We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Churt
Certificate of Excellence
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent wedding venue”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Our son and daughter-in-law chose FPH as their wedding reception venue 5/4/2014 ........What a good choice!
The whole organisation and communication from start to finish was 2nd to none. On the day everything ran like clockwork. We were lucky with the weather so, we were greeted with Pimms outside by the lake. The Wedding breakfast was absolutely delicious! Everything it should be, hot perfectly cooked and plenty of it.
Many of our guests commented on the quality of the food, saying it's the best they have had at a wedding!
The rooms were fantastic, clean, comfortable and well stocked with bathroom products and tea/coffee facilities.
Breakfast the next morning was equally as delicious and with ample choice.
We really can't fault the Hotel at all and wouldn't hesitate in recommending them as a Wedding Venue.
Slater family

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sillysal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin H, General Manager at Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear SillySal63

Thank you for your amazing 5 star feedback.

I think your reveiw says it all.

We are all very dedicated here at Frensham to ensure customer satsifaction and it is truly motoivating to the entire team to receive such positive feedback.

We wish your son and daughter in law a lifetime ahead of wedded bliss and hope that we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you on some future occasion.

Kind regards

Kevin Halstead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    284
    120
    60
    61
See reviews for
208
375
45
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our Mother's Day lunch on a beautiful spring day in March. The views from our table were stunning looking out across the water, glistening in the sunshine and the general environment was extremely pleasant. We had made our menu selections the week before, emailing our choices so and everything arrived promptly with polite and efficient service. The food was very tasty especially considering how many people were being catered for that day with quite a comprehensive menu choice. I really enjoyed my chicken and the other members of the party were very happy with their food too. The meal sizes were quite small but that was ideal for us for an early lunch. The only slightly negative comment would be for the little ones (ages 2 and 4) - their meals were a little overwhelming for such young children - 2 huge sausages and mash. Also their melon was crisp and for small children they might have preferred something softer and sweet,. However there was no trouble with the ice cream and chocolate flake - all that went down with great relish and they were certainly not hungry. The hotel provided a high chair for the baby who also tucked in and joined in the party! Altogether a very positive experience - would recommend. Jenny Clarke

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep cut
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I recently had afternoon tea at this hotel, although the hotel itself was lovely the tea however wasn't.

The selection of cakes were poor with only two kinds to choose from and these were claimed to have been homemade, not the case.

The selection of sandwiches were not what I expected and had all been cut using the same knife making the sandwiches look untidy and uninviting.

The scones were very dry and tasteless and were accompanied by bowls of jam and cream which looked like they had just been dumped there.

The overall presentation was not up to scratch and certainly wasn't what was advertised. Very disappointing and not worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Freddiefro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin H, General Manager at Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Freddiefro

Thank you for taking the time to review Frensham Pond Hotel and in particular your afternoon tea.

I was waiting for this to come , not suprising though the day after I agreed a very generous goodwill refund with one of your party.

I can assure you the cakes were home made, you make note that they were not, you obviously know more than my chef who made these personally, please supply your evidence to confirm they were not

I believe that you had lemon drizzle cake and chocolate brownies.

The feedback on your scones was totally different to other reviewers and I am aware the scones were again made fresh on the day.

I was going to ask Tripadvisor to remove this and then thought better of it, let teh TripAdvisor community read yours and other recent visitor's.

There were a number of other guests enjoying afternoon tea on the day you visited and by now you yourself would have witnessed the very positive feedback we had from our Mother's Day afternoon tea.

The afternoon tea provided was exactly as described on both our website and on our menu.The only difference was that we ensured all guests sat at proper tables, at the windows in our restaurant thus allowing panoramic views over the pond.

Having researched all local hotels afternoon tea I am pleased to note that our afternoon tea is the most reasonably priced in the area for a three star hotel.

If you want an afternoon tea of The Ritz standards then I can only suggest that is where you book next time and pay the hefty price.

Having reviewed their TripAdvisor feedback for afternoon tea there are no gurantees that you will be entitely satisfied thou I was the couple of times I took tea at The Ritz.

It is fantastic but a tad more than our reasonably priced £12.50.

I am disappointed to read your comments in particular your perception of your afternoon tea.

I am eager to gain a more direct understanding of your perception and I am available to discuss at a time of your choosing.

I am contactable by phone on 01252 795161 or via email Kevin@frenshampondhotel.co.uk

I am sorry that unlike others here on Trip we failed to impress and welcome the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with an overall positive experience next time.

Indeed many of our guests had a fabulous Mothers' day afternoon tea experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We met last Sunday with friends to celebrate a Birthday. The day was sunny and warm and the setting by the Frensham Ponds was perfect. We enjoyed champagne ,a fine selection of fresh sandwiches , scones and jam , tea, and cakes ..in a very pleasant room overlooking the lake....The service was excellent , friendly and caring and my wife was well catered for non dairy products .We finished with a gentle walk around the Ponds ..Perfect day out.. Andrew L

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin H, General Manager at Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Andrew L

We were delighted to have you attend a Mothers Day afternoon Tea.

Thank you so much for your Five Star feedback and to making use of the hotel again.

We look forward to welcoming you back in a few weeks for another family celebration.

Hosting guests as yourself really heps publicise our excellnet facilities.

If we did not look after you, you would not return.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and motivating for teh team.

Regards
Kevin Halstead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I attended a surprise afternoon tea for my friends birthday last weekend and what a treat this was. The sun was shining, the pond was glistening, it was the perfect setting for a Sunday afternoon treat.

Our champagne tea was beautifully presented and as usual the service was attentive yet discreet. Being Devon born and bred I consider myself an expert on afternoon tea and consider myself fortunate to have experienced this traditional English delight at many wonderful establishments including The Ritz. I can honestly say that the food we were served on Sunday was amazing and would definitely give The Ritz a run for it's money. Warm homemade scones (fruit, plain and cheese), fresh clotted cream, jams, sandwiches and an array of delicious cakes. A selection fit for royalty! The highlight for me were the parmesan cheese scones fresh from the oven. They literally melted in my mouth.

Afternoon tea at Frensham Pond Hotel is an experience not to be missed. Book it up now and treat yourself - You know you want too!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilingsammyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin H, General Manager at Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Smiling Sammy Jane

Its been quite some time since you have vsiited us here at Frensham Pond Hotel.

Your feedback is very encouraging for all the team especially from a girl who knows her Cream Tea's.

We look forward to welcoming you again here on some future occasion.

Thanks for your feedback.

Regards
Kevin Halstead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

I was at the hotel for a fabulous birthday treat. As usual the staff were impeccable and the service sublime.

Nothing is ever too much trouble and being a beautiful day the setting was idyllic. The atmosphere was engaging and the venue is something to behold.

The food was amazing from the perfect scones to the little sandwiches. There was more than enough to warrant it a dinner. The scones were delicious and the cakes dainty and light.

It made the day a special one and ultimately I wouldn't hesitate to return there again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TPHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin H, General Manager at Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear TP Hants

Thank you for taking the time to leave Five Star Feedback following your aftrenoon tea on Mother's Day.

Great to learn that you enjoyed teh perfect scones, the little sandwiches and teh dainty cakes.

We look forward to welcomimng you and your friends here on some future occasion.

Kind regards
Kevin Halstead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We enjoyed a delicious cream tea with champagne overlooking the pond complete with swans and horseriders going by. The staff were very friendly without being too familiar or intrusive and the whole event was very relaxed and unhurried, despite the fact that it was also a busy Mother's Day.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AndreaH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin H, General Manager at Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Andrea H

Thank you for your Five Star feedback.

It is great to learn that you enjoyed your afternoon tea.

Sunday's at frensham are particularly enjoyable in good weather.

There are not too many cars around, lots of walkers, horse riders and it is so nice just to sit out on the terrace and relax.

Best wishes
Kevin Halstead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churt
6.1 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
4.3 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#4 of 6 in Farnham
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,047 reviews
21.3 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
1,041 reviews
3.9 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Farnham
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel

Property: Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
Address: Churt, Churt, Farnham GU10 2QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham > Churt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Churt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel.BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel in Farnham, Surrey is set in one of the country's most picturesque and peaceful locations, overlooking the magnificent Frensham Great Pond. Here you can relax in a truly rural setting, whilst access to the motorway networks and shopping centers is a short five-minute drive away. RECENTLY REFURBISHED TO 4 STAR STANDARD. All bedrooms now with air conditioning Fantastic walk in rain and hand held showers Trimiri -Areva Fitness studio coming soon In room safe All our superior bedrooms and garden executive bedrooms now have a fridge. Amazing Hypnos Super king beds for a perfect sleep quality. Complimentary mineral water is provided in all bedrooms. Superior bedrooms also have bathrobes and slippers. Built as a private residence in the 15th century and a source of hospitality since the 1700's, the Hotel combines a unique blend of English country house charm coupled with all the advantages of modern convenience. All private and business needs are met here with 53 spacious bedrooms (including 12 secluded garden suites which are very popular), . The superb Watermark Restaurant offering excellent cuisine & wine and three conference rooms, all equipped to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churt Best Western
Best Western Churt
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel Churt, Surrey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing