We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mixed Bag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bagshot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Recently visited this hotel and spa and had a mixed experience. Some of the staff encountered were absolutely lovely, friendly and professional. Others were aloof and had a real attitude. One that I only ever encounter when using premier establishments. It is as if by working there they feel they are a cut above the clientele. Very strange indeed.
I had a spa treatment which was lovely and carried out by a friendly chatty therapist. The lunch was expensive and poor value for money. If you charge premium prices you must provide a premium product which was not the case. Overall a mixed experience and one I would probably not repeat which is a shame. A lot of the staff are working hard to provide a good service here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank redharvey64_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianTomlin, General Manager at Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback following your visit with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience in the Spa and your visit overall but disappointed that it wasn't perfect for you. We want you to experience the best of Pennyhill and I am sorry that you encountered inconsistent service. Please rest assured that we strive to deliver excellence and regularly meet with our staff to share our guest's feedback. I hope you will return and allow us to demonstrate the high standards that you expect from us. Kind regards Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,361 - 1,367 of 2,169 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Another fantastic weekend at one of the most amazing venues. ... I've been lucky enough to try spas all around the world and Pennyhill wins hands down... great setting. . attentive and friendly staff.... luxury rooms .... you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank jeevsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianTomlin, General Manager at Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Alex
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced the amazing Spa we have at Pennyhill. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Kind regards Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We paid just over £500 for one night in a junior suite, breakfast, dinner and access to the spa for two days. The hotel was excellent, a large traditional room with some modern touches and an amazing shower. No wi-fi in the room, or anywhere, was a disappointment though, and the bath was small, with no sign of the tv that every photo of baths seems to have on the website. Bearing in mind we had an upgraded room, that was poor and we felt mis-sold. Charging me for the morning paper was a surprise as well, £500 and you can't include the morning paper?!

The food was nice in the brasserie, although it was interesting that we were forced when booking to eat at 6.30pm when by the time we had finished the restaurant only had around seven tables taken. We booked over two weeks in advance and were advised dinner would be full from 7pm to 9.30pm, perhaps an IT error? Dinner also felt quite rushed, out in an hour, which is a shame when paying £90 for a meal. Breakfast was good, no better than good, just in line with what you would expect at a five star hotel. A tiny sliver of butter on the table was a small but irritating problem, it wasn't enough for one slice of toast, never mind four.

The spa was a little more disappointing. The reputation is brilliant and bearing in mind the money we paid, we would hope to have an exclusive experience. Unfortunately as the spa is open to the public, it was overrun. Want to use a massage chair? No chance, always taken. Want a sunbed by the pool? Nope. Steam room? Only if the other six people in the room will move up for you. Want a treatment? Forget about it if you didn't book over a week in advance. Incredibly frustrating and leaves the cost tasting quite bitter in our mouths.

For the price charged you expect to be paying for the freedom to choose what you want to do and when. Looking at it coldly, we feel ripped off, like we bought something fashionable rather than a truly high quality experience. My advice would be to limit the number of day spa guests, or create a section of time that is exclusively for hotel guests. The cost is to leave us preferring other spa hotel experiences we've had over this one.

If we sound negative it is because the price tag creates an expectation. Exclusivity, tranquility, perfection even?? The experience did not meet that expectation.



Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank FTP82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianTomlin, General Manager at Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Pennyhill over all and I have noted your comments regarding the improvements we can make to ensure that your stay is perfect next time. All 123 bedrooms at Pennyhill are individually decorated and our reservations team are always happy to discuss what type of room you prefer so that it can be allocated for your arrival. We can also make a note of your preferred dining time. We do control the number of Day Spa guests that we have each day and at busy times we do try and ensure that there are enough loungers and seats available. Please do call the next time you are planning a visit and we can advise you on all aspects of your stay to ensure it meets your expectations. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have treated ourselves to a night here on several occasions this year and it has yet to disappoint. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are exceptionally comfortable. Breakfast is delicious whether taken in the restaurant or served in your room and we have experienced the ten course tasting menu on a couple of occasions and also dinner in the brasserie, all have been wonderfully presented and incredibly good. As for the spa well what can I say that has not already been said before. As a regular spa goer I can say with confidence that this must be one of the best starting in the beautiful changing rooms and going on to all the wonderful facilities.
We are looking forward to our next trip already.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianTomlin, General Manager at Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Suzanne
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I am glad to hear that you have experienced the best of Pennyhill each time you have visited with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My family and I (12 of us) spent a wonderful 3 days at Pennyhill Park over the Christmas period.The food was excellent, the staff superb-very friendly and most helpful and the entertainment and activities great. Everything was first class. We woke up on Christmas Day morning to find that Santa had visited and left a stocking of goodies hanging on our door. I have already booked for next year.
Bryan Carter

Room Tip: Ask the Concierge, Stephen Davies to advise you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianTomlin, General Manager at Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Bryan
It's wonderful to hear that you and your family had a fantastic time here at Pennyhill Park over Christmas. Staying for the three day package allows you the time to relax and enjoy all of the facilities we have and the extra entertainment that is provided especially for our Christmas guests. See you in December. Kind regards Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We came across this hotel via 'secret escapes' and are very glad we did! We had a fantastic weekend of luxury with spa access all weekend and a fabulous room - complete with tv over the bath, armchairs, multiple jets in the shower and huge four poster bed. The spa is incredible and all staff were extremely friendly. We're planning to return as soon as possible!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank HollieK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianTomlin, General Manager at Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Hollie
Thank you for posting your wonderful review following your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit and hope that you will enjoy your time with us again. Kind regards Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

went with a friend to this restaurant and was treated to a wonderful meal it was taken from a taster menu and included about 10 courses the courses were very well presented and tasted wonderful although it took around 2 hours to get through it I can thoroughly recommend this 5 star hotel it has beautiful surroundings and an open air pool

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davidhall2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianTomlin, General Manager at Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear David
Thank you for your review following your visit to our two Michelin starred restaurant The Latymer. The tasting menu is a wonderful experience. You can also have a shorter 7 course menu or a 3 course lunch if you prefer, but they are all wonderful and the food created by Michael Wignall and his team is out of this world. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bagshot
8.3 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 3 in Egham
1,189 reviews
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
250 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
10.3 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa

Address: London Road, Bagshot GU19 5EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Bagshot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bagshot
Price Range: $263 - $586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pennyhill Park is a magnificent country house hotel in Bagshot, Surrey, set amongst 123 acres of gardens and parkland including a 9 hole golf course. This five-star luxury hotel offers everything from unmatchable luxury spa breaks and treatments, afternoon tea in the Ascot Bar, lunch and dinner in The Brasserie and is a perfect venue for weddings, conferences and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pennyhill Park Hotel And The Bagshot
Pennyhill Park Hotel And Country
Pennyhill Park, An Exclusive Hotel & Spa Bagshot, England - Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing