We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Camberley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent home from home”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here with a colleague on a business trip and have to say it ticks all the boxes. Attractive venue with lawned gardens, ample parking and a lovely welcoming reception with smiley, helpful staff. Rooms are a good size, clean and comfortable. We stayed in and had bar snacks that were delicious. The staff were attentive but not in your face. Breakfast was nice and we ate whilst listening to chuch music. Very relaxing. Will be staying again, thanks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisnfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen A, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Many thanks for your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to extending you a warm welcome back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    577
    465
    213
    124
See reviews for
325
826
36
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had a fantastically comfortable evening before setting off early to Heathrow. The staff were great- offering Room Service Breakfast at 5.00 am before we set off for the airport.

We had Room Service Dinner in our room and the Fish and Chips were to die for!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen A, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Many thanks for your review. It was a pleasure to be of service to you and thank you for your kind review. I do hope that you will afford us the opportunity to extend you a warm welcome back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My boyfriend surprised me with a stay at the hotel for the night just before we headed back to work after the Christmas break. The weather was wet and cold so the hotel made us feel very welcome with fires lit around the bar and main reception. Reception staff were very charming with lovely manners and smiles. Our room was right at the end of the hallway though we experienced no noise from outside at all. One complaint though, the room as we entered was freezing, then upon asking for the heat to be turned up we had to upgrade it to a portable heater which didn't do much good. In the middle of the night the air-con switched on and blew out cold air for at least an hour before the cold woke us and we switched it off. We even ordered breakfast in as we were too cold to leave the room to head downstairs. A wonderful hotel with authentic features and stunning swimming pool though not enough warmth to feel comfortable for a night away from home. They also do not cater for all rooms to dine in the hotel restaurant, which is somewhat ridiculous. We actually went out for dinner rather than feel as though we were squeezing in and had a lovely time, though to not be catered for with a last minute booking isn't exactly impressive. Menu looked very limited and old fashioned.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssJay_SJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen A, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Many thanks for your review. I was sorry to note the issues regarding the cold temperature of your bedroom, the air-con noise and indeed not being able to dine in the Restaurant. Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment experienced on this occasion. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to extend you a warm welcome back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I booked the Macdonald Frimley Hotel for New Years Eve for my family and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We had a suite and a buffet dinner plus breakfast the following day for what was a fantastic price especially given that we had use of the spa facilities.

The staff were very friendly and attentive and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The Suites are very reasonable for a family of four and have a lovely view over the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gogs42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen A, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Many thanks for your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your New Year celebrations with us. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to extend you a warm welcome back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at MacDonald Frimley Hall in September as a spa weekend away. While I dont agree with some of the harsher reviews on Trip Advisor I would say that the place needs some work to truly become a 4 star property. We checked in on a rainy Saturday afternoon with no hitches but the Reception staff seemed less than enthusiastic and werent overly friendly but were efficient. We then went to our room which was in the main hotel building which was older however our room was of a good standard and well maintained. Nice bathroom with big bath and modern fixtures. Some stains on carpet in room but nothing too bad. As we were there for a spa weekend and as there is not much in the area we used the hotel's facilties for much of the weekend and they often came up wanting. The restaurant was nice and the food was delicious and well prepared however again the staff werent so friendly considering the prices. If you are going to charge 5 star prices then you need to have well trained 5 star staff to pull it off. The bar was also nice but again understaffed and young staff with little training were manning it much of the day. The hotel was very busy with a wedding and several other groups but the whole place seemed understaffed. It took too long for tables to be cleared in the bar and on the patio outside. It took too long to order a drink and have it served. If you order tea for outside be prepared to wait 40 minutes for it to arrive. The staff were nice enough but seemed young and unsupported. I would say that the hotel need to hire more staff and ensure that they are trained to a higher standard to improve the service. The spa is well maintained and easy to use. I enjoyed the pool and sauna but bear in mind that there is no jacuzzi. My girlfriend and I had treatments at the spa as well and can say that the service and quality were excellent and the staff were very nice. All in all I think that Frimley Hall is a nice country house hotel that with a bit of work could be a great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen A, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Many thanks for your review. I was concerned to read your comments as the issues highlighted are certainly not the standards of service and customer care normally associated with Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls experienced on this occasion. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to extend you a warm welcome back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines-Upon-Thames
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have just returned from this hotel (my partner, my daughter and her boyfriend and myself). I would not recommend this hotel for a national celebration like the New Years Eve celebration we have just had!!
The good things...... the bedroom was beautifully decorated, the service was good and the entertainment was excellent.
The bad...the set menu was very disappointing, the pate was passable, the soup was crab and most of our table (8 people) left this as no one liked it, it was more like dish water with a bit of crab and an equal amount of crab shell in the soup and about 5 minutes later the bread turned up...when the soup was cold!
The main course was lamb and about 25% of the lamb had fat on the plate as well as the lamb, if you love potato then you were in luck as this was the best bit on the plate.
Desert was ok.
We also found it odd that there was complementary red wine on the table, 1 bottle between 8 of us but no white wine!!!
So we went to bed and thought breakfast would be good...how wrong we were!
A great deal of the traditional English breakfast was cold, I also heard people complaining that tea was not available.
The conclusion my partner came to was that the replenishment of the hot food and drinks was to slow and the hotel could not cope with the vast numbers of guests staying at the hotel, mainly coming to breakfast at the same time!
Having said all of the above, we did manage to have a nice time but definitely was not value for money and we will not be returning!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen A, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. I was very concerned to read your comments regarding our Gala New Year's Eve Party and am very sorry to note that you did not enjoy the food. The soup was actually a light Ginger Broth with a Crab Quenelle rather than a Crab Soup. I only wish you had raised your concerns at the time, as this may have presented us with an opportunity to provide an alternative for you, as indeed with the main course too.I must say though, overall the feedback has been very good.
I do hope that you will reconsider and afford us the opportunity to extend you a warm welcome back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Camberley hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a three day post Christmas chill out at this hotel.
First of all the staff...simply wonderful they were so friendly and helpful and made our stay a real occasion.
The spa and its facilities were excellent and just what was needed for a good rest.
We had a lovely spacious room in the main house and things could not have been made more pleasant for us.
We cannot recommend the whole experience highly enough...Thanks to all the staff and a Happy and prosperous New Year to all of you.
David & Jenny Stanford

Room Tip: Hope you enjoy as much as we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen A, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Many thanks Mr & Mrs Stanford for your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a chance to chill and relax. I will of course pass your kind comments onto the staff accordingly. I do hope that you will afford us the opportunity to extend you a warm welcome back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camberley
1.4 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
10.6 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
8.8 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
9.5 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Lime Avenue | off Portsmouth Rd, Camberley GU15 2BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Camberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Camberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Victorian Manor House, on the Surrey/Berkshire border, just 15 minutes away from the M3 Motorway, Ascot Racecourse and Farnborough Airfield, boasting landscaped grounds, 98 bedrooms with every modern facility and a Vital Leisure Club with 5 Beauty Treatment Rooms. The ideal venue for all occasions whether it be business,conference or a Wedding, Macdonald Frimley Hall is Surrey's premiere Wedding venue. This Victorian Hotel is the perfect stayover for trips to Legoland, Windsor Castle, Ascot Racecourse and Virginia Water. The award winning 2 AA Rosette Linden Restaurant offers a sumptuous Menu,using the highest quality produce available to our Chef. Macdonald Frimley Hall's Spa facilities include a 17 metre swimming pool, technogym, sauna and steam room plus beauty treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel Camberley
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Frimley Hall Camberley
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa Camberley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing