We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good variety of food.”
Review of The Real China - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Real China
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Enjoy a feast of freshly prepared dishes from China and the Far East and remember you can enjoy as much food as you like for one price! Great selection with a tepenyaki bar and desert counter all included in the price.
Farnborough
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good variety of food.”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Good selection of food caters for everyone - you eat as much as you want so good value.. I love their pork dishes. It is always busy but you can get seated. So convenient as close to the cinema it means you can go before or after the cinema to have a meal. Very clean. Staff very pleasant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grecophile043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    21
    10
    5
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not bad at all!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Party of 10 of us for a double birthday celebration.
It was the first time I had been to this Real China, although I have been to another one, now closed. The 'all you can eat' buffet was quite good. There was enough people in the restaurant to ensure a rapid turn over of the food on offer - which was good tasty and plentiful. The only downside was the desserts which were very basic, although as I am not a pudding type person was OK with me. Overall, good value.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good selection attentive staff”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Great restaurant,nice decor which does what it says on the tin: all you can eat. Good selection and all food was well prepared. Good selection of deserts also which is unusual. Very clean.

Helpful?
Thank Ash G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Appearances can be deceiving!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The food all looks very nice when you 1st go up to the buffet, but it tastes bland and uninteresting, the nicest thing I had was the steamed dim sum, everything was either deep fried or swimming in MSG! The duck for the pancakes was shredded to within an inch of its life and didn't even taste of duck, both myself and hubby wished we stayed at home and got a takeaway it would have been cheaper and at least the soda in my spritzer would have been fizzy! I don't think we will be be going for a date night there anytime soon!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahsunshine23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at The Real China, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at The Real China. We were sorry to hear that you felt this experience fell below our usual very high standards that are experienced by vast majority of diners. We are usually complimented on the high quality of our food by most of our diners. We can also assure you that all of our food is prepared in house and served fresh.

If you would care to take the trouble to email the restaurant directly by emailing info@therealchina.biz with some additional detail, we can investigate your experience in more detail and this may help us improve the experience of every guest. In the meantime, we would like to take this opportunity to apologise from everyone on the The Real China team.

Kind Regards

The Real China Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always ready-to-eat”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Been here three times now. First time with a friend, one Saturday evening when we couldn't get in anywhere else, having failed to book. She loved the amount of vegetarian choices available. Second time was with hubby for dinner after cinema. We returned for a second similar occasion. Each time the place was very busy but we had no trouble getting seated. There's always plenty of hot food ready to eat. It's all tasty and there's a great variety. I think it's pretty good value for what you pay, except maybe for the drinks which used to be 'bottomless' but now are individually priced.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HampshireCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Real China also viewed

Camberley, Surrey
 
Camberley, Surrey
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing