We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woefully poor service, poor management, poor staff training”
Review of Albert's Table

Albert's Table
Ranked #5 of 489 Restaurants in Croydon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Bus stop outside serving multiple bus routes. 5 minute walk from South Croydon train station.
Description: CR0 1BF
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Food is still great, but until the management sorts out the poor service and poor attitude from some of the staff members, we will not be back. Our evening was ruined by the incompetence of the staff followed up by the dreadful attitude e.g.: pointing and glaring and openly talking about us after we complained - totally unacceptable. The Maitre d's attitude was even more bizarre who just grinned like the Cheshire Cat through any discussions or complaints . 6 months ago this was a great restaurant with great service, no longer so....
What really astounds me is the total lack of interest from the management to the poor reviews and reluctance to address these ongoing issues. Heads must roll.
GRIFF

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank GriffLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joby W, Manager at Albert's Table, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear GriffLondon and Debrett

I was sorry to hear of your last experiences here with the poor service.
I have tried to contact you a number of times directly but unfortunately have had no luck.
We contact anyone that complains directly, as we feel it is better to contact them personally rather than through a website or forum, where things can easily be taken out of context.

The staff were aware of your previous complaint as you had mentioned it at the time of booking, and it was noted on our reservation system.
Unfortunately a mistake was made with the order, which resulted in the wrong main course being sent. This was quickly replaced and apologies made. The staff serving your table were a little on edge and nervous after making the mistake. Especially after one of your party asked “do you understand English?” They were a little flustered after this and made a second mistake with the dessert order, we were all concerned about this and trying as quickly as possible to correct the error.

The staff were discussing the next and best course of action in how to resolve the issues with your table and not at all “bad mouthing” or “openly talking about” you.

The maître d’ in question does have a smiley face, but we see this as a positive rather than a negative, and this is very much his demeanour, which we do not train for, but in fact seek out when recruiting for front of house staff. We are indeed very interested in all comments made on Trip Advisor and have invited guests who have had reason to complain to come back, so we can show that it is not a regular occurrence.

I apologise that on 2 occasions we have failed to meet your standards, and in both instances have tried to contact you personally. There have been no changes in the management in the last 2 years, the nature of our industry means we often have young team members and sometimes English is not their first language, but we do train and have a standard that most of our guests appreciate.

The service was removed from the bill before being given, as we understood we had not achieved the level of service we normally provide for your table, this is far from being a regular occurrence, but we realise when mistakes have been made.

We feel it slightly undeserved to receive 2 reviews from the same table on the same web site and feel it would be a more constructive way of supporting local restaurants and small businesses if you had contacted us directly, so we could deal with any issues rather than having negative comments doubled up on line.

I hope you are able to accept my apologies for the mistakes in service which led to you not enjoying your evening with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
There are newer reviews for Albert's Table
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 571 of 661 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

Bizarre. Probably the best menu in the area - by a long way - served with a degree of incompetence and lack of care I've not experienced in years. Outstanding crab tart, beautiful Old Spot pork belly, amazing cheese board. But the service. Our waitress got one of our party's main course completely wrong and to add insult to injury then completely forgot the same diner's dessert. The maitre d' did apologise for the problem with the main but was nowhere to be seen regarding the dessert. To make matters worse, because we complained, the waitress was then bad-mouthing our table to her colleagues, in open view of us and other diners. The fact that we removed the service element from our bill didn't seem to phase the maitre d' would suggest to me that either this is a regular occurrence or that he simply doesn't care. Get a grip. We're not going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Debrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joby W, Manager at Albert's Table, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear GriffLondon and Debrett

I was sorry to hear of your last experiences here with the poor service.
I have tried to contact you a number of times directly but unfortunately have had no luck.
We contact anyone that complains directly, as we feel it is better to contact them personally rather than through a website or forum, where things can easily be taken out of context.

The staff were aware of your previous complaint as you had mentioned it at the time of booking, and it was noted on our reservation system.
Unfortunately a mistake was made with the order, which resulted in the wrong main course being sent. This was quickly replaced and apologies made. The staff serving your table were a little on edge and nervous after making the mistake. Especially after one of your party asked “do you understand English?” They were a little flustered after this and made a second mistake with the dessert order, we were all concerned about this and trying as quickly as possible to correct the error.

The staff were discussing the next and best course of action in how to resolve the issues with your table and not at all “bad mouthing” or “openly talking about” you.

The maître d’ in question does have a smiley face, but we see this as a positive rather than a negative, and this is very much his demeanour, which we do not train for, but in fact seek out when recruiting for front of house staff. We are indeed very interested in all comments made on Trip Advisor and have invited guests who have had reason to complain to come back, so we can show that it is not a regular occurrence.

I apologise that on 2 occasions we have failed to meet your standards, and in both instances have tried to contact you personally. There have been no changes in the management in the last 2 years, the nature of our industry means we often have young team members and sometimes English is not their first language, but we do train and have a standard that most of our guests appreciate.

The service was removed from the bill before being given, as we understood we had not achieved the level of service we normally provide for your table, this is far from being a regular occurrence, but we realise when mistakes have been made.

We feel it slightly undeserved to receive 2 reviews from the same table on the same web site and feel it would be a more constructive way of supporting local restaurants and small businesses if you had contacted us directly, so we could deal with any issues rather than having negative comments doubled up on line.

I hope you are able to accept my apologies for the mistakes in service which led to you not enjoying your evening with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This restaurant is 'Good', better than 'Average' but not 'Very Good', well, not yet anyway. The really confusing thing about this restaurant is the location but if you can get your head around the fact that it is situated in Croydon High Street squeezed in amongst the kebab shops and dodgy chicken grill eateries then all is good. The decor is clean and contemporary and it was very busy for a Friday lunch time. Service was very polished and the fixed price menu was reasonable with two courses coming in at just under 20 quid per head. The wine list was extensive, probably too much so, but we enjoyed a very tasty Riesing at £27. The food was very well presented and the starters were extremely good although my main of roasted cod was over-cooked which was a bit of a shame. My friend's belly of pork was also apparently very good. Definitely worth a trip - just try to blot out the surrounding area!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a really, really good modern British restaurant in the unlikely setting of Croydon's South End. Banish your snobbery - this is just as good as much you'll find in trendier locales, with great food, good service and a pleasant ambiance all adding up to a lovely evening out.

My meal included one of the best steaks I've had in my life - it was so melt in the mouth good I was sparing in my use of the delicious béarnaise sauce that came with it, on the side. A selection of wine is also, helpfully, sold by the half-bottle caraffe as well as by glass or bottle, which means you're not bound to go for the same colour if - say - one person's having fish and the other steak.

Heartily recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Completetosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

went with my wife for dinner. Excellent food and the service was attentive although the waitress lacked a little knowledge.

Thank london_sun_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albert's Table also viewed

Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 
Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 

Been to Albert's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing