We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by Hallmarks Prestige website”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel London Croydon Aerodrome
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on business. Requested a rennovated room as previously suggested and although new and very nice it was not invested in to the standards you would expect on viewing the website of the company's other hotels. Bath taps and mirrors are very old and grubby and it detracts from the impression the chain want to portray...such a small investment to have finished off the job!

This is by no means a luxury hotel although staff were friendly and rooms were cleaned to a high standard. Food was very nice...I had room service (once I could find details to call reception to request a menu!) Food prices were very reasonable...I payed £11.50 for a large glass of wine and a sanwich with salad & nacho's (+ room service)


Would stay again on business as I felt safe as a young female travelling alone late in the evening.

Would not use this hotel for personal use and would choose Holiday Inn or MacDonald Hotel chain instead.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Netlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 684 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed at the Aeredrome whilst business in London.

Ideall loaction right at the side of the A23 into London, very easy to find.

Plenty of shops/resturants nearby.

12 miles from Central London, not in congestion charging area.

Free Parking - plenty.

The hotel is going through a renovation program at the moment, so a few drills and bangs going on but good to see investment in the building.

Food was limited but of a decent standard

Would stay here again for business in the area

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisBLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The Hallmark Croydon is formerly the Aerodrome Hotel. It's clear that it's had a recent spruce-up, with new carpets and fixtures. Its lighting is quite bright and curtains nice and dark, and the beds are comfortable enough.

The bathroom was definitely cleaned every day, although the shower curtain was on its way to getting stinky, which happens to us all I suppose. The bath was barely big enough for me to stretch my legs out full length, and there was a tile coming away above the shower temperature dial. It wasn't actually loose or anything; it had clearly been in the process of coming away for some years.

As far as the hotel in general goes, it was nothing to write home about but a fairly decent stay. The staff were pleasant enough: I only really spoke to them during check-in.

But the worst and most stressful part of my stay was, bizarrely, the free wifi. As I work for a web development company, we thought it'd be a great idea. Like every hotel's free wifi it consists of some weird, pointlessly proxying interface that looks like it's been put together by the hotel manager's brother; when a simple daily change to the WPA key would do the same job more transparently.

Worse, as far as we could gather this proprietary system filters out any traffic it doesn't like (specifically, secure "terminal" traffic which people can use to log in and restart servers: it even filtered this out when I got a friend to set up a "port forward" trick for us.) At around 11pm at night a server I was relying on died, but I quickly realised that the "free wifi" was as much use in our emergency as a chocolate teapot. In the end I had to log into the servers using my mobile phone's reception and a tiny screen, and restart them that way, but it was a pretty grim late hour or so, and I'd chosen the Hallmark, and its free "wifi", in part to avoid that very stress.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eustatius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I booked the hotel for a training course and when I arrived my heart sank. The hotel looked tires and it was difficult to park. Once you got inside it was a completely different story. The hotel gas been / is being refurbished and the meeting rooms were really good. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the food was very good.

Don't judge the book by the cover!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjonesgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Check in on Friday night no telephones/cold or hot water in the whole hotel unable to use the toilets.
Cold water came on late on Saturaday night but no hot water still 5 days later when we checked out.
Check back in 2 days later and still problems with Hot water and told by Erica phones would be working soon,due to the BT bill not paid.Maybe they should off paid the the water bill as well want a joke.Still had to pay.Be carefull.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I had stayed previously at The Aerodrome, for business, but was well over 18 months ago.

My experience before was midioc at best.

This time I arrived quite late, and trying to find somewhere to park was a slight issue. The car park could do with a new surface, and after eventually parking further out by the French Restaurant went to check in.

Reception was manned, and had a quick easy check in.

The room was well appointed, I believe it was a refurbished room, wifi was expensive, but other then that everything else was fine.

As I was late arriving I ordered room service which was prompt, and the food very nice. It didnt appear to have been a microwave meal.

Breakfast was fin in the morning, and checkout easy.

There seems to have been some slight improvements since I last visited, but feel more needs to be done, the car park being the main area.

I would stay again.

Room Tip: try and ask for a refurb room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdzzzPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Normally I stay in the Hilton across the road (company prefer hotel) but as they were full we ended up staying in the Aerodrome Hotel instead. I had stayed here once in the past and wasnt impressed however this time was much better.

The negatives first, the car park is dreadful, full of pot holes etc and the front doors of the hotel look like a fire escape, in fact you would be excused for walking past them as it isnt obvious that they are the main front doors when they are closed.

Positives, check in was quick and efficient and the room was well appointed and very clean. Good comfortable bed and at least the windows open to allow fresh air in (this is one of my gripes about a lot of hotels, fresh air is not allowed in many of them). There was a well stocked tray for tea and coffee and biscuits provided as well.

Breakfast in the morning was good, with a good selection, we were down early (7:30) so I cannot commment on whether everything was kept topped up until the end of breakfast. It is all self serve. I normally have fruit and yoghurt and there was a good selection of fruit, though some of it was tinned and not fresh. Fresh would make it an excellent breakfast.

We didnt eat in the hotel in the evening but went out to a local Indian restuarant so I cannot comment on the food this time, though in the past I have had dinner outside in the lovely beer garden, which on a sunny evening is brilliant.

All in all the hotel has improved, but with a few more changes it could become somewhere excellent.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank irish_gremlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#10 of 24 in Croydon
1,243 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
1.5 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#9 of 24 in Croydon
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus London Croydon Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon (Purley A23) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel London Croydon Aerodrome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel London Croydon Aerodrome

Address: 680 Purley Way, Croydon CR9 4LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Croydon
Price Range: $68 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel London Croydon Aerodrome 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1928 to serve the airport, the Hallmark Hotel London Croydon Aerodrome has a well loved heritage in Surrey. Alongside 110 bedrooms, the stunning lobby, stylish lounge bar and the Hallmark Grill offer plenty of places to relax and unwind. For those organising meetings and events, the Hallmark Hotel London Croydon Aerodrome offers a range of delightful rooms including the stylish Amy Johnson Suite. The function rooms are well equipped and can cater for up to 170 delegates. Relax in your bedroom or indulge in a glass of fine wine and something satisfyingly tasty served in the informal surroundings of the Hallmark Grill. Whatever your taste, we're sure to offer something for everyone. When the workday is done, why not unwind in the Nuffield Health with an energetic workout, exercise class, relax in the jacuzzi or a quick dip in the pool - situated across the road from the hotel? Discounted rates available to hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hallmark Hotel London Croydon Aerodrome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aerodrome Classic Hotel Croydon
Classic Hotel Croydon
Croydon Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing