We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shabby and very tired” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeside Continental Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lakeside Continental Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Camberley
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shabby and very tired”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I'll keep this short as I could go on forever. It is tired....a throw back to the bad old 80s. Poor décor, old fashioned wallpaper and furniture. The food is shocking. Breakfast looked so bad I decided to stick with the packet cereal. The head waiter was inaudible. I had no idea what he was muttering. If you really do not care about your accommodation and you want it cheap then this is your place. If you have a modicum of taste avoid this hotel at all costs.

Room Tip: It is relatively quiet but I stayed midweek and the place was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneHotspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    23
    13
    18
See reviews for
8
6
3
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Botswana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our triple room was comfortable and perfect for a short overnight stay. We were welcomed warmly to the hotel and although the hotel is rather old fashioned, it is excellent value. We attend a wedding nearby and the main bridal party stayed at a hotel at twice the price and which had so many problems for them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liquidgiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed overnight a bit old fashioned with peach décor and swags and tails curtains but comfortable and clean. Excellent sized family room and if you walk over to the lakeside International hotel there is a lovely patio overlooking the lake where you can eat and have a drink. Would I stay again ....maybe

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This place is like a set from Phoenix nights. Straight out of the 80’s. Sruffy communal areas and bar. Used by manual workers and contractors.
But a good pint of beer and bar food, the room was warm clean and quiet. The room is how I rate my stay…. Plus £55 a night on late rooms

Very good

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kc6648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Brief overnight stay. Friendly staff. Good sized room with lovely powerful shower. Clean. Quiet. A thicker carpet in the corridor might mask the thump of feet (but not very intrusive). Mattress toppers would sort out the problem of cheap mattresses, we felt the springs in both the double and single bed. The value was good in view of price reduction £65 for a triple room. Easy access good wi-fi with simple password and immediate connection (none of the complexities that some other hotels' internet entails filling your preferred internet sites with their logos). Didn't sample other facilities. Preferable to the cheap chain hotels in my view.

Room Tip: A room facing away from the car park would be wise, with the window open ours was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lonsdaleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The receptionist really tried her best to keep my booking so after the third attempt to room me, I stayed. It's tired, dirty, sticky floors in the bar the advertised swimming pool is at the hotel next door. If your bag is 1980s decor with swags tails and dado rails then this is right up your street. It may be cheap..... But!

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darlingcarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Camberley hotels

UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Would rather stick darts in my eyes than stay here. What an utterly depressing, run down hotel. A few of the letters didn't work in the neon sign, so the contin otel will greet you. Stuck in the 70's decor. The reviews about the lift are right .....sounds and feels like its on its last legs.

Wifi didn't work. Bathroom was v old, bit mouldy. Bedroom was freezing, nobody had thought of turning in heating.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camberley
0.1 mi away
Lakeside International Hotel
Lakeside International Hotel
#2 of 2 in Frimley Green
3.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Camberley Hotel
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 8 in Farnborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Farnborough West (Southwood) Hotel
2.0 mi away
Village Hotel Farnborough
Village Hotel Farnborough
#4 of 8 in Farnborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Continental Hotel

Property: Lakeside Continental Hotel
Address: Wharf Road, Camberley GU16 6JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Camberley
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Camberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Continental Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Lakeside Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Continental Hotel Camberley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing