley Way, Croydon CR9 4HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Croydon 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 8 miles from the sights and shops of London, the contemporary Hilton London Croydon hotel is just 16 minutes by train to Victoria Station. Do business in one of 15 meeting rooms for 3-300, or work out at the gym. Round off your day with dinner at The Larder Restaurant or a nightcap at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton London Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Croydon Hotel Croydon
Hilton Hotel Croydon
Hilton Hotel London
London Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing