We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything you expect from a Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This turnout better than expect after our return from abroad. good rooms clean and spacious for the price we paid very nice. Breakfast optional. good thing to be able to choose.

Reception and bar area is very contemporary and well presented and the welcome was good.

Good location in the Purley area and easily able to get to East Croydon.

Would stay again no complaints

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle T, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 678 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

Well that got your attention!

Plenty of parking and very easy to find off the Purley Way going into Croydon. Reception and bar area is very contemporary and well presented and the welcome was superb. Then the room - very dark inside, again quite contemporary in appearance but was a little worn with paint missing from the ceiling and flaking in the bathroom. The room had frosted glass and the reason being there was a socking great air con unit and no view (not that I would have valued a room overlooking the very busy Purley Way). Shower curtain around bath - I hate shower curtains and it did not seem possible to vary the temperature that was stuck on the hotter side of tepid but ok for me. Nice big telly, plenty of coffee and tea. When I pulled the bedclothes back - yes bed lined and blankets, sheet was a bit grey and there was a dubious stain on the blanket.

I ate early in the bar - all great, staff were so helpful and the meal was nicely cooked and presented. absolutely no problems there. An early night but the bloke snoring above me disturbed my sleep and the door slammer down the corridor exacerbated this. Is this enough to make it an average then - well probably not, but at breakfast, no one asked me whether I wanted a hot drink and the door slammer and snorer and his mates had eaten all the bacon. Soon topped up but the large number of guests evidently on a course together were extremely demanding and very noisy and I was tetchy.

Close to a 4 but probably for all the wrong reasons, I am giving them a 3 this time. Will try another hotel next time I return but sometimes, the little things are important.

Oh, and if you fancy popping across the road to the food hall - don't bother!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BladderedBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle T, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding you recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you were well looked by all the team and that you enjoyed you meals with us. We hope to welcome you back some time in the near future, if you would like to contact me directly the next time you are in the are and I would be happy to offer you an upgrade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The room was smelly and some of the bedding dirty, The plug for basin was broken,The shower valve did not have all the parts on it, The water leaked on to the floor while showering so had to dry floor not to slip. The printer was faulty so no receipt printed. The tv channels was not working properly low signal etc did not make coffee as the keetle was full of limescale and finnaly the noise from the traffic and the old extractor fans did not help to get some sleep. This is not a 4 star hotel at £59 pounds per night the lowest rate.

Room Tip: Book a room at back of hotel if close to main road try not to walk in and book and ask the hotel to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madone1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle T, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

That you for your review, I am very sorry that I did not get the opportunity to met you personally during your stay with us and address the issues you have brought to my attention. If you are ever in the area again I would appreciate if you cold contact me directly and give us a chance to show you that what you experienced was an exception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

i needed to stay in this area and had a host of similary priced hotels to chooe from on Booking.com" i chose the Hallmark for one reason...the hotels web page shows an amazing pool...jacuzzi etc... i fully understood the facilities were next door at the LA fitness club.
I checked in sunday afternoon, was given directions to the fitness club a 10 minute walk away ??... had a light lunch...then up to the club at 4pm.... CLOSED... the club shuts at 4pm on a SUNDAY....were the reception staff really unaware ?? they had given me directions 10 minutes earlier...seriously folks... the club has some odd opening hours...if you are hoping for a weekend of swimming...saunas etc..this is NOT the place for you....

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle T, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thank you for your recent feedback. I am sorry to hear that you did not get to avail of complimentary use of LA fitness, located 2 minute walk from the hotel. We have since been informed of new opening/closing times. My apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We decided to have a night away from the kids and found the perfect place to do that.
We arrived at 4pm to our room ready. The room was a good size, well lit, nicely decorated and very clean. The shower was amazing, very powerful. The rest of the hotel was clean and well layed out. Our evening meal was fantastic and reasonably priced and the breakfast the next day was superb. Every member of staff was smart, polite and helpful. The only quibbles I have in regards to our stay were in the room the desk light didn't work, in the bathroom the extractor fan wasn't working and the use of the spa and pool(10 mins up the road at LA Fitness) was a waste of time. After getting there we were asked for personal ID and had to have a padlock with us to be able to lock away our clothes? None of these were indicated that we need to bring.
Overall we had an excellent stay and would with out doubt stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle T, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for your recent review. I am happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your night away. My apologies for the inconvenience of your lamp not working and thank you for your feedback regarding the leisure centre, we will certainly take this on board. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I arrived after an extremely long day at work and walked through the door looking for reception. A member of staff noticed me looking and walked me to reception where the staff were full of smiles and very helpful.

Went to my room and as well as nicely decorated hallways, found the room to be clean inviting and well appointed. The view out of the window was of a trading estate, if you want views you'd book a hotel in the countryside, not one going into London!!

Dinner and drinks were a good price, excellent quality and the staff were again beyond helpful.

Breakfast was again good quality and staff beyond reproach as was checkout.

Showers and internet were highlights.
Only thing to stop getting a 5 is the soundproofing between rooms. The guy in the next room was rather loud about midnight - it's a mobile not a megaphone

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arobajase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle T, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were well looked after. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal which was extremely good value. The staff are efficient, polite and friendly. The hotel is clean and the public areas are attractive. Though our bedroom was small it was comfortable and the bathroom was well stocked with toiletries. The lighting is a little dim but the reading lights by the bed are fine. Our food at breakfast and dinner was well cooked and attractively served. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was at he front but we were not conscious of road noise during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle T, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for your positive and constructive feedback. I am delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your weekend stay with us. If you are every staying the area again please mention your comments and we would be happy to accommodate with a larger room at the back of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#9 of 24 in Croydon
1,229 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
1.5 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#8 of 24 in Croydon
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon (Purley A23) Hotel
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus London Croydon Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome

Address: 680 Purley Way, Croydon CR9 4LT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Croydon
Price Range: $74 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1928 to serve the airport, the Hallmark Hotel London Croydon Aerodrome has a well loved heritage in Surrey. Alongside the 50 newly designed bedrooms, the stunning lobby, stylish lounge bar and Brasserie are beginning to take shape with completion due at the end of October. Need a meeting venue? For those organising meetings and events, the Hallmark Hotel London Croydon Aerodrome offers a range of delightful rooms including the stylish Amy Johnson Suite. The function rooms are well equipped and can cater for up to 170 delegates. Relax in one of 110 bedrooms or indulge in a glass of fine wine and something satisfyingly tasty served in the informal surroundings of the Brasserie. Whatever your taste, we're sure to offer something for everyone. When the workday is done, why not unwind in the Nuffield Health with an energetic workout, exercise class, relax in the jacuzzi or a quick dip in the pool - situated across the road from the hotel. Discounted rates for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aerodrome Classic Hotel Croydon
Classic Hotel Croydon
Croydon Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing