We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base to explore London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton London Croydon
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good base to explore London”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in May 2012. Booked it late and got a very good deal. Excellent rooms and the staff were very helpful and the breakfast is a feast. Bar prices are what you should expect from a 4 star hotel but £9 for a glass of Rioja was still a shock!
If you aren't driving (and who would want to in London?) it's very easy to get to East Croydon rail station which is about 15 mins away. Choose a taxi or get to 119 bus from the stop around the corner on Purley Way and then another 15 min rail journey takes you to London Victoria where you can access the Underground system. We were over for the Heineken Cup Final and were able to get to Twickenham in about 40 minutes via Clapham Junction. Get the £8.50 day ticket and that will cover all the bus, train and tube travel to allow you to explore London.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cuairteoirdoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltoncroydon, General Manager at Hilton London Croydon, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Cuairteoirdoire

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Hilton Croydon. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from guests.

I was glad to read that you generally enjoyed your stay and found it to be a good base from which to explore London. All our comments are shared with the team and it is always good when we have positive feedback to share with them.

Thank you once again for taking the time and trouble to provide your comments. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Hilton Croydon in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
Nicolas Craninx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    372
    236
    160
    103
See reviews for
283
333
64
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sleaford
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

A great place to stay and reasonably priced.

The hotel is a large modern building. The entrance, reception and bar area were light and airy and the rooms matched this........................large, well equipped, clean, smart and comfortable.
Breakfast was quite superb with a huge choice of foods and drinks. One of the best that we have eaten, and at only £80 for B and B in a smart modern hotel just outside London, we thought that it was terric value.
A special mention for the receptionist on our arrival - she was really friendly, helpful, very welcoming and yet at the same time totally efficient.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thehun01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltoncroydon, General Manager at Hilton London Croydon, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear thehun01,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to the Hilton Croydon. I was glad to read that you found our hotel clean, comfortable and good value for money during your stay with us.

Thank you once again for taking the time and trouble to provide constructive feedback which helps us continue to grow and improve our business, therefore improving our customer service standards. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton Croydon in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
Nicolas Craninx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Very disappointed. Just tried to book a family room for 2 nights in June as my daughter has a big dance comp. I was told I couldn't book a family room as my daughter was over 12! Instead I would have to book 2 separate rooms. Very disappointed so off to premier inn after all!!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Pds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltoncroydon, General Manager at Hilton London Croydon, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Pds 1,

Thank you for taking the time to give your comments on Trip Advisor. As a hotel we really value receiving both positive and negative feedback which allows us to focus on where further improvements and training may be needed.

I am not sure whom you spoke with or which Reservations office but at Hilton Croydon children under 18 can share a room with parents I am truly sorry that you where given the wrong information and would appreciate it if you could get in touch with us directly on 020 680 3000.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments.
Yours sincerely
Nicolas Craninx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This hotel has some great points:
- Location was fantastic - right off the main road and near a great Chinese supermarket (Wing Yip)
- lots of complimentary parking space
- Good variety for breakfast (shame about the staff manners though - see last paragraph)
- comfortable lobby and bar area (again shame about the staff manners)
- Vending machine provided in lobby for necessities and first-aid medication.
- bedroom slippers provided
- nice fluffy robes
- very comfortable big beds with warm duvets and nice pillows
- nice bath products
- strong pressure in shower

Some not so great ones:
- TV system was very outdated (but good range of channels provided)
- Temperature control in room didn't work - it's either air-con on or off.
- Towels and robes missing from room (but reception was willing to rectify this, even late at night).
- Whole hotel is quite prone to draughts, so don't be surprised if you hear odd noises in the night.
- Rooms are quite old and felt basic, but were clean and comfortable none-the-less.
- Underground parking doesn't have a sheltered walkway to the hotel - don't forget to bring your umbrella, this is England after all.

The main really bad point:
- Service was really appalling at this hotel.
The staff at reception was reasonable in the afternoon, but the staff who replaced them for the evening shift had no sense of how to make people feel welcome at this hotel, and the same with the staff at breakfast the next morning. They were curt and impersonable.
I would expect that kind of service from a budget hotel, but this is the Hilton, and it really affected how I felt about my stay at this otherwise more than decent hotel. What a shame.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltoncroydon, General Manager at Hilton London Croydon, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear DLPA,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to the Hilton Croydon. I am sorry that you feel that service was appalling at our hotel as we usually do not get complaints about our staff and service.

Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences caused. As for your comments regarding the rooms, as already mentioned to you in a letter sent to you after your stay, we have an ongoing refurbishment program, and we are working our way through the hotel and as you can appreciate this does take time and I am confident we will succeed in keeping up our services and standards here at the Hilton Croydon.

Thank you once again for taking the time and trouble to provide your comments. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Hilton Croydon in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Nicolas Craninx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Have stayed at this quite a few times, normally when visiting Chessington Zoo or before going to the South Coast - it’s not my favourite Hilton hotel but you can pick up some quite cheap rates at the weekends. The restaurant has greatly improved after a refit and is very modern, breakfast is good. We were very impressed on the last stay when we were upgraded from room with rollway to two interconnecting rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigstays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltoncroydon, General Manager at Hilton London Croydon, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear Bigstays,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to the Hilton Croydon. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from guests.

Thank you for your kind comments about our Restaurant and the food, I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you once again for taking the time and trouble to provide your comments. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Hilton Croydon in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Nicolas Craninx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Hi there, for those looking to stay at this hotel, I would say "there are far worse". In this area (Croydon, south London) there are several very close proximitty hotels not to name them, and I have stayed at all of them so I know what I am saying. Firstly because it is a Hilton does not mean its expensive, I have found there rates to be exceptionally competitive, also they have a an excellent reward scheme in the name of HH (honours) anyway the hotel is big, and each room is a very nice size, breakfasts are always a must on a business trip as it sets you up for the day, & this hotels breakfast is gooooood, staff a very welcoming and always on hand to help. Room cleanliness is spot on and the check in staff a very professional and courteous.
The negatives, rooms are slightly dated, showers are too low for me personally (5'11) you have to crouch a bit, however the bathrooms are a good size. TV's are hit and miss with quality, some rooms have an excellent quality others very grainy, which is weird considering they are all the same make? Room service is good, however £4 cover charge is steep. All in all I always stay there as the other hotels in the area are not up to the same standard for the price.

Room Tip: Do not expect good views, the area is very built up and no where is good to look at :0), be careful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weldons_Take
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltoncroydon, General Manager at Hilton London Croydon, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear RobWeldon
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Although you feel that our rooms are slightly dated, I can assure you that our foremost concern is that you are comfortable and enjoy your stay with us. Thank you also for your understanding and patience during our ongoing refurbishment program. We are working our way through the hotel and as you can appreciate this does take time and I am confident we will succeed in keeping up our services and standards here at the Hilton Croydon.

Your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments to be addressed.
Thank you once again for your time and custom and we look forward to welcoming you to the Hilton Croydon in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Nicolas Craninx
general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed here last year and wished we'd never set foot in the place. We were treating my daughter's boyfriend to his first experience in a starred hotel and thought we would have a pleasant weekend ahead of us, the accomodation being a big part of the treat.
Alarm bells started to ring as we were 'welcomed' by an unenthusiastic, miserable looking female on Reception. Things didn't improve as we stepped into our rooms. Apart from having wardrobe doors there was absolutely no difference between those rooms and the ones in Premier Inns. Basic is the only way I can describe them. The wallpaper was scuffed in places, with dirty marks in others. Very disappointing.
We dressed up for our evening meal but, as soon as we entered the restaurant, we realised we shouldn't have bothered. People were sitting around in track suit bottoms and the like and the whole place had the air of eating in a canteen or cafe, which is fine if that is what you had intended to do! We felt totally out of place and the standard of the food didn't make matters any better either. The steaks were tough and nothing appeared freshly cooked to order. The breakfast the next morning was OK but I've had much better in Premier Inns. Needless to say, the following evening we ate out.
The whole hotel exuded the air of being unloved, where the staff we encountered were just doing a job of work and weren't particularly interested how well things were running. If you want a special place to stay, then avoid at all costs and look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Relaxed33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltoncroydon, General Manager at Hilton London Croydon, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Relaxed33,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your visit to Hilton Croydon in May 2011.

Since your stay in 2011 and as you can see from a lot of the comments on this website, refurbishment plans have been ongoing at the Hotel, two floors have been completed and we are working our way through the hotel dealing with the issues that require attention. As I am sure you can appreciate this does take time and I am confident we will succeed in keeping up our services and standards here at the Hilton Croydon.

Thank you once again for your valued comments. I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Hilton Croydon in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Nicolas Craninx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Croydon hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#9 of 24 in Croydon
1,050 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
2.7 mi away
De Vere Selsdon Estate
De Vere Selsdon Estate
#18 of 24 in Croydon
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Croydon

Property: Hilton London Croydon
Address: 101 Waddon Way | Purley Way, Croydon CR9 4HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Croydon 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 8 miles from the sights and shops of London, the contemporary Hilton London Croydon hotel is just 16 minutes by train to Victoria Station. Do business in one of 15 meeting rooms for 3-300, or work out at the gym. Round off your day with dinner at The Larder Restaurant or a nightcap at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton London Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Croydon Hotel Croydon
Hilton Hotel Croydon
Hilton Hotel London
London Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing