We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch - could be a diamond - but is coal”
Review of Bel & The Dragon

Bel & The Dragon
Reserve a Table
DesignMyNight
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Churt
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Food is about 4 stars - we’ve eaten here a few times and the food on the whole is good. First time today for Sunday lunch - disappointing - roast potatoes were deep fried (lazy chef) and pork dry - cracking was soggy and not crackling. Service is very poor - mainly kids serving and lack of training.....they so want to help but there’s really have no idea because they haven’t been trained properly - no standards. Tables not cleared, cleaned, then bring food - ask anything else ? Yes! Perhaps forks cutlery napkins??? Same later when dessert brought, I’ll bring the bowls over....then asked anything else....spoons?
Management is amateurish, and they need to go to onslow arms Clandon to understand good service -

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank LozzarAgR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a walking group of 20 and were able to use the pub for coffee and loos before we set of across the heathland for our 6-7 mile walk across Frensham Common and around Frensham Great Pond, ending up back at the hilltop above the pub, The Devil's Jumps, with its magnificent views. A month earlier, the heather would have been in full bloom, but the heath and trees were still very attractive. Back at the pub we enjoyed excellent pre-booked meals, being very well looked after by the pub's friendly staff..

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cramblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hubby & I had a great night at Bell & Dragon Comedy Night. We were seated right in front of the stage, sharing a table with a delightful couple Michelle & Rich. We had a good natter over pleasant grub and raised belly laughs. Throughly enjoyed the comedy, due to our seating we were butt of joke or three, made it all the more entertaining! and quite a unique experience. Will certainly attend Comedy night again. Great to have local pub offering up such good entertainment & dinner combo.
.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BlueCat1778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a lunch slot online as we imagined it would be busy also the parking is limited due to the excellent sculpture park opposite. You enter the restaurant and sort of hang around for a server to approach and seat you, we had waited already in the lobby area but realised no one was going to come out and greet us. The vegan mushroom nut roast (not a vegan but love mushrooms) was dry and needs a cranberry or tarragon sauce and I ended up taking the apple sauce and bread sauce from the friends I was dining with. The roast potatoes came separately and were replaced as they were cold, the gravy was in tiny milk jugs and not enough. The plate consisted of your roast choice, half a large roasted carrot, half a large roasted parsnip and a serving of cabbage, not a lot of work or finesse for a £19 single course. Wouldn't come again or recommend. Serving staff were fine.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 0urkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good ambience, friendly staff, good food, however, admittedly I don't know the area but they charge London prices for modest portions and wine is expensive. You cannot buy a single bottle of house wine but they offer it in magnums only tho only charge for what you drink. Sounds fair. Except: a magnum is £44 and the catch is whilst they will charge you £44 if you drink it all, if you leave say 1 glass they then charge what you have drunk at the "by the glass price" ie £27 per bottle for house wine.
Please be transparent!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pigsboson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bel & The Dragon also viewed

 

Been to Bel & The Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing