We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RELAXING LUNCH”
Review of Albert's Table

Albert's Table
Ranked #4 of 469 Restaurants in Croydon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Bus stop outside serving multiple bus routes. 5 minute walk from South Croydon train station.
Description: CR0 1BF
surrey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“RELAXING LUNCH”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

A lovely way to spend a cold snowy lunch! Our first visit to Albert's Table - very much liked the relaxed atmosphere provided by the music and attentive staff. Food wonderful, we enjoyed every special course. I personally liked the setting which was smart but not too formal and we were not rushed in any way. This will not be our only visit!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank surreyapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    160
    52
    29
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You can't beat it!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Another extraordinary lunch at Albert's Table. Smart but chilled, nowhere else can you possibly eat such refined and delicious food for £24 for 3 courses! Amongst the incredible starter choices I had the home cured salmon soufflé...amazing. Likewise the main, sea bream with trompette mushrooms was great.
Bottom line, I regularly am short of words to say how awesome Ablert's Table is!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to the hype for me.”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was quite excited to be going to Albert's table as, since Le Cassoulet closed down, it's probably the closest Croydon has to a "Posh" restaurant. It was decent enough but for me slightly disappointing.
The decor is fairly bland, looks a bit like a semi posh Dorset tearoom. Not particularly striking & a bit cold. There were only a few tables in when we arrived so I didn't expect much atmosphere but it didn't seem to improve much as the place filled up. I don't enjoy rowdy places but neither do I enjoy eating somewhere where everyone speaks in hushed voices. We were not eating in a library!
I had the pigeon wellington to start & my husband the crab cake, both were very pleasant.
For mains we both had the aged beef. I'll be honest & say it didn't set my world on fire. I've had far better bits of beef at far cheaper restaurants & the fact that it comes on a slate with a "smear" (You know where they run the back of a spoon through your sauce so they can charge an extra fiver) was not fooling anyone.
For the first time ever that's pretty much all I've got to say & my reviews are usually pretty long, I just couldn't find anything here to inspire me & thought that the price charged was too high for what was offered. I also found the 12% service charge which is automatically added to your bill totally unnacceptable & to be honest that's what's put me off ever going here again. A tip is a reward for good service. If you're going to add it to the bill yourselves (Darn presumptious, particularly as the service was not outstanding) then just raise your prices.

If you have a maiden aunt or granny it might be worth taking her here to make her feel like she's been somewhere posh but personally I can't figure out why you'd come here when there are many other restaurants in Croydon offering better food, at lower prices & with a far better atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moley42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joby W, Owner at Albert's Table, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
I find this review slightly confusing.

We have never served crab cakes.
Pigeon Wellington, although it has been on the menu in the past, certainly is not at the moment.
We have never served any main course on a slate with a bit of puree.

I wonder if this reviewer is confusing us with some were else, or indeed confusing parts of there meal with another restaurant??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Been a few times over last 2 years and always lovely food and lovely service. Good value too. A real gem.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaisyKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Try the tasting menu!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Looking at the set price menu, we were spoilt for choice, so opted for the tasting menu as it included the flavours and textures we were looking for.

The scallops were divine. The sea bass and beef also. I love the way Joby puts things together - I would never think to try particular purees and vegetables with fish or beef but they work. Every time. I try things here that I would usually avoid elsewhere.

We've been here a few times now and while service is not always excellent, this time it was. Whenever we have encountered a problem it has always been rectified and an apology readily offered.

We'll be back soon with some locals who are keen to explore the menu

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbaSouthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albert's Table also viewed

Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 
Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 
Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 

Been to Albert's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing