We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“crap”
Review of Russ Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Russ Hill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charlwood
Reviewed March 5, 2013

On our first nighy before we flew we didnt think it was too bad. The car park is a bit bumpy not suitable if you have a low car. The reception staff were fairly helpful. We went to our room. It was an ok size. Clean bedding lots of clean towels and extra blankets and lovely and warm. Bathroom was clean and they had freeview tv. Although the window was mouldy and the curtains hanging.off we could look past that at it was such a cheap place to stay! We had plenty of hot water and tea and coffee supplies.

But on our return we stayed again..we arrived at 12 after a 10hr flight. We knew we couldnt check in until 3 but they said we could check in at 1.30! Great. But we had nowhere to go theres nothing near the hotel. The restaurant wasnt open so we sat in a freezing cold lounge. We finally went to chrck in and asked when the restaurant opened got told 2, 2.30. Went to our room. It was freezing. Had only a small electric heater. Small tv. The shower had no hot water. The tea and coffee facilities shelf where you boil the kettle was over the head of the single bed!! Way to dangerous!! Also the tv was on a small wall mounted rotating thing and the tv wad literallt slipping off. And theres no lift at the hotel.

We went to the restaurant at 230 to be told it didnt open until 3! We ordered baguettesess than satisfactory. Got told not to have the burger. Steak or much else! Not a great stay. I will definatley spend a bit more on a hotel next time

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We were sorry to read you were disappointed with the hotel and our services on this occasion. All feedback is discussed at our weekly management meeting in an effort to iron out the highlighted issues wherever possible

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,262 - 1,268 of 2,316 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

Summary: This hotel is a budget hotel and considering the value for money with the negatives, it was money well spent. I would stay here again even if I were to be given another room which may be smaller etc.

We stayed here for 15 nights and this hotel worked out at £24 a night which in the end worked out half the cost of the next cheapest hotels. We stayed here mid february 2013 to the beginning of March.

Positives: Extremely cheap. Receptionists and other staff members were nice, normal people and completely disagree with some of the comments on here. I can only talk about the room that we were given. It was spacious with two beds, airplane noise was minimal and definitely did not affect our sleep. A nice countryside setting close to the airport with regular bus links to the airport. Parking was always available. We got strong WIFI in our room (although receptionists gave the impression this was not the case for most rooms although the lobby has strong WIFI). Room was clean.

Negatives: Well there were a lot of negatives but its a case of how you can tolerate them. The walls were thin so we could hear people in the next room, although it was not too much of a problems as you could not overhear conversations although obviously if I were paying more I would be annoyed. That was one of two things which actually annoyed me about the hotel. The second one was that the (extremely loud) fire alarm went off on (I think) three nights out of the fifteen we were there, in the middle of the night!! Not ideal if you are flying the next day! The first morning, the shower did not have hot water, but the shower did have hot water for the next 14 mornings without any problems. There was occassionally a slight sewage smell (twice). The car park had seen better days but most importantly there was always space.

I gave it three based on its comparison to other hotels in terms of quality. Rating per £ would be better or comparable I would say. As we were staying fifteen nights, we needed to watch the cost, and this passed the test.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelman547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you seemed satisfied with your stay at the Russ Hill recently. We value all comments received from our guests and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you travel via Gatwick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

For the price, I was quite pleased with our stay here since I somewhat expected it to be just okay. We were given a room close to the restaurant, which was kind of nice, because we only had one hotel room next to us and no one above us. The wall between the rooms was thin, so we heard some guests snore, but it wasn't annoyingly loud. They were very good about accommodating me with my medication that needed refrigeration, and kept it in a fridge behind the front desk. The room was a nice size and the bathroom was clean. Two things that would've made the stay better: they did not have washcloths in the rooms and there were a few nights where the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night. Other than that, it's definitely a good, clean place to stay for the price!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erimou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you seemed satisfied with your stay at the Russ Hill recently. We value all comments received from our guests and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you travel via Gatwick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

£59:00 for a nights stay and 15 day car parking - 6 miles or so from Gatwick. Room OK - service OK; both nothing special, but for the price - what more could you expect? That said, however, please be aware that you will have to pay £10:00 (£5:00 each way) for your transfer(s) and if paying by credit card - then they bung on another £2- so now its £71:00 - but still not bad I would say. The transfers are regular and straightforward - no problems at all.

The stay was actually quite pleasant and the evening carvery at £10-12 each we found really good value - all you can eat, well cooked and a good range to choose from. The hotel offered lots of other seemingly good-value meals (ie the portions looked plentiful and we didn't hear anyone complaining) in their bar, but we thought the carvery was terrific - it also got us out of the oh so cold bar - the biggest downside to this hotel (apart from the covert extras) was the really cold bar - it was January when we stayed - keep your thermals handy - (we did hear lots of complaints, but the staff said there was nothing they could do about it). Tempted to rate this hotel as only average, but the price and the carvery means we were happy at the overall value and we will use it again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IgnatiusJBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you seemed satisfied with your stay at the Russ Hill recently. We value all comments received from our guests and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you travel via Gatwick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stop there for one night the staff were really friendly, especially Leo the night porter, it was very good value for money, rooms very clean and spacious,, breakfast was good value as well and and a varied choice.
negatives the tv in the rooms u can't see when in bed, too low,coffee, tea and kettle provided but no CUPS to drink from :)
Overall would stay again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you seemed satisfied with your stay at the Russ Hill recently. We value all comments received from our guests and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you travel via Gatwick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Having read all the previous reviews we were expecting the worst.well I must say people write strange things on this site,this is an overnight airport hotel and as such in my opinion gives great value.reception desk on arrival were very helpful,explaining everything to us.parking the car is simple,the room we had was fine,not top class but all that is required for one night and it was clean.breakfast in the morning was satisfactory and the coach to the airport was very good.overall this was a good start to our holiday in Antigua.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your feedback posted in Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Arrived to find my room freezing cold. I was told to turn on the heater, duhhhh! It would warm up soon. Since it was 11:00pm i was more interested in sleeping that waiting for sleep, so I shivered my way to bed and of course awoke at 2:30 am to a sweltering room. The room is about the size of a jail cell. I've stayed in 12 pound Hostels that were nicer, and warmer. No reply to my written complaint so I wont stay again and I encourage others not to as well.

Room Tip: There may be better rooms here but do not stay in the one for 25 pounds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haggs_10140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. We were sorry to read you were unhappy with the accommodation allocated to you and you chose not to stay here. We understand you do not wish to return to the Russ Hill but should you reconsider, we would welcome the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlwood
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
3.2 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,257 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
1.4 mi away
Stanhill Court Hotel
Stanhill Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Charlwood
456 reviews
3.5 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russ Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russ Hill Hotel

Address: Russ Hill, Charlwood, Horley RH6 0EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley > Charlwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charlwood
Price Range: $48 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Russ Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russ Hill Hotel is based in a 19th century manor house and set in nine acres of countryside within the charming village of Charlwood. This Gatwick hotel offers great value, comfortable accommodation and is conveniently placed just 4 miles from Gatwick Airport making it the perfect stopover either before or after flying. Transfers are by taxi with special rates in place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Russ Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russ Hill Charlwood
Hotel Russ Hill
Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick
Russ Hill Hotel Charlwood, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing