We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay going out and coming home Jan/Feb 2013”
Review of Russ Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Russ Hill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charlwood
Reviewed February 14, 2013

No complaints at all. This hotel is ideal if you wish to leave your car at the same hotel. Staff were friendly and efficient and explained everything to us both and the shuttle bus was fine. We had a nice large room on the ground floor for disabled and we also had windows. On the whole good value for money and perfectly adequate for one night. The food was perfectly adequate as well. We would have no hesitation in using this place again if needed.

Room Tip: Ask for the large disabled rooms on ground floor.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for your feedback posted in Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,295)
There are newer reviews for Russ Hill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,262 - 1,268 of 2,298 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here a few times over the last 6 months. The reason we return is the location, free overnight parking and the room rate. I wouldn't feel very safe here on my own as the rooms can be very far from reception and the windows aren't very secure. The rooms are small with basic amenities but not particularly clean. Under our bed were some tissues from the last guest and I was a bit hesitant to touch the light switches, shower curtain etc.. in the room as they looked a bit grubby! All I expect from a budget hotel is a nice clean, warm, secure room and friendly staff. Hmmm... the staff on each our of stays were not very welcoming or attentive, one lady in particular was very rude to us both. I would love to have the money and the time to turn this hotel around. It just needs some maintenance and a bit of a shake up. There is real potential here. I would stay here the night before a flight but go in with low expectations and bring £5 with you to rent out an iron and ironing board!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chriztine3c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We were sorry to read you were disappointed with the hotel and our services on this occasion. All feedback is discussed at our weekly management meeting in an effort to iron out the highlighted issues wherever possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Having read a lot of bad reviews our expectation was low and we were a little worried about our choice of airport hotel before flying out of gatwick for a romantic valentine break to tallinn. The hotel is located in the countryside. On arriving the hotel looked like a classic manor house. We were checked in in no time and began making our way to our room. Be warned the room numbering system is a little confusing so worth checking with reception before going to your room!

Our room was newly decorated and spotlessly clean. It was cold when we arrived as the heater was off but didn't take long to warm up. Bathroom was adequate, the shower was fantastic!! Tv in the room was an old fashioned box tv but worked fine with all the free view channels. My fiancé went to the bar to use the free wifi. The bar was a minute walk from the room but took him 5 minutes as he got lost lol. I joined him a bit later as I knew he wouldn't find his way back (he has no sense of direction!!). The bar was lovely. Drinks were reasonable for a hotel. A pint of strongbow was £3.50 and a vodka lemonade was £3.75. They also had a food menu that was very reasonably priced although we didn't eat at the bar/lounge.

As we booked the hotel and parking through holiday extras we were able to add on a 3 course all you can eat carvery meal for £9 each!! The hotel were charging £12.50pp when we arrived at the restaurant!! The meal was fantastic. Soup and rolls to start or salad. The carvery was 2 meats with Yorkshire pudding, boiled and roast potatoes, seasonal veg, cauliflower cheese and gravy. You could also opt for a 'special' that was veggie lasagne, fish and chips, tikka masala amongst others!! The dessert was strawberry gateaux or chocolate cake. We opted for the chocolate cake that was absolutely amazing!!

We had an early night as we were getting up at 5am. We had no trouble sleeping and heard very little noise. You will need £1 coins if you wish to buy a transfer ticket for the airport shuttle bus. There's a parking machine to buy your tickets at £5 each which we thought was a bit steep. The bus took about 15 minutes to the north terminal. The buses run every 45 minutes.

All in all we had a wonderful stay and fantastic start to our holiday. Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for value no frills accommodation near gatwick.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kayleigh_M_Williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you seemed satisfied with your stay at the Russ Hill recently. We value all comments received from our guests and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you travel via Gatwick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed night before flying, pleasant staff on reception booked us in quickly and explained parking and bus transfer procedures. Lovely old building in the middle of nowhere so a captive clientele for food and drinks.
Room very pleasant, tea/coffee making facilities, and provided more milk cartons when I asked at reception with no fuss. Bathroom clean as was room, bed very comfortable and nice fluffy towels provided.
Bar meal excellent value, £4.50 for fish and chips, bar staff also very pleasant. Total cost for 1 night say and 5 nights parking very cheap so I feel the £5 return bus fare is more than reasonable compared to some prices we have paid elsewhere.
On return our flight was delayed 4 hours so we didn't fancy another 4 hour drive home. We went on internet while in the departure lounge and managed to get a room in the hotel for our return.
Bus transfer went according to times quoted on flyer.
Once again a smooth check in by polite reception staff then we went to our room.
I can quite understand how some might down mark the hotel judging by the 2nd room we were given. It was in need of some redecoration and perhaps my review would have been different if it was the only room I had seen.
However again the room, bedding and bathroom were spotless, bed very comfortable. My only complaint is that the plumbing needs attention, not in room 222 but somewhere, in a nearby room, at 7am someone using the shower caused the pipes in our room to scream - that's the only word I can use to describe it - now that's a wake up call!
Fab evening meal, best steak and chips I've had for a long time.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. It is what it is, a hotel geared up for an overnight stay and airport parking and the price reflects this.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room cos no lifts.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluebirdFACup08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you seemed satisfied with your stay at the Russ Hill recently. We value all comments received from our guests and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you travel via Gatwick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a trip with Diamond holidays it was terrible, it was like staying at a youth hostel only worse. The restaurant was like a works canteen you were told where to sit which is around tables with 4/5 strangers, the mattress was so bad we had to place the spare blanket under the sheet to try and even the lumps out, which did,ent work very well.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Frankstretton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We were sorry to read you were disappointed with the hotel and our services on this occasion. All feedback is discussed at our weekly management meeting in an effort to iron out the highlighted issues wherever possible

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

It was such a welcome relief. Arriving in the lobby of this large, country house-style hotel high above Gatwick, and the usual stresses of getting to the airport, parking and checking in, fell away.
Here was a hotel which knew its business.Friendly, helpful staff so that within a few minutes we parked in the grounds, unpacked in our room (good,functional facilities) and drinking tea in a panelled lounge. Pleasant restaurant for dinner, Free morning paper and a reliable bus down to the airport. Stayed the night on our return. Large full English and away. Exceptional value.

Room Tip: Book a twin for extra space
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 576davidjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for your feedback posted in Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Second time we have stayed here overnight pending morning flight. Again, given some of the reviews, we were pleasantly surprised as we were last time. Stayed in one of the older rooms in the original house and whilst this was not as nice as the new room we stayed in last time, it was still very clean comfortable and good value for a one night stay. The restaurant carvery was good value for money although we saw a number of people " turning their nose up". at what was on offer. For £12 for three courses it should not have been faulted.Would have nohesitation in staying again. Used long term car parking with car delivery to airport on return and this worked very well. Overall cost was less than most long term car parks were charging for parking alone.

Room Tip: The better quality rooms are not in the original part of the house.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcw357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlwood
3.2 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,241 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
1.4 mi away
Stanhill Court Hotel
Stanhill Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Charlwood
444 reviews
3.5 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russ Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russ Hill Hotel

Address: Russ Hill, Charlwood, Horley RH6 0EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley > Charlwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charlwood
Price Range: $49 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Russ Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russ Hill Hotel is based in a 19th century manor house and set in nine acres of countryside within the charming village of Charlwood. This Gatwick hotel offers great value, comfortable accommodation and is conveniently placed just 4 miles from Gatwick Airport making it the perfect stopover either before or after flying. Transfers are by taxi with special rates in place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Russ Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russ Hill Charlwood
Hotel Russ Hill
Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick
Russ Hill Hotel Charlwood, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing