We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved”
Review of Russ Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Russ Hill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charlwood
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Second stay at this hotel en route for an early flight. We were pleasantly surprised by the refurbishment and by the dinner too.Will definitely use it again.We also used the meet and greet system as we had a late return flight. This worked really well and was much better than wating around for transport.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farnhamtraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for your feedback posted in Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,292)
There are newer reviews for Russ Hill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,266 - 1,272 of 2,292 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here on the 19th Jan overnight because we had an early flight to Mexico on the 20th,the rooms were basic not the best,and we also spent time wondering as to how we would get out of this room should there be a fire outside our rooms as there is NO windows in the room,it's just like a box the only light is a two by two square cut out in the ceiling,which you would have no chance of reaching if you tried. If you are happy to put up with this and the poor showers,then please give this hotel a go as the food is good and the price is reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorfolkGranddaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you seemed satisfied with your stay at the Russ Hill recently. We value all comments received from our guests and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you travel via Gatwick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Booked an overnight double room before our flight to The Gambia and a three course evening meal for £10 a head. Hotel was decent, staff were attentive and professional and the food was freshly prepared (as we didn't take the buffet option). Shuttle to and from Gatwick was great, and the car was safely parked in the hotel grounds for the duration. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Thank you for starting our holiday so well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GappyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for your feedback posted in Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed in January 2013. Even though we requested the 9am bus to airport they put us between 2 families that had requested 4.15am bus thus waking us up very early. They ciukd hav so easily separated people by time of bus.
Food was very good in Carvery.
Rooms were ok but bedding especially pillows were worst ever.
Bus to airport was good but read Small Print... buses only collect from airport every hour. We missed a bus by 5 minutes eventhough I phoned hotel we were basically told we should have read smallprint. It was nearly midnight and freezing but hotel receptionist couldn't care less. We had to pay for taxi to collect our car.
We would NEVER use Russ hill again and will ensure we tell as many people as possible so they don't get let down.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank collsfez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stopped over 1 night before flying out from Gatwick. Room was simply dismal. Very tired and dated decor, much needed renovation work clearly evident in so many areas. Room was cold and draughty, with very inadequate heating. Shower was really just a trickle. Tea/coffee makings were frugal and basic. Crockery could do with refreshing/replacing. Restaurant was basic, food was lacklustre (basic pub grub) although edible and filled a hole at the end of the day. Car parking arrangements are dubious, however, car was safely retrieved and intact on return. For a very basic and absolutely no frills stop-over, I suppose this is OK (just) for some. For what I paid, I have stayed in far superior, clean and modern premises elsewhere. I won't be back.

Room Tip: Check it before agreeing to accept.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spihandwestie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Well. Where do I start.....

Arrived and was greeted by a lovely entrance and reception area. The staff in the front desk where a little strange to say the least. Customer service levels that were on par with a POW camp.

We made our way up the stair case to the first level only to fall into a time warp and be teleported back to 1973.

We entered the room to find my great great nan's bathroom suit had been purchased at the local auction house and reinstalled into our room. Hooray !!!!!!

The room was cold, small and the furniture looked like it had been made by the local junior school during a CDT lesson. The TV was tiny and was so old if you plugged a sky cable in it, it could not of handled the additional power.

The duvet barely covered the bed. A bed of dwarf proportions. My elf like wife of 5 feet could hang her toes off the end of the bed whilst her head touched the wall. Oh the walls.......

The paper walls will not catch on when the 80's arrives. I can confirm that at 3:29am the gentleman in the room next door requires quite a lengthy (and impressive) wee. Then took a shower. His parter also informed me.... Sorry the gentleman that she also wished to shower after him..... Only after she had wee'd to.

So in a nut shell if you want a crap nights sleep with the ability to overhear your neighbours every move and get up in the morning shattered and not wanting to climb into Fred Flintstones shower this is the place for you.

Book somewhere else. You have been warned !!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nellybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

For the price the hotel room is cheap however with that it come with loads of problems

1st - for people who are xx large or disable you have not chance of walking to your room as the path the to the room are very thin.

2 - I was glad that I only bought breakfast because it was awful. Your better of eating outside in a resturant.

3 - phone reception on mobile is awful

4 - the bedroom that I got was nice however it came problems. Mattress lost it spring, bathroom very small, the tea cup were dirty like some one used it and put it back and the staff didn't bother to check it had been used or not.

5 - parking it not issue but they take no responsibility for any damage etc.

Before you relax in your check if it clean from top to bottom including the tea cup.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Muhibul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. We were sorry to read you were unhappy with the accommodation allocated to you and you chose not to stay here. We understand you do not wish to return to the Russ Hill but should you reconsider, we would welcome the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlwood
3.2 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,234 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
1.4 mi away
Stanhill Court Hotel
Stanhill Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Charlwood
443 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russ Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russ Hill Hotel

Address: Russ Hill, Charlwood, Horley RH6 0EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley > Charlwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charlwood
Price Range: $48 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Russ Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russ Hill Hotel is based in a 19th century manor house and set in nine acres of countryside within the charming village of Charlwood. This Gatwick hotel offers great value, comfortable accommodation and is conveniently placed just 4 miles from Gatwick Airport making it the perfect stopover either before or after flying. Transfers are by taxi with special rates in place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Russ Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russ Hill Charlwood
Hotel Russ Hill
Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick
Russ Hill Hotel Charlwood, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing