We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Camberley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brighton
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We always have a 2 night hotel break between Christmas and New Year and, having heard so much about the Frimley Hall hotel, we decided to stay there this year.
The entrance to the hotel and the reception area is very grand and check-in on December 28th was welcoming, with a free upgrade to a more superior room.
As we are fortunate enough to have a number of hotel breaks throughout the year we appreciate good hotels and facilities and feel that we can give a fair overview of places to stay.
Unfortunately Frimley Hall didn't live up to our expectations and we wouldn't stay there again. On Saturday and Sunday there were weddings and receptions at the hotel. We met members from both wedding parties and weren't disturbed by any noise. However the Gold Room (a beautiful lounge with an open fire) was only open to residents on Sunday morning and the Library was closed during our entire stay.
Much as we appreciate that wedding guests wanted exclusive use of the rooms (even though the receptions were held in another suite) we were very disappointed that, apart from a tiny bar area with chairs and tables spilling into the corridor, there was nowhere to sit. The reception area had no chairs either. When we mentioned our disappointment to the receptionist we were reimbursed the cost of a bottle of wine.
The spa was extremely disappointing especially as we always consider leisure facilities before we book any hotel. The pool was pleasant enough and being able to see outside and the loungers around the pool were a thoughtful addition. However, the steam room was 'cool' and the omission of a poolside Jacuzzi was missed.
Individual staff were very pleasant; however there was certainly something missing at this hotel. No brown sauce for breakfast, no croissants left on the first morning (even though breakfast finished at 10.30am and we were in the dining room by 10am), reminding staff that we would like toast, being told at reception that extra milk would be brought to the room yet having to ask again 30 minutes later.
All in all a disappointing stay. Last year we stayed at The McDonald Berystede Hotel which lived up to our expectations so that is where we will return to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightonSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you BrightonSally for your review. I was most concerned to read your comments, as the issues raised are certainly not in keeping with the standards, quality and customer care normally associated with Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls experienced on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    573
    457
    207
    123
See reviews for
317
816
35
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I went with a friend for a spa break and If the company hasn't been really good, I'd have been a little disappointed.

The spa service was poor. All of our treatments started late and ended on time so we felt short changed. Despite being specific about wanting firm massages, they were distinctly soft and noncommittal. They ignored out specific requests in relation to facials and only told us after the fact. The spa offering and facilities were quite limited feeling more like a local health club than a spa. I was a little frustrated that we couldn't get anything except a cup of tea in the spa and had to walk back through the rain and cold to the hotel to get a coffee.

On the positive side the hotel were ok with us sitting in the lounge on comfy sofas in our gowns. The service in the lounge/bar was the best across the entire day. Dinner was pretty good even if service was a little on the slow side.

The location is pretty and the hotel room was comfortable and neat.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisaroos14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you Lisaroos14 for your review. I was most concerned to read your comments regarding the Spa, as the issues raised are certainly not in keeping with the standards, quality and customer care normally associated with Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls experienced on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at frimley hall over Christmas and had a really lovely time. The hotel was much better than we had expected, food and drink was excellent and the staff really helped us have a locely Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Many thanks Simon M for your review. As you have experienced, we are very passionate and committed to delivering the highest standards of service, quality and customer care which is shown by the number of guests that are coming back for a return visit, time and time again. We look forward to extending you a warm welcome back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stay here every couple of months. Really nice Hotel with decent facilities, in particular the gym which is free of charge for residents.

The Hotel is a bit isolated though, even being relatively close to Camberley and Frimley. It feels isolated and can give the impression of staying in a library.

Meals are good, although the restaurant is a bit expensive for a mid-range hotel. Best to eat in the bar.

During the summer the grounds are lovely.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMM5AM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Many thanks JMM5AM for your review. As you have experienced, we are very passionate and committed to delivering the highest standards of service, quality and customer care which is shown by the number of guests that are coming back for a return visit, time and time again. We look forward to extending you a warm welcome back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I recently stayed at frimley hall with a friend for a spa weekend. The welcome was lovely and the reception staff were polite and helpful. Myself and my friend both had a facial and a massage to which were all expertly conducted. Dinner in the restaurant was amazing, i can understand why they have recently received two AA rosette's. The Bedrooms were very spacious, bathroom a decent size, and all very clean. Breakfast was very impressive, freshly served along with a great selection of colds from a well prepared buffet. The restaurant staff at dinner and breakfast were brilliant, very attentive, friendly and professional. From a lovely welcome to a fond farewell everything was excellent. would reccommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Many thanks Keri A for your review. As you have experienced, we are very passionate and committed to delivering the highest standards of service, quality and customer care which is shown by the number of guests that are coming back for a return visit, time and time again. We look forward to extending you a warm welcome back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at the Frimley Hall hotel for one night as we were attending a dinner at the over priced Penny Hill park Hotel - we had wanted to stay there but the room rate was more than twice then we paid last year! (best spa I have ever been to though) Frimley was in a good location and the frontage of the hotel is very impressive - shame the reality of your room is somewhere in the vast extension far from the original building.... We arrived in the reception just as a wedding party were congregating for pre dinner drinks - therefore could not navigate easily to the reception desk, and i am sure at some point got caught up in official photographs! A similar feeling later on when we returned to the bar as the wedding party seemed to take over the whole ground floor. That said the room was satisfactory - small bathroom and average decor.

breakfast was nice - good to be served breakfast where so many are now self service - The staff at breakfast were extremely attentive and friendly.

Would recommend this hotel and would probably would stay again as Penny HIll Park Hotel is outside of our budget.

Be ware of the sat nav though - we ended up down a private road and at the back gate....

Room Tip: If you think you are staying in the old house then think again most of the rooms are in the extensio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cousinaliba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Many thanks Cousinaliba for your review. Please accept my apologies for finding it difficult to get to reception on arrival. It always a little difficult to police so many people arriving at the same time, especially when it is a wedding party, however, please be assured that all our guests are very important to us and we will try and police this more efficiently going forward.
I do hope that you will afford us the opportunity to give you a warm welcome back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I had the task of organising the company Christmas Party this year which we celebrated on Friday 7th December 2012.
I booked their Linden restaurant for a 3 course dinner and disco for 70 people.
The food was excellent value for money and well presented, the room was decorated in a traditional and cozy fashion, the staff were attentative and the events manager was superb to deal with.

I stayed the night in a very tastefully decorated and spacious double room at a more than reasonable rate which included a delicious and well presented breakfast the following morning.

All in all I would highly recommend this venue!

Room Tip: I can personally recommend room 218
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Many thanks Sally H for your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your Xmas Party with us hope that we can be of service to you again in the very near future and indeed service your needs for your Xmas Party in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camberley
1.4 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
10.6 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
11.0 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,442 reviews
9.5 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Lime Avenue | off Portsmouth Rd, Camberley GU15 2BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Camberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Camberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Victorian Manor House, on the Surrey/Berkshire border, just 15 minutes away from the M3 Motorway, Ascot Racecourse and Farnborough Airfield, boasting landscaped grounds, 98 bedrooms with every modern facility and a Vital Leisure Club with 5 Beauty Treatment Rooms. The ideal venue for all occasions whether it be business,conference or a Wedding, Macdonald Frimley Hall is Surrey's premiere Wedding venue. This Victorian Hotel is the perfect stayover for trips to Legoland, Windsor Castle, Ascot Racecourse and Virginia Water. The award winning 2 AA Rosette Linden Restaurant offers a sumptuous Menu,using the highest quality produce available to our Chef. Macdonald Frimley Hall's Spa facilities include a 17 metre swimming pool, technogym, sauna and steam room plus beauty treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel Camberley
Macdonald Frimley Hall Camberley
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa Camberley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing