We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Churt
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, great location”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed for two nights to attend a family event locally. Selected based on tripadvisor reviews. The hotel is in a great location overlooking Frensham Pond though to be clear although the restraurant overlooks the pond not many of the rooms do. The majority of the rooms are in the much newer extension to the back. We had a superior room in the old building and one of the first to have the facelift/refurbishment. It was a very spacious room and well equipped despite its location on the corner over the hotel entrance it was very peaceful even with a wedding party. There are some odd quirks about the room with light switches but nothing to detract from staying. The air con was not yet connected and this was made clear though the temporary cooling fan provided was the closest thing I have heard to a turbo prop aircraft preparing for takeoff. We had breakfast and a dinner one evening and it was all well prepared and the service was excellent. If you need a fitness room then note that the leisure club has been closed. Overall impressed and would stay there again when we are in the area

Room Tip: I understand the superior rooms are the ones in the old building with more room and some may have vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin H, General Manager at Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Alfred

Thanks for your excellent review you have shared with the Trip Advisor community.

I appreciate the comments made about the odd quirks.

Until the whole hotel refurb is completing such matters as the air con, the lights switching from the door and the electronic door locks will not work

Everything has to be linked once completed and then it will all work as it should.

It is very encouraging to hear your comments regarding food and staff at both breakfast and dinner.

Whilst we do not offer leisure facilities at present we are hoping to have a fully functional spa and fitness room once refurbishment works are completed.

We do look forward to having you stay on some future occasion.

Kind regards

Kevin Halstead
Kvein@frenshampondhotel.co.uk

Please be aware that when booking direct we will never be beaten on price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    287
    125
    60
    62
See reviews for
215
384
46
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Godalming
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I hosted a business lunch for old friends and clients to celebrate many happy years in business at the Frensham Ponds Hotel Restaurant. Fantastic service and food in a privately arranged dining room ,overlooking the ponds . weather was sunny and warm , and we had doors opening on to the terrace to enjoy drinks overlooking the Frensham ponds.We were very pleased with the great attention to detail with your very friendly staff .Thank you so much for helping make our day so special . Andrew

Room Tip: Restaurant overlooks Frensham Ponds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin H, General Manager at Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Andrew, it’s encouraging to see our diners also taking the time to leave their thoughts on their experience.

We believe that Frensham Pond Hotel has something to offer everyone, whether it is a light bite, afternoon tea or lunch and dinner whether staying overnight or juts coming for a bite to eat.

We shall look forward to welcoming you again to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Kevin
Kevin@frenshampondhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed here as a stop over on Friday 27 June before leaving early for Goodwood Festival of Speed on Saturday 28th. Didn't arrive till approx 21:00, easy and painless check-in and room comfortable, clean and ok for our requirements. Had a meal in the bar. The bar was not busy and food arrived in 10 mins, ordering drinks was a bit painful as barrel needed changing and this took some time to resolve . As we were leaving early the next day we contacted reception and because it was before cooked breakfast time they arranged a continental selection available to us at 07:00 which was appreciated. Perhaps next time we'll stay longer as location, although in the dark, looked good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin H, General Manager at Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Tony
Delighted to learn that you enjoyed your short break whilst attending the Goodwood Festival of Speed.
Its’ pleasing to witness that my front desk team used their initiative and arranged a continental breakfast for you, it would have been frustrating for you I am sure to leave on an empty stomach.
Apologies for the fact that the barrel needed changing. These cannot be changed until they run out and sods law you were kept waiting.
We do look forward to welcoming you again and you will love the hotel when you see it in daylight.
Thanks again for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Booked this hotel as part of a groupon deal which included afternoon tea, dinner then breakfast.

As we arrived we were greeted very warmly and were advised of our times for afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast.

The room was very clean, not what you would class as extremely modern however had a nice cosy feel and was a very good size. Beautifully located by the pond.

The afternoon tea was very nice, good selction of sandwiches and scones. The highlight was the food in there restaurant Watermark. It honestly is 5* food at a 3* hotel. The breakfast was buffet style and plentiful. All the staff had a smile on there face and nothing was to much hassle. The Iron was bought to my room within minutes of phoning.

Overall had a lovely stay with my girlfriend. Not to far from the A3 so if your staying here I'd recommend a visit to Gunwharf Quays in Portsmouth for some shopping. Great designer outlet only 20 odd miles away.

A*

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin H, General Manager at Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Paul, it sounds like you had an excellent stay with us and we are extremely grateful you took the time to share this with the TripAdvisor community.
It’s very encouraging to learn that not only did you enjoy your afternoon tea but found the dinner served in our Watermark Restaurant the highlight of your stay. We certainly are proud of our high standards of food.
We do look forward to welcoming you back here on some future occasion.
We do sometimes offer such deals directly so please do contact me directly.
Kind regards

Kevin Halstead
General Manager
Kevin@frenshampondhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed one night at this pleasant hotel which had nice rooms and was upgraded to a garden chalet. Downside was I ordered a burger and Guinness in the bar in the evening - the burger was way undercooked and the beer was poured from a can even though they advertised it as draught beer. Breakfast was very good. Overall a mixed bag, I wound not be rushing back.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a garden chalet - much roomier and nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin H, General Manager at Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Macke2014

Thank you for finding the time to provide feedback here on TA.

I am pleased that we were able to upgrade you to our executive bedroom.

Whilst these are a short walk from the main hotel they are ideal when the weather is good and have the added benefit of a private patio, more modern contemporary furnishings and air conditioning.

I was sorry to learn of the issues with your burger and my bar supervisor was concerned and I believe asked you on a couple of occasions if everything was fine and you responded saying that you were not hungry.

We were truly sorry you did not provide feedback at the time as it would have allowed us the opportunity to put right a wrong.

With regards to the Guinness this is actually draught Guinness in a can.

There is a special process that takes place as you may have witnessed when the bar person poured the Guinness into the glass.

It then is placed in a special stainless steel dish that when a button is pressed turns it into draught Guinness.

It is supplied to smaller units like ourselves that does not have the facility to serve enough Guinness before it is past its best before date.

Whilst we never advertise it as draught Guinness but as Guinness surger.

Delighted to see your positive feedback about breakfast.

Would really appreciate you giving us another opportunity so please do contact me directly when wishing to stay again and we welcome the opportunity of restoring your faith in the hotel.

Kind regards

Kevin Halstead
General Manager
Kevin@frenshampondhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my one night stay at the Best western at Frensham pond. Unfortunately we didn't have time to use the bar but seeing people sat outside in the sun overlooking the pub looked very nice. We had a very friendly welcome particularly when we arrived and check out was quick and painless. The decor and fittings are dated but for a stay where you don't intend to stay in the room much it is perfect, very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin H, General Manager at Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Emma, it sounds like you really had an excellent and enjoyable time with us and we are really grateful you took the time to share this with the Trip Advisor community.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you here again in the not too distant future.

In the main bedroom the bedrooms are a little dated but we have our fingers crossed for a refurbishment starting early next year.

For a small supplement you may also upgrade to our executive bedrooms which are ideal in this warm weather as they have a private patio, air conditioning and more modern contemporary décor.

Do please contact me directly when wishing to stay again.

Bets wishes

Kevin Halstead
General Manager
Kvein@frenshampondhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We were twelve adult with two children under 4.
I had booked Sunday lunch in a private partitioned room which opened out onto the terrace. Everything went very smoothly. The waiting staff were excellent. They were ready for us as we arrived, unobtrusive and immediately attentive to all our requests. For example, I realised I hadn't ordered enough wine for pre-dinner drinks. I asked for more bottles expecting a bit of a wait. The wine arrived almost immediately, ready poured into fresh flutes! Whilst having drinks on the terrace staff handed out the menus so there was no delay once we had sat down.
Waiting at table was also quick and efficient. We were surprised that the main waiter wore 'white gloves' so as not to dirty the plate! I would expect that in a top restaurant in London, but in a smallish hotel in the middle of Surrey?
Unlike other restaurants when catering for groups of 12 (I've had prior experience) we were not forced to decide on just one menu, but each of my guests could choose their own.
The menu was typical Sunday lunch, exactly what I had in mind and the price was very reasonable (£20). The drinks were equally reasonably priced.
The location, overlooking Frensham Ponds, was near idyllic - though the warm, sunny weather probably helped!
I can fully recommend this Hotel's restaurant. I've paid more than double elsewhere and received indifferent/snooty service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOhnL4777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin H, General Manager at Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear John L

It’s really encouraging to see our diners also taking the time to leave their thoughts on their experience.

We believe that Frensham Pond Hotel has something to offer everyone whether staying overnight or just coming for something to eat.

We are all delighted to learn of your five star experience and that we exceeded your expectations.

This always is our aim of course.

We shall look forward to welcoming you all back here soon.

Best wishes

Kevin Halstead
General Manager
Kevin@frenshampondhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churt
6.1 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
4.3 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
3.9 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Farnham
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
6.9 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,072 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel

Property: Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
Address: Churt, Churt, Farnham GU10 2QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham > Churt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Churt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel.BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel in Farnham, Surrey is set in one of the country's most picturesque and peaceful locations, overlooking the magnificent Frensham Great Pond. Here you can relax in a truly rural setting, whilst access to the motorway networks and shopping centers is a short five-minute drive away. RECENTLY REFURBISHED TO 4 STAR STANDARD. All bedrooms now with air conditioning Fantastic walk in rain and hand held showers Trimiri -Areva Fitness studio coming soon In room safe All our superior bedrooms and garden executive bedrooms now have a fridge. Amazing Hypnos Super king beds for a perfect sleep quality. Complimentary mineral water is provided in all bedrooms. Superior bedrooms also have bathrobes and slippers. Built as a private residence in the 15th century and a source of hospitality since the 1700's, the Hotel combines a unique blend of English country house charm coupled with all the advantages of modern convenience. All private and business needs are met here with 53 spacious bedrooms (including 12 secluded garden suites which are very popular), . The superb Watermark Restaurant offering excellent cuisine & wine and three conference rooms, all equipped to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churt Best Western
Best Western Churt
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel Churt, Surrey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing