We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gatwick”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stanhill Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlwood
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Gatwick”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We needed a hotel close enough to Gatwick, and surprisingly enough this hotel is close by, although a beautiful country hotel. The entrance drive is magnificent and the hotel quite unique and stunning - I can quite understand why it is a wedding venue.

My only problem was a lack of staff - reception was rarely covered - and it seemed as though one poor man was doing all the running around and covering everything.

Albeit a beautiful room, very comfortable, clean and well equipped bathroom - so the hotel cannot be faulted at all.

Room Tip: It is not the easiest hotel to find in the dark so make sure you know exactly where you are going ah...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your valid comments - although close to Gatwick aiport (and not in a flight path) we are still located in a rural area where there is no local street lighting. The entrance to the hotel is usually well lit during the hours of darkness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    121
    76
    45
    39
See reviews for
52
274
7
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have our wedding booked for 31st May next year and cannot fault the hotel or staff in any way and are shocked at some of the bad reviews, we can't imagine the service to ever be poor as we have experienced nothing but excellent since we first contacted the hotel to enquire about having our wedding at The Stanhill Court. We have visited the hotel now on many occasions taking our close family & children to view the hotel and grounds impromptu and have always been received by the staff as welcoming, helpful and more than happy to provide lots of information or advice where needed (this is noted by every member of staff we have had contact with including the owner). I took my bridesmaids for Sunday lunch and the food was delicious, well presented and a bargain for £19.95 for two courses in such stunning surroundings particularly the walled gardens and amphitheatre, my bridesmaids were very very impressed! My fiancé and I are really looking forward to having a beautiful wedding at The Stanhill Court Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjf2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Our aim is always to provide excellent customer service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have just returned from the Stanhill Court following a friends wedding,I have to say what a fantastic venue and the staff were nothing but helpful to the point of letting us in very early so that we could dress the reception room, we were allowed to check in early too in order to be at the church on time!! All despite a large party from the previous evening checking out.
The Room we had (3) was one of the best 'standard' rooms I have been in for a while with everything you could want.
The Wedding Reception was fantastic and the food served was miles above the usual standard of Soup Chicken and Trifle!! Even the kids food was fresh and not out of a packet which is again unusual.
The bar prices were a surprise as they were normal pub prices again unusual for a
'captive audience' even if I was charged for post mix soda water......I did get a refund!
Breakfast for weddings is served buffet style with the rest of the wedding party in a seperate room and again the standard was fantastic with some of the best scrambled egg ever......just right for a delicate situation!
The views from the back of the hotel are stunning and the terrace is the perfect spot for a drink or a coffee so all in all I would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay, there are a couple of picky things such as the ledges in the function room could do with a dust but I can't help being a pedant.........

Room Tip: The views from the back rooms are superb but try to get a room in the original part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. We try to do our best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Booked the Stanhill Court Hotel for a night away a week before we were due to stay. Received confirmation straight away from LastMinute. On the day of our expected arrival we received a call at 12:30pm to say there had been a mistake and we shouldnt never have been allowed to book a room as they were full. I enquired as to why it had taken a week and what we were supposed to do as we had now left for the hotel, the manager then started making (false) claims that they had tried calling us before then. My mobile is on 24/7 and no calls from the hotel were ever received.
The Stanhill Court Hotel had already booked us into another hotel of supposedly the same quality and price but upon arrival at the other hotel later in the day it was clear this was not the case as we had been booked into a transit hotel for travellers flying out from Gatwick. Even the receptionist at the other hotel couldnt believe we had been booked in as 'like for like' hotels.
And now 6 weeks later and plenty of denials of responsibility from the hotel we are just left with nothing but contempt for the way we've been treated by Stanhill Court.
Hotel looks great, if you book a night there just hope you dont get a call on the day you're due to arrive!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon_Portsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
This booking was beyond our control and we are very disappointed to see this review. We were 'closed out' at the time of guest booking being fully booked with a wedding.

The booking came via a 3rd party agent who had not updated their systems. Once the booking was spotted, we did everything in our power to contact the guest to advise the error. We had no idea of booking requirements (agency booking) and booked alternative accommodation on their behalf at our cost. Other hotel gave free bottle of wine to guest as gesture of good will.

Guest grievance has gone beyond the norm as wrote and emailed director at personal address.

We have co-operated with third party agent to resolve her issues. She paid agent direct for booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Excellent again. Food excellent wide range of choice and will do children's meals. Staff very helpfull and friendly. Garden and ground worth a walk around . All room very clean and tidy , we had four poster bed which was great fun.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephenbessant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
battersea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The wedding was a fantastic day. The staff at the Stanhill Court were wonderful. Nothing was too much for them. They were very friendly. The food was lovely. Our room was lovely.

The setting of the hotel was beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindylou2Battersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments they are most welcome - our aim is to achieve these standards on every occasion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Gorgeous setting just a few mins from Gatwick South (£10 in a taxi). Beautiful old place with wood panels open fireplaces and stained glass everywhere. Clean good sized room with a nice bathroom. Grounds were amazing and rooms were, i am glad to say in keeping with the building. I would stay here again without a doubt and this was a great value parking and room deal. Our only disappointment was they wouldn't let us dine in the restaurant - 1881 with our child on the evening we'd really looked forward to a nice meal in here ( he is a well behaved lad!) If children are allowed to be paying guests they should be allowed to dine in the restaurant or at the very least it should be made very clear prior to booking they cannot use it. We were told we could have the snack menu in the bar but had already given up earlier after a good 15 mins trying to get a drink (Not a single memebr of staff in site) so didn'y fancy that at all! All in all though a lovely place and really really happy we found it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenbutler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxury4poster, Owner at Stanhill Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments, Karen. We would point out that the taxi fare is a Very Special Rate negotiated by the hotel with local taxi companies and should be pre-booked. We can do that for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlwood
4.2 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
5.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
3.0 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
6.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanhill Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanhill Court Hotel

Property: Stanhill Court Hotel
Address: Stan Hill | near Gatwick Airport, Charlwood, Horley RH6 0EP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley > Charlwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanhill Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful architecture in park-like setting near Gatwick Airport hidden away in the Surrey countryside - full of original features and uninterrupted views to the far distant Surrey hills. Only ten minutes from London/Gatwick Airport but NOT in a flight path so it's very peaceful and tranquil here.Stroll down to our lovely Amphitheatre and Walled Garden - A great start to any trip ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanhill Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanhill Court Hotel Charlwood, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing