We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay & Country Pub experience”
Review of Bel & The Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bel & The Dragon
Ranked #1 of 2 Churt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay & Country Pub experience”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a wedding and our main thought is to get back again for a weekend break as soon as we can. From the moment we stepped through the doors, the staff here were personable, friendly and exceedingly helpful. The building and rooms are very attractively decorated in 'country' style, but despite the fashionable rustic look, everything works exceedingly well, from the wifi to the showers. There are wonderful touches here which we have never seen before, namely the complimentary coffee & whisky in the snug and the damson vodka and sloe gin in the rooms. The bed was very comfortable and large, and I should mention the toiletries are good quality and generous as well. We were only able to eat breakfast as we were at a wedding, but it was excellent and i'd like to try the dinner on our next trip. The only thing to mention is that there is almost no mobile phone reception, but that can sometimes be a plus!

Room Tip: I can recommend Fitzwilliam. It is a lovely spacious room with lots of windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonelyasacloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    63
    15
    4
    7
See reviews for
72
119
9
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I continue to stay here every couple of weeks for work and it is simply excellent value with friendly welcoming staff especially Mike and Tasha.

The rooms are lovely and clean with nice additional touches such as the gin and vodka.

The food quality and price is a good balance and I am yet to have a bad meal.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Having travelled 100miles with my little dog to meet a friend (and little dog) what a welcome we received for lunch in the bar of Bel and the Dragon! We had great food, homecooked from an extensive menu, and even our little ones were treated to a biscuit from each passing waiter.
A lovely relaxing and welcoming experience in a rather splendid newly refurbished building.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie_mcl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I only had dinner with a friend so cannot comment on the accommodation. I found nothing in the decor that stood out from many other "modernised" restaurants. As a result the atmosphere was bland, functional but soulless. Service was very good but the food disappointed. I thought it was very pricey for its mediocre quality. In particular, I ordered suckling pig and only got a rather overcooked (and dry) loin of pork. I was not very impressed either by the 10% service charge loaded on the bill. So I may revisit, but only if someone else is paying.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Shulbrede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

this is a chic 'interior design style' restaurant with rooms. The décor in the restaurant and the rooms is first class, the bedrooms were spotless and very comfortable, and what's more there was a carafe of sloe gin in the bedroom as a 'welcomer'. The food was very good and not too expensive although the wine list was a bit top side. The staff were absolutely superb, friendly with out over doing it, helpful, and intelligent. this was plucked at random from the internet but we will definitely be going back. Customer service at its finest,

Room Tip: probably the quieter rooms away from the road are better, but they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SebDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The booking was odd. I looked online and found two nights would be £153 but i hate online booking so telephoned. I was quoted £250 with a comment that I should put the phone down and book online to save a £97. At least I was informed. Odd but honest.

Arrived to meet the group of chums for a two night stay and was immediately impressed by being taken upstairs by the manager who, firstly pointed out the coffee and gratis Talisker and Auchter****** malt whisky residents' tipple stop (bloody marvellous) with two decent coffee machines. This was an amazing treat to have really decent whisky and coffee offered gratis to guests rather than being hammered in the bar at £5 a shot for the same. Superb.

Landlord showed us about a beautifully appointed and well equipped double room (at Travel Lodge price) with great toiletries. accoutrements and a bottle of Damson Gin for the drinkers who had got past the whisky room.It was all delivered with such warmth that clearly the hosts just wanted us to feel as though we were entering their home rather than a pub/hotel.

Cannot fault the room. Clean/superb.

Dinner next with friends. Scallops brilliant. Steak with béarnaise sauce perfect. Attention to detail everything and achieved calmly.

So far, and I am excited by another night here, this is brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrpCaptMandrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed here for a friend's wedding in the area, and had to look around as the hotel they had suggested was full. I am so glad it was! The room was lovely, the complimentary drinks were a nice touch too. Staff were friendly without overdoing it, the breakfast was amazing with a great selection of teas, breads and hot dishes, and prior to leaving for the wedding the bar staff made one of the best Bloody Marys I've ever had. Very relaxed, and accommodated our wishes for early check in/late check out. I think it's had a décor-facelift recently too - tastefully done without being pretentious. All in all fantastic stay, and if we are ever in the area again we will definitely be back! Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoarderChick8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churt
1.9 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
5.1 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
5.7 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#5 of 6 in Farnham
107 reviews
5.3 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Farnham
282 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grayshott Health Spa
Grayshott Health Spa
#1 of 1 in Grayshott
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel & The Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel & The Dragon

Property: Bel & The Dragon
Address: Bel & Dragon Jumps Road, Churt, Farnham GU10 2LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham > Churt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Churt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bel & The Dragon 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque Surrey Hills, Bel & The Dragon Churt is a beautifully restored country inn nestled between the historic town of Farnham and the well-known Devil’s Punch Bowl, which is located in an area of outstanding natural beauty. Following extensive renovation by renowned interior designer Nicola Harding, Bel & The Dragon Churt will offer 13 stylish bedrooms alongside an all new bar & restaurant. The bar, complete with cosy seating and stunning French windows onto our new terrace, is the perfect place to enjoy a warming cappuccino or a delicious glass of wine. The restaurant with its new open kitchen allows you to view the very best local ingredients being transformed into mouth-watering dishes – adding a touch of culinary theatre to your dining. experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bel & The Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel & The Dragon Churt, Surrey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing