We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Room with a View” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Churt
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Room with a View”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2006

Hmmmmm Frensham Pond Hotel, what can I say…………….. an idyllic nightmare from hell! Farnborough Airshow week, an event that has taken place for several years (this last show being its 45th!). You would think it would be an hoteliers’ dream week. Thousands of professional people arriving in Farnborough and the neighbouring villages to spend vast sums of money for one week. We chose the Frensham Pond as it looked beautiful and peaceful a chance to get away from the manic ambience of Farnborough. Instead we found that no matter what time of night we came back to the hotel the staff in their quarters above my room would be having a party! Music blaring, people laughing and joking, not to mention the Fire door to the building being propped open with a large piece of concrete to which I can only imagine it may be for staff or friends who will be arriving later to the party – I’m sure the local Fire Authority would have loved that.

The hotel itself was ok, however it could do with some TLC by the way of general maintenance and better cleaning, the bath tiles were all cracked, cobwebs in corridors etc and even though it’s a prime week to increase your rates my room was certainly not worthy of its £180 per night rate! I met 2 Receptionists during my week who were very pleasant, the DM and the rest of the staff especially the restaurant staff left a lot to be desired. They almost gave the impression that you were ruining their peace!

It is probably a good thing that the views are lovely there as it is likely to be the only view that you will get to see in the evenings. If you were thinking of going into town for a drink, local taxi firms tend to have a problem with coming out to Frensham Pond (not that the staff would ever tell you that!). One night we had to beg a local firm to take some clients back to their hotel which was about 3 miles away, this was after we had been given the Yellow Pages by the staff and told to try and find something ourselves! In the end we had to pay £65 for the taxi to come out.

To be totally honest I think that the only way I would ever stay at Frensham Pond again would be to take a caravan and park up in the car park. That way I would still be able to encounter all that Frensham Pond has to offer – THE FANTASTIC VIEW!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    270
    117
    58
    60
See reviews for
202
358
44
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2006

I would strongly advise anyone wishing to use this hotel to think again! Yes the location and surroundings are beautifull, but the hotel and staff (except for two of the reception staff) are rude and I would suggest untrianed in the hospitality industry.

To start with, as it was Farnborough week, so a 50% deposit was taken for the six rooms I booked. I left strict instructions with the Frensham Pond that four of the rooms would be settleing their own accounts and that they should take the 50% from those guests on arrival. This did not happen. One of our guests signed for dinner on one of the evenings however, I have recieved all charges for everything everybody used even though the guests requested their own bills....

Staff called guests liars and every time I was in reception, I overheard other guests complaining on the filth they were expected to put up with in thir rooms, cold food, plus the lack of hot water. One of my guests the MD of my company even had his hand slapped away from a telephone when he was passing it back to the night receptionist who gave it to him with a copy of the Yellow Pages originally as he was not able to locate a taxi!

If you are a company using this hotel please be advised that it doesn't matter how terrible the service is, they will deduct your company card anyway as they think that you won't complain and will that you will just except the cost! I do believe that all bills should be signed and ours was not and yet they had deducted the monies.

The Duty Manager admitted to me in a Reception area full of other complaining guests, that the service my guests had all received was not acceptable and this was at the same time as he was giving other guests discounts on their rooms due to their complaints (I feel that these discounts were given because the guests hadn't signed off on their credit cards or room bills yet) .

No hot water, Fire doors proped open, music blaring out from staff quarters with their windows wide open and their washing on display. No lifts in the main building and only two young girls to help you with your very heavy luggage on arrival.

Taxi's won't go their late at night and if they do it will cost you a fortune! I paid £65 to send some clients back to thier accommodation three miles away. No airconditioning or fans on offer and the Staff are only to willing to tell you the guest that you are all liars!!

I am disgusted and I am taking this further!!!!!

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — The cleanliness
  • Tips/Secrets — None
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyBetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevinfrensham, Manager at BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2007
You have to appreciate that there are two sides to every story and yes they couldn't get a taxi easily but you will not be able to anywhere in this area at 2am in the morning. This is in teh country side and every where closes at midnight at the latest.

With regards to an alledged assault, well it didn't happen.

These guests were digruntled because we couldn't locate a taxi firm for them.

Had they pre-booked a taxi it would not have been problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2006

This was a terrific surprise after looking at the web site which in fairness did not do this hotel justice. After booking in as there were very few hotels available I was pleasantly surprised at the size of the rooms and the complete silence! It was wonderful to check into a hotel and to be able to go straight to the room without waiting until 3.00pm! The staff were friendly but at times short staffed (particularly behind the bar!). The receptionist, however was most helpful and was jack of all trades. Although there was a formal on the first night of our stay and a wedding reception the second night the hotel was still beautifully quiet - this helped I think as we were staying in the new wing. I would definetely visit again, although it is hard to find, the views and the tranquility are worth it once you arrive. Just one thing I'd advise the hotel to do and that is update their web site as it doesn't do them justice at all!

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank constant_traveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2006

I had the misfortune of having a weekend break here.

Dreadful all round. Service is poor - there was no one serving in the bar. Warm food was unavailable as the head chef was preparing for a wedding. Calls to reception went unanswered. The bed was incredibly uncomfortable.

Subsequently, we were offered a derisory £30 for a ruined weekend.

A shame as the location is wonderful. The area is beautiful and worth exploring. But there are much much better places to stay in than this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2005

I was booked in a family room at the Manor House hotel in Guildford until they very graciously phoned to say there was a wedding booked until midnight which would be very noisy if we had kids trying to sleep. I had to find an alternative. After looking at the review on this site alongside photos of the hotel i thought it might be quite nice. I was wrong. What you see in the photos is the Georgian looking frontage overlooking the pond. the hotel itself was actually built in the worst bit of the eighties at the same time as a lot of nursing homes, which it strongly resembles inside. OK so the rooms are uninspiring and the bath smelled of feet, but maybe the food could redeem it. we had the Lincolnshire sausages mash and Yorkshire pudding. I'm from Lincolnshire, the sausages weren't (tasted like walls) the Yorkshire pudding could have soled shoes and my wife thought the potato was smash. and this was a nine quid bar snack.

so why a score of two? the staff were nice the location is undeniably good and the 'continental' breakfast was pretty good.

I went to visit my folks in the morning, who were staying at the manor house hotel, and wondered if we could have slept through the wedding; it was quite a lot better.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank markofsoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2005

The Frensham Pond BW is tucked back in the woods a fair ways from anywhere, but it's worth the trip. Whether you are a tourist passing through or a couple looking for a weekend getaway this almost American-style hotel won't disappoint. The hotel has been engaged in a number of renovations recently both in comon areas and in the guest rooms. By European standards the rooms are spacious and the furnishings up-to-date. The restaurant has a full-menu and is consistently good. The morning buffet is well stocked with carbs and protein. The staff provides excellent service. There is an on-site exercise club and walks around the Pond are right outside the front door. In the off-months the area can be chilly due to it's proximity to the water, so definately bring a jacket or sweater if you plan to walk. If you want the best rooms ask for the newly renovated garden suites. They have the latest in technology and furnishings. Very nice for a weekend getaway. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXStevePen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2004

I attended my best friends wedding at this hotel. Wow is the only word to describe it, overlooking Frensham Pond, have you seen it, its more like a lake. The bedrooms were very comfortable and all the staff (mainly South African) gave a superb standard of service. NOTHING was too much trouble. I forgot my phone charger and one of the staff said 'no problem' I will lend you mine. I ran out of film for my camera, one of the staff were going to town and picked me up a film. You don't usually get this standard of service at small hotels in the UK. At Frensham Pond Hotel though, you do. The meal was excellent, function room nicely air conditioned. The next day we used the leisure club, everything here you need, pool, jacuzzi, steam, squash and nice saunas. I will defnately go back. Definately one to recommend. Chick

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churt
6.1 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
4.3 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
21.3 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Farnham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
5.6 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
22.7 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
Address: Bacon Lane, Churt, Farnham GU10 2QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham > Churt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Churt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel.BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel in Farnham, Surrey is set in one of the country's most picturesque and peaceful locations, overlooking the magnificent Frensham Great Pond. Here you can relax in a truly rural setting, whilst access to the motorway networks and shopping centers is a short five-minute drive away. RECENTLY REFURBISHED TO 4 STAR STANDARD. All bedrooms now with air conditioning Fantastic walk in rain and hand held showers Trimiri -Areva Fitness studio coming soon In room safe All our superior bedrooms and garden executive bedrooms now have a fridge. Amazing Hypnos Super king beds for a perfect sleep quality. Complimentary mineral water is provided in all bedrooms. Superior bedrooms also have bathrobes and slippers. Built as a private residence in the 15th century and a source of hospitality since the 1700's, the Hotel combines a unique blend of English country house charm coupled with all the advantages of modern convenience. All private and business needs are met here with 53 spacious bedrooms (including 12 secluded garden suites which are very popular), . The superb Watermark Restaurant offering excellent cuisine & wine and three conference rooms, all equipped to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churt Best Western
Best Western Churt
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel Churt, Surrey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing