We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've been 4 times”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Haverfordwest
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I've been 4 times”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have been to this hotel 4 times now, rooms are clean ,free wifi , staff are helpful, sometimes the breakfast is a bit cold but no big deal the hotel is good value for what you pay, plenty of parking , have already booked for a return visit. The other nasty comments are not warranted if you want 5 star go to a 5 star hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank college93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle T, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly address the issues that you mentioned regarding to breakfast and appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    175
    138
    90
    53
See reviews for
98
154
32
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
266 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Prior experience taught me that there were very few good budget hotels in the Croydon area. Therefore I wasn't expecting too much when I booked 4 nights at this establishment.

Well I must say, I was more than satisfied with my accommodation this week.
A very smooth check in and out courtesy of Isaac who was very polite and efficient. I was allocated a single room (number 14) and was pleased that it had a large comfortable bed, ample hanging space, good well equipped bathroom, multi channel TV, tea and coffee and free wifi with an adequate signal strength.

The room was spotlessly clean and made up every day by friendly housekeeping staff.

The food in the restaurant or bar is very good too with meals ranging from £8 upwards. Nice to see freshly prepared food too, not the chilled microwave meals that some hotels insist on serving. up

The bar lacked a real ale on hand pump, but I guess you cant have everything. The Guinness was good and not too badly priced for a 4 star hotel at £4.20 a pint. Mention must be made of the good bar staff / managers. Max knows his job and communicates well, while Magda was simply wonderful and very funny.

Breakfast is served buffet style from 6.30am. There is a very large choice and again the quality is good being free of those nasty cheap sausages and watery bacon that some places serve up. The buffet is constantly replenished too, so you know nothing has been sat there under heat lamps for hours on end.

There is ample free parking on site too

Next time I'm in Croydon, I will certainly return

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle T, Manager at Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

just terrible the staff were rude and unantentive which I pit down to bad management, as people follow the leader! stayed for work,
The only good thing i have to say was the reception staff were great

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cat l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle T, Manager at Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and will discuss your feedback with the team. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly the next time you are in Croydon as we would like the opportunity to change your opinion of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed for two night and although the whole look of the hotel is lovely it is not worth 4*'s. The room was a good size however it was very cold (even with the heating up to the max). The beds were comfortable and the shower was excellent (very good pressure). The breakfast...were do I start?! It cost £9.95 and was buffet style which I think is unexpectable unless you are your average Travelodge/Premier inn. I was asked if I would like to put the breakfast on my room which I said would be great and straight away she said I couldnt...WHY ASK?? All in all nice room but I for what I got I wish I had just booked a Travelodge. Disappointing!

Room Tip: not worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C2259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle T, Manager at Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your review and please accept my apologies for any inconvenience experienced during your recent stay with us. I can assure you that we pride ourselves on delivering high standards and excellent customer service. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly the next time you are in the area as we would like the opportunity to change your opinion of our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Me and my fiancée planned a nights stay at this hotel for Valentines day as we got engaged here 3 years ago. My fiancée booked a suite (room 112) which had a spa jacuzzi bath in it. The room was ok but unfortunately the spa jacuzzi bath was not working. We then got moved to room 114 and things did not get any better! The room had a bad odour and smelt off cigarettes, not pleasant! We then tried to use the jacuzzi bath and the water was cold! The temperature gage on the bath was not turning. Also the rooms window would not close, which made it quite cold in the room! The window just kept banging during the night which meant we didn't sleep too well. We did complain but all we were offered was a 10% discount on their sushi menu! Bit of a joke! I wouldn't worry about a suite, just stick to a standard room if you're staying here!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sun27London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Nice tidy Hotel, is exactly what you would expect from Hallmark. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the food both evening meal and breakfast is excellent. The breakfast is self service but is well stoacked and freshly cooked. On site parking is useful, the bar has a good selection of beer, wines Etc and is not too expensive considering where you are and a little of a captive audience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife was given a voucher deal as a present for a one night stay with Tapas and Breakfast for the hotel. The lobby and reception are very smart and welcoming. After this we encountered problems. The lift was broken and we were on the 7th floor; they did offer to carry the case up but no staff were around. The higher the floor you got the carpet is worn and tatty. Our room was OK except for the window that would not close properly !! It was clean. The Tapas took ages to come. We had a reasonable nights sleep and breakfast was fine; but again there was only one waitress and the chef on duty. Topping up the buffet selection was slow and hit and miss. We did not like Croydon and would not visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#8 of 24 in Croydon
1,134 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
1.5 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#7 of 24 in Croydon
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon (Purley A23) Hotel
2.7 mi away
De Vere Selsdon Estate
De Vere Selsdon Estate
#19 of 24 in Croydon
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome

Property: Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome
Address: 680 Purley Way, Croydon CR9 4LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1928 to serve the airport, the Hallmark Hotel London Croydon Aerodrome has a well loved heritage in Surrey. Alongside the 50 newly designed bedrooms, the stunning lobby, stylish lounge bar and Brasserie are beginning to take shape with completion due at the end of October. Need a meeting venue? For those organising meetings and events, the Hallmark Hotel London Croydon Aerodrome offers a range of delightful rooms including the stylish Amy Johnson Suite. The function rooms are well equipped and can cater for up to 170 delegates. Relax in one of 110 bedrooms or indulge in a glass of fine wine and something satisfyingly tasty served in the informal surroundings of the Brasserie. Whatever your taste, we're sure to offer something for everyone. When the workday is done, why not unwind in the Nuffield Health with an energetic workout, exercise class, relax in the jacuzzi or a quick dip in the pool - situated across the road from the hotel. Discounted rates for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aerodrome Classic Hotel Croydon
Classic Hotel Croydon
Croydon Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing