We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa day, excellent and friendly service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Camberley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Spa day, excellent and friendly service.”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We booked a spa day through TravelZoo. The treatments were great, really relaxing. The relaxation room was lovely with soothing music, the chairs aren't great for a nap as very upright and too short! Leather recliners would have been better. This is minor though, everything else great. Pool is approx 15-20m so fairly decent size, sauna great, steam room not steamy enough! Lunch was good, in the hotel and herbal teas and water available all day. Overall very relaxing experience and good value using the deal we got (£49 per person). Would go back again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebeccabownas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Many thanks Rebeccabownas for your review. I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your Spa visit with us and please be assured that I will pass your comments onto the team.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    577
    465
    213
    124
See reviews for
325
826
36
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked a one night spa break with spabreaks.com including use of the spa, 2 mini treatments, a nights stay at the hotel, 3 course dinner and breakfast. The spa itself was fine with a small pool, tiny sauna and steam room, no jacuzzi. Small, but adequate. I did enjoy my treatments, a mini facial and back massage, and there was a nice relaxation room next to the treatment rooms.

However the hotel really let me down. The food was very disappointing - it was a Sunday and I hadn't realised that we'd only be able to have roast dinner (felt a bit strange at 8.30pm) but that would have been fine had the food been nice! My starter of mushroom soup really was poor, the soup had very little flavour, tasting basically as though mushrooms had been blended with water. The main dish was also disappointing - the roast potatoes were terrible, black on the outside, but mushy inside, as if they'd been kept warm all day. The gravy was a one size fits all, same as my boyfriend had on his pork dish. It was all very underwhelming. We then went for a drink in the bar and, although the waiter was very sweet and made an effort to make whatever we asked for, there was absolutely no atmosphere and the whole place felt very hushed, we ended up going up to our room quite early so that we could talk at a normal volume! A bit of music would go a long way to improve the atmosphere.

Our room was nice enough, better than average bathroom and a nice enough room looking over the car park. But I couldn't help feeling that we didn't see the hotel at it's best. Perhaps it was that it was Easter Sunday and they were running with a smaller staff than usual. Breakfast in the morning was very enjoyable, although we splashed out on supplements to get the best options - Eggs Benedict and Kippers. All in all though it was quite disappointing and I don't feel like I got my moneys worth, I wouldn't go back again to stay although I might make use of the spa for a day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlottes241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you Charlottes241 for your review. I was most concerned to read your comments, as the issues raised are certainly not in keeping with the standards, quality and customer care normally associated with Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls experienced on this occasion. If you would like to contact me at the Hotel directly, I would be more than happy to discuss your comments further and resolve the outstanding issues for you and indeed extend you a warm welcome back to Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Camberley hotels

Uxbridge
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We spent one night at this lovely hotel. Staff are excellent. Room clean, plenty of tea and coffee. The facilities are very good, staff in the Spa very helpful. As for food and drinks.... I thought the drinks were quite expensive (£9.25 for a glass of wine... ouch) and the portion side of the food was rather small (9 chips with my meal). As there are no other restaurants or pubs nearby there was no choice but to eat there. Passed on breakfast at £15.00 a head. If you can afford the food and drink you will have a brilliant time

Room Tip: Our room on the top floor had to contend with the constant drone of the a/c unit but for one night w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mc03172014f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Many thanks joannetridgell for your review. I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. In terms of our pricing in both the Bar and the Restaurant, we regularly check our pricing with our local competitor 4 star hotels, to ensure that we are very competitive. Indeed our Restaurant pricing, given that we hold 2 AA Rosettes, is the most competitive and superior quality in the area. I do hope that you will afford us the opportunity to offer you a warm welcome back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire,UK
Level Contributor
202 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Had eaten here before but this was my first time staying. The room was ok, bed was comfortable, and everything was clean, fairly new and apart from the window catches being a bit "floppy" (on ground floor so a bit if a worry" everything was fairly standard business hotel fodder.
The hotel is tucked away in the middle of a residential area, i assume the old original building sold off its land for houses, so no road noise whatsoever. The main building is quite ornate, feels quite historic, rooms are off in more modern extentions.
Bar area is quite small but the restaurant is bigger and the food was generally very good. 2 choices for about £20, 3 choices for about £30. Service was very efficient, maybe too efficient, we were asked if we wanted more bread about every 10 mins ! I had a terrine starter, Cod on Kale main and pear bakewell desert, all were good particularly the fish which was cooked perfectly.
Checking out was a bit of a wait, only a small desk with 2 guys dealing with everything.
I would stay again, maybe make use of the extensive leisure/spa facility in the grounds.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoom6562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Many thanks Zoom6562 for your review. As you have experienced, we are very passionate and committed to delivering the highest standards of service, quality and customer care which is shown by the number of guests that are coming back for a return visit, time and time again. We look forward to extending you a warm welcome back in the near future, when hopefully, you will be able to utilise the Leisure facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

There was 4 of us staying and we really enjoyed ourselves, the dinner was excellent with fabulous care, attention to detail and brilliant ambience! We opted for drinks next to the open fire and were attended quickly. Breakfast was great. The swimming pool, sauna and steam room were big enough for us and we would certainly go back again!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CharlenePell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Many thanks CharlenePell for your review. I was delighted that you afforded us the opportunity to redeem ourselves, following your last visit. I do hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Frimley Hall Hotel for 1 night on a spa break. The hotel is in a nice location and is set back the main road. The staff were very friendly throughout my stay.

I stayed in a twin room which was a little on the small side and was in need of redecorating. I didn't spend too much time in my room though so this wasn't a huge problem.

The spa facilities are in a different building to the hotel which means you cannot stay in your robe for lunch etc which was a shame.

We had one 30 min massage included in our package which was very good. There was a nice relaxation room to use with magazines and complimentary tea. There was also well equipped gym and good sized swimming pool. Unfortunately the sauna wasn't working when we stayed, but we made use of the steam room.

We also had dinner included in our package. The food at the hotel restaurant was of an excellent standard with great service.

Overall, we had a very relaxing stay and would definitely come back to Frimley Hall for a good value for money spa break.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snailz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Many thanks Snailz86 for your review. I was pleased to note that you enjoyed our stay. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to offer you warm welcome back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at the hotel for two nights on the 10th March. From the outside, the hotel itself was lovely, located in a beautiful setting. We were not let down by the inside either. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. On the first night we ate in the restaurant and had the best beef that either of us had ever tasted! The breakfast on our first morning was fantastic, however, on the second morning we arrived for breakfast slightly later (9.15, breakfast finishes at 9.30). By the time we sat down the continental breakfast was already being cleared away and we felt very rushed. We had a Cooked breakfast again which came out very quickly, however, we were given cold sausages that were barely cooked. Other than that the service was excellent. Had a spa treatment on our second day which was amazing, all facilities nice and clean. Room was also lovely!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akw901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Many thanks akw901 for your review. As you have experienced, we are very passionate and committed to delivering the highest standards of service, quality and customer care which is shown by the number of guests that are coming back for a return visit, time and time again. We look forward to extending you a warm welcome back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camberley
1.4 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
10.6 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
8.8 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
9.5 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Lime Avenue | off Portsmouth Rd, Camberley GU15 2BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Camberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Camberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Victorian Manor House, on the Surrey/Berkshire border, just 15 minutes away from the M3 Motorway, Ascot Racecourse and Farnborough Airfield, boasting landscaped grounds, 98 bedrooms with every modern facility and a Vital Leisure Club with 5 Beauty Treatment Rooms. The ideal venue for all occasions whether it be business,conference or a Wedding, Macdonald Frimley Hall is Surrey's premiere Wedding venue. This Victorian Hotel is the perfect stayover for trips to Legoland, Windsor Castle, Ascot Racecourse and Virginia Water. The award winning 2 AA Rosette Linden Restaurant offers a sumptuous Menu,using the highest quality produce available to our Chef. Macdonald Frimley Hall's Spa facilities include a 17 metre swimming pool, technogym, sauna and steam room plus beauty treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel Camberley
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Frimley Hall Camberley
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa Camberley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing