We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best day of our life!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Camberley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Farnham - Surrey
1 review
“Best day of our life!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We recently got married at the Frimley hall hotel (22/09/12) it was the best day of our life's and this was helped by everything this venue did for us! Abi the wedding co-ordinator was very helpful and supportive of all of our requests and requirements on the run up and the day, hats of to delray who made our wedding as amazing as it was he took care of everything and is the best master of ceremonies anyone could ever wish for, nothing was to much for either of these members of staff. The reception staff were very helpful and all our guests received great service those that had travelled far where lucky enough to be able to get in there rooms early which was fantastic and ver accommodating of the venue!
The food was amazing not only our wedding breakfast, which of course we chose and was simply the best, but breakfast was great and they do the perfect latte!!
Honeymoon suite was super, massive and myself and my 5 bridesmaids had great fun getting ready! I was slightly concerned sleeping in the honeymoon suite the night before, as my bridesmaid had fake tan on, on mentioning this to Delray he insisted that housekeeping changed the sheets for me and my new hubby!!
The hotel was extremely accomedating especially with all our extravagant requests, it made everything so perfect! I would get married again here in a heart beat and we will be returning as many years as we can to celebrate or anniversary!
Amazing can't thank Abi, Del and the rest of the staff that made our day so perfect, even down to the extra roll with my soup!!!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is amazing has the best bath and the cosyest bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leatommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Many thanks Leatommy for your review. As you have experienced, we are very passionate and committed to delivering the highest standards of service, quality and customer care which is shown by the number of guests that are coming back for a return visit, time and time again. We look forward to extending you a warm welcome back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    573
    457
    207
    123
See reviews for
317
816
35
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Beautiful property. We stayed overnight on a show round trip. Champagne cocktails in the Gold Lounge followed by dinner in the Linden restaurant. Well worth staying. Staff not at all stuffy and genuinely happy to help you in anyway.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SavannahMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Many thanks SavannahMiddlesex for your review. As you have experienced, we are very passionate and committed to delivering the highest standards of service, quality and customer care which is shown by the number of guests that are coming back for a return visit, time and time again. We look forward to extending you a warm welcome back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I booked the £49pp travelzoo deal for a spa day with 2 30 minute treatments and lunch included. The actual hotel was lovely, very clean and gorgeous decor. The spa is really the hotel's leisure facility which is a separate building. There is a good size swimming pool but no jacuzzi, the sauna is small and the steam room wasn't working. This is the hotel pool where they have children's swimming lessons which we felt wasn't ideal for an adult spa day. The actual treatments were very good and there is a nice relaxation room to chill out in. The changing rooms are small and got very busy at certain points where we were queuing for the showers. The lunch was a bento box and there was a choice of 3 wraps - the food was very nice though the room we were in was very cold and the waiter was quite miserable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jam220912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you Jam220912 for your review. I was most concerned to read your comments as the issues raised are certainly not in keeping with the standards, quality and customer care normally associated with Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls experienced on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

After reading some of these reviews I was a bit worried about having booked a spa day with two friends through Travelzoo. However we had a lovely time. The Spa was very nice with a lovely gym which we had fun in followed by a sauna and then two treatments and a very nice lunch in the nearby hotel. A big tip if going for a Spa day is to take your own robe otherwise you have to pay £5.00 to hire one which if I hadn't come prepared would have really annoyed me! The treatments were very well done and the relaxation room to use afterwards is lovely. To be picky though the treatment area upstairs could have been a few degrees warmer and also there was no soft music which would have been nice in the treatment rooms. A lovely relaxing day overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Many thanks sarah I for your review. As you have experienced, we are very passionate and committed to delivering the highest standards of service, quality and customer care which is shown by the number of guests that are coming back for a return visit, time and time again. We look forward to extending you a warm welcome back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for a one-night break. We arrived half an hour prior to the check-in time and were asked to wait in the bar while the man on reception checked if the room was ready. Sadly he must have forgotten because we sat there for half an hour before going back to ask again, at which time we were told it was ready. The communal areas of the hotel are very impressive and well decorated with a traditional Scottish highlands feel. The room was nice and clean with everything you could need, but didn't really warrant the 4-star tag. I know it sounds picky, but the light bulbs were exceptionally dim. The heating/air con system was noisy and turned itself on and off at regular intervals, until we switched it off; the bed was comfortable. We had a voucher for a free cream tea, with SIX delicious home-made scones, and we ordered some sandwiches to go with it - also very nice. We took tea in the lounge sat in front of an open fire, which was really lovely. The service was very attentive and polite but a little slow (there was only one man to run the bar and wait all the tables in the bar area and lounge). We only used the 'free' spa facilities - indoor pool, sauna and steam room. The pool was nice and big for a hotel pool, with plenty of loungers and free magazines & newspapers around the edge. The changing rooms, showers and sauna were good but the steam room was nowhere near hot/steamy enough and needed a good scrubbing inside. There were very young children in both the steam room and sauna, not to mention making lots of noise in the pool, which we felt was inappropriate (and unsafe) for somewhere selling itself as a grown-up, relaxing spa. We had dinner in the restaurant. The service was OK - just a few minor niggles: had to re-order a couple of things as they forgot to bring them the first time; we were given the wrong bill; the waiter was over-familiar and told terrible jokes; we paid £25 for two courses which was a bit steep (although the food was nice). Breakfast was perfectly pleasant but again spoilt by families with very young children, which we weren't expecting at that sort of place. All in all we only paid £88 for B&B so can't complain too much, but I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEA26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you DEA26 for your review. I was most concerned to read your comments as the issues raised are certainly not in keeping with the standards, quality and customer care normally associated with Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls experienced on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here 1 night as a spa getaway. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet, our dinner was superb and the spa and gym facilities were fantastic. The only downside was the ambience was brought down by some wedding guests - several who were drunk and urinating on the front lawn, even had an ambulance to rescue one overly drunk woman! However, staff were apologetic and very attentive with any requests. We still had a great getaway and I would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aelliott21921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Many thanks aelliott21921 for your review. As you have experienced, we are very passionate and committed to delivering the highest standards of service, quality and customer care which is shown by the number of guests that are coming back for a return visit, time and time again. We look forward to extending you a warm welcome back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The electrically operated, black sliding gates at the entrance to Frimley Hall Hotel are a harbinger of what is to come. It doesn't look like a prison but it certainly feels like one!

There was no one at the reception desk as I approached to check-in but, having announced my presence with a discreet cough, the stern faced prison guard appeared and barked "Do you want to check in?". I should have cut my losses and left but instead I replied "Yes, please" at which point she turned her back to me and opened a card index. After about 30 seconds, still with her back to me, I heard "Name?". I responded accordingly and a piece of paper was produced on which she marked about 7 crosses signifying the information required before handing it to me. I completed 3 of them, being the ones I deemed essential, and gave it back in exchange for my key and the briefest of directions to my room. I was thankful to get away without the mugshot and the strip search!

The walk to the room took me down drab corridors to the far end of the hotel and in to my room. The colours were all greens and browns and the main light gave out very little light, which led to a somewhat depressing feel. I briefly considered room service but opted to head down to the ‘award winning’ restaurant.

Again, first impressions should have alerted me to the fact that I was stepping in to dangerous territory. There was only one of about 25 tables occupied and again, the décor was quite depressing. Too tired seriously to consider alternatives, I sat down and was given the menu which was unlike any menu I had seen before: the price of most dishes was shown as ‘inc.’ whilst others had a figure against them. It transpires that the meal is ‘fixed price’ and that the ‘inc.’ items are included in the price whilst the other figures signified a supplementary charge. I was told that the 3 course price was £35 (to which would be added a 12.5% service charge). As I did not want 3 courses I asked about other options and was told by the [head?] waiter that he “thought” 1 course was £25, and 2 courses £30. A quick calculation told me that a steak, chips and peas was going to cost me £36 (£25 fixed menu, £3.50 each for chips and peas all plus 12.5%). That snapped me out of my complacency and I decided to go and eat somewhere else.

I went to my car and drove to the gate. I couldn’t get out. It turns out that you need a code to exit the prison (I mean hotel) and as I did not have one I had to press the button for attention, and press it again, and again and … then I was saved by someone coming IN which led to the gate opening and so allowed me to make my escape.

I had a meal in a pub nearby and returned to spend an uneventful night in my room, collecting a large scotch from the bar on my way up.

Very disenchanted with the hotel and with some spare time before my first meeting, I decided to seek breakfast elsewhere and so headed straight for reception to check-out. After much tutting and mouse clicking, the chap on reception produced my bill which had only the drink on it. When I asked for a receipt showing the cost of the room I was told that I could not have one because it had been booked through Hotels.com (Expedia). When I challenged that, the chap disappeared to talk to his colleague around the corner. He came back and told me that it was company policy not to issue bills for Expedia bookings but I insisted and the colleague, who could overhear my remarks then began responding along the lines of “tell him this, or that”. After a while I suggested to the voice that perhaps she ought to come round to the front of reception and talk to me directly. You guessed it, it was the guard who had checked me in. We had a short exchange, I asked for the code to the gate and I left – sadly without the required receipt.

I will not be returning to Frimley Hall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a10ddf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_frimleyhall, General Manager at Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you a10ddf for your review. I was most concerned to read your comments as the issues raised are certainly not in keeping with the standards, quality and customer care normally associated with Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls experienced on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Camberley hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camberley
1.4 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
10.6 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
11.0 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
9.5 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Lime Avenue | off Portsmouth Rd, Camberley GU15 2BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Camberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Camberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Victorian Manor House, on the Surrey/Berkshire border, just 15 minutes away from the M3 Motorway, Ascot Racecourse and Farnborough Airfield, boasting landscaped grounds, 98 bedrooms with every modern facility and a Vital Leisure Club with 5 Beauty Treatment Rooms. The ideal venue for all occasions whether it be business,conference or a Wedding, Macdonald Frimley Hall is Surrey's premiere Wedding venue. This Victorian Hotel is the perfect stayover for trips to Legoland, Windsor Castle, Ascot Racecourse and Virginia Water. The award winning 2 AA Rosette Linden Restaurant offers a sumptuous Menu,using the highest quality produce available to our Chef. Macdonald Frimley Hall's Spa facilities include a 17 metre swimming pool, technogym, sauna and steam room plus beauty treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel Camberley
Macdonald Frimley Hall Camberley
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa Camberley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing