We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel but choose a quiet room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“nice hotel but choose a quiet room”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

very nice staff but i did book a room months in advance and asked for a quiet room; it had air conditioning units just outside. the hotel offered me 2 other rooms, both superior in comfort and chose 1 at the side as the hotel was full; we slept from 10pm until 5am when the industrial park behind wasnt busy. nice room and good breakfast with excellent choice of coffees. staff were very helpful but we didnt want another room change !!

Room Tip: choose a back room and upgrade from standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterattwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle T, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt you were well looked after. I am also glad to hear you enjoyed your breakfast and we look forward to helping you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    175
    138
    90
    53
See reviews for
98
154
32
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great friendly hotel, staff especially helpful and obliging. Great bar and restaurant areas, lots of nationalities visiting. Rooms clean and adequate, bathrooms may be due for update but couldn't fault cleanliness and convenience. Hotels now asking for credit card details during stay but only required if charging services to room, prefer to avoid this and pay cash unless on business expenses. Paid £101 with breakfast, room for 2, which I thought to be reasonable was not expecting 5 star luxury.

Room Tip: any problems say something, staff are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ileana318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle T, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your positive review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed our bar and restaurant offerings. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed one night on a business trip. When I first checked in I found my single room had a noisy A/C unit for one of the public areas right outside my window (room no.9). Since there was no A/C in the room the window had to be open to get any air and cooling, so there was not chance I would be able to sleep. When I told reception the manageress dealt with this straight away and gave me a different room which was much better. My dissatisfaction was instantly transformed to satisfaction - this is good service. Reception also lent me an electrical adapter my colleague needed; they were very helpful. The restaurant food was very good, and the breakfast was excellent, especially the good strong coffee and hot food. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 9. Rooms on the road side may be noisy (my colleague had one which he said was a bit nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roamingjiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle T, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, I am very happy to hear that the initial problem you had with your room was rectified efficiently and that our reception team looked after you so well. Again thank you for your positive reviews and constructive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I've stayed at The Hallmark several times but have noted a recent decline. This week's trip was fraught with problems and this will probably be the last straw.

There are some positives, the reception staff are always welcoming and check-in is usually quite swift. However, getting to reception was a challenge - when I arrived there were around 15 smokers at the door (from a conference) and pushing past them, and their cloud of smoke was rather a challenge. Their smoke had drifted into the hotel so it smelled like people had been smoking inside. There should be a designated smoking area, preferably in the middle of the dual carriageway, the use of which management should enforce.

The lift was out of order when I arrived so you can imagine my joy at having a room on the 4th floor with 2 heavy bags. No offer of help was made. Also, and very annoyingly, the wifi only worked sporadically in my room - wifi is such a basic requirement and in the past I've had issues with it.

I opted to eat in the dinning room and this was a dire experience. The main problem was there was no one in charge. I stood a good 5 minutes waiting to be seated and gave up in the end and just sat down. After a long wait my order was taken but the food took ages to come. The steak was grim, served on an old bread board with about 9 chips and some tinned mushrooms. There was no one managing the staff so consequently it was chaos - many fellow diners were disgruntled at the poor service.

It's a pity that the management of this place is so poor - it could be a really good hotel. It seems management used to comment on Trip Advisor reviews but it's clear they've given up now as there is a tendency towards negative reviews. Clearly the truth hurts.

Room Tip: Pick a room in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alanyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle T, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you found our reception team to be friendly and prompt. I am sorry to hear though that your overall experience was not up to our usual high standards. I have taken on board your comments on the smoking outside the front door, this area is now a none smoking area and we have built a designated smoking shelter to the side of the hotel. We did unfortunately have a problem with the lift but it was fixed as quick as possible. I have also addressed your feedback regarding your dining experience and have spoken to our restaurant team and rectified these issues. if you are in the area again I would really like if you would contact me directly, as I hope you will give us a chance to improve your impression of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgarr, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Everything was really good, apart from the fact that they put us in a small room and having just got back from the US with 4 large suitcases space was very limited. It made getting for a wedding a little difficult for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyDodge57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle T, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your positive review and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed you say with us. We do have several room types to choose from and our reservations team would be delighted to explain these to you should you be staying with us. We hope to welcome you back some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed 2 nights on business. Initially they couldn't find my booking.... I had to go out to my car, retrieve my Laptop, show them the PDF booking confirmation, it was employee error on their part....they got the dates wrong???? No apology, and I had to also send them the PDF by e-mail that they sent as booking confirmation originally, work that one out?

I booked a total of 7 rooms, all small but well enough appointed. Poor Bar service, Poor food service.... I ordered for a colleague and myself, he had finished his food before after much prompting from myself, mine arrived??? It took 45 mins for his to arrive and 1 hour for mine!

Breakfast is poor, limited table space and more than 1 foodstuff is under each hotplate cover..... Scrambled eggs side by side with baked beans under the same shared warmer....there were beans in the egg and egg in the beans. This description probably doesn't demonstrate how awful it looked but I ate neither of them as it looked terrible!

In summary, this is a very poorly run hotel. The actual hotel if run properly would probably deserve 3 1/2 - 4 as a rating for an overnight business stay. To tout it as a couples place or weeding venue, they are having a laugh.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle T, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and providing us with your feedback. I am disappointed to hear that we failed to deliver great customer care and service on this occasion. I can assure that we strive to on delivering high levels of customer care and service. I will be investigating the Points that you have raised and will be addressing with the team. Please accept my apologies for the problems you encountered. Pease feel free to contact me directly should you wish to discuss these matters further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have been coming to this hotel for 6 years now, generally because it is better than premier inn for cost, bar and food. I know some of the staff, and have spent many an hour sitting in the bar watching the day to day goings on. On my recent trips, all I hear is complaints - long waits, rudeness, lack of care for the customer. There are times when you could die of thirst or starvation - not enough staff, and not enough staff who care about the CUSTOMER. Just a big business process hotel - scratch the surface and it is all about cost efficiency. This is such a shame compared to what it was - a privately owned shabby hotel with personal touch, now renovated to look good, but scratch the surface...........corporate just for profit vehicle which just checks occupancy versus cost.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank JonCoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle T, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your recent stay. As a valued and loyal customer I would really like if you could contact me directly to discuss you points.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#9 of 24 in Croydon
1,127 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
1.5 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#7 of 24 in Croydon
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon (Purley A23) Hotel
2.7 mi away
De Vere Selsdon Estate
De Vere Selsdon Estate
#19 of 24 in Croydon
2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome

Property: Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome
Address: 680 Purley Way, Croydon CR9 4LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1928 to serve the airport, the Hallmark Hotel London Croydon Aerodrome has a well loved heritage in Surrey. Alongside the 50 newly designed bedrooms, the stunning lobby, stylish lounge bar and Brasserie are beginning to take shape with completion due at the end of October. Need a meeting venue? For those organising meetings and events, the Hallmark Hotel London Croydon Aerodrome offers a range of delightful rooms including the stylish Amy Johnson Suite. The function rooms are well equipped and can cater for up to 170 delegates. Relax in one of 110 bedrooms or indulge in a glass of fine wine and something satisfyingly tasty served in the informal surroundings of the Brasserie. Whatever your taste, we're sure to offer something for everyone. When the workday is done, why not unwind in the Nuffield Health with an energetic workout, exercise class, relax in the jacuzzi or a quick dip in the pool - situated across the road from the hotel. Discounted rates for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aerodrome Classic Hotel Croydon
Classic Hotel Croydon
Croydon Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing