We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bagshot
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Luxury at its best”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have been here numerous of times, once being for a wedding and this place just oozes star quality and luxury. From the moment you drive down the long winding driveway to the concierge entrance where they can take your car for you and park it, or if you wish you can park it yourself. Reception are friendly and welcoming and take care of your every need. The hotel bar area is wonderful to relax in with views overlooking the outdoor heated swimming pool and manicured gardens. They have basic rooms right up to luxury suites and a Spa that is just fantastic to relax in. I was taken there for my Birthday once and we enjoyed a massage together side by side which was wonderful. They have an outdoor Jacuzzi, 3 or 4 different steam rooms, a plunge pool and an indoor swimming pool too. They also have clay pigeon shooting on site which I have enjoyed with my friends at Christmas as a boys day out. Last year we enjoyed a family Christmas meal there on Christmas day which was amazing. This place has it all and well worth splurging on every now and again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fonseca-Denning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianTomlin, General Manager at Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and it certainly sounds like you have experienced all of the fantastic facilities we have across the resort. The Spa, the restaurants, the clay pigeon shooting and Christmas at Pennyhill is a wonderful time of the year. I hope that we will see you back with us soon. Kind regards Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,306
    385
    178
    78
    32
See reviews for
253
1,031
32
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ongar, Essex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

After hours of searching the internet for a Spa hotel we finally chose Pennyhill for a 1 night stay for our special Silver Wedding Anniversary, when we arrived in our room the hotel had put a plate with 'Happy 25th Anniversary' written on it in chocolate with a few strawberries & other bits on, we thought it to be very thoughtful of them, as we were very keen to get to the Spa to start enjoying our relaxing day we didnt really inspect the room/bathroom on arrival.
The spa - wonderful, relaxing, spotlessly clean with many steam rooms, saunas, jacuzzis etc & a magnificent swimming pool, it also had a relaxing room called the 'trepiderium' which is a wow, it consists of loungers made of stone that fit the contours of your body & is heated, dont miss it! We then went on to have a massage, which we both found excellent, in fact one of the best we have ever had! We had dinner that evening in the Brasserie & again the food, service, waiters were all faultless, it is quite pricey but worth it, the only thing we would've liked was some background music as the evening we were there was very quiet, with only 3 other tables occupied.
Many other reviews have raved the rooms & bathrooms, but unfortunately we didnt feel that our room (The Hornbeam) was up to the 5 star luxury that we expected, the carpet was dirty & the bathroom had chips out of the bath, a leaky shower & generally in need of updating, hence why I havent awarded full marks, which is a shame as EVERYTHING else was sooooo good!
On checkout we spoke with Laura Strathern, Guest Relations Manager to express our thoughts on the room - what a lovely lady, she could not have been more sorry/helpful regarding our concerns & came to the room to inspect it with us, agreeing that standards should be better, we would both personally like to thank her for her professionalism in dealing with this & we were very happy with her kind gesture.
One point to note is that some rooms are located in the main part of the hotel & some are opposite in a newer addition, personally we would have preferred to be in the main part as you have to walk outside in the cold after dinner & would obviously get wet if it were raining!
We will definately return to Pennyhill one day & generally had a fabulous relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Check the room you are allocated has an updated bathroom, & decide if you would prefer to stay i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesOngar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianTomlin, General Manager at Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We have exchanged emails between us and followed up on your comments regarding your room. Thank you again for your lovely feedback about Laura who I know reassured you that your comments were very valuable to us and enabled us to take immediate action. I am so glad that you enjoyed the Spa and the Brasserie and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

What a gem of a hotel and Spa- I have been fortunate to visit this stunning hotel on a few occasions and also have enjoyed several day spas. This is an exceptional Hotel, Fab staff, welcoming and know how things should be done. The restaurants are also wonderful, from a salad and a smoothie to the Brassie or A la Carte- Thank you ever so much for such amazing memories and the New Spa area is wonderful. Couldn't recommend more highly- don't hesitate Visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honest_best_policy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianTomlin, General Manager at Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed another visit with us. I hope you can return to us sooon. Kind regards Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

....for a lovely weekend of relaxation and luxury. Your staff are so happy, helpful, accommodating, thoughtful, considerate and were definitely the icing on the cake of our stay. We stayed on the Apple Tree room and it was gorgeous! The bathroom was LUXurious and the bed was a dream to sleep in. Nothing was too much trouble for your staff. The facilities are out of this world and only wish I lived closer to enjoy PHP more often.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nashpash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianTomlin, General Manager at Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that you can return to us soon and enjoy another relaxing few days. Kind regards Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The hotel has matured since my last visit and feels more natural in its surroundings than before - like it belongs beneath the huge cedar trees. The Thermal Heaven spa is amazing - and must be one of the largest spa's offering superb changing facilities, treatments and relaxation areas. The staff though make this place and are friendly, courteous, efficient and willing to serve. Don't miss a trip to the bakery and order some wonderful fresh bread to take home with you. It does lack a guest lounge area though... it has a bar, and two great restaurants (Michael Wignall at Latymer a must for any gastronomes). The bedrooms are all different and well appointed - with silk soft sheets and pillows and duvets to fall into.

Room Tip: Ask for a character bedroom - and choose either closer to the spa or reception depending on your pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianTomlin, General Manager at Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Amanda
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am really glad to hear that you enjoyed experiencing the Latymer and the Spa which is one of the largest in Europe. We are just about to create a wonderful lounge for our guests plus a games room and a private screening room. So when you next come to Pennyhill Park you can enjoy a drink in the Lower Lounge which will be accessed just off of the main reception. Kind regards Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here last weekend. We were celebrating my birthday and booked the ascot afternoon tea. The cakes were beautiful, sandwiches are always the same at any afternoon tea (egg, cream cheese, chicken and salmon) although I was pleased to see real salmon rather then flaked which I got once at a previous 5* hotel. The hotel itself is beautiful and the staff on reception are very friendly and helpful especially a lovely brunette haired lady (sorry I don't know her name!) we stayed in a lovely room, massive bathroom with a tv built into the wall. On arrived to the room , the thoughtful staff had left a birthday cake off me which was a great touch. The spa is amazing, huge spa. Very clean and great that they have water for you to drink everywhere, even lemon water. The ballroom pool is special, it's lit beautifully and even has underwater music. You could easily spend all day at the spa, especially as they have a cafe there too! Be sure to order complementary milk and homemade cookies! Only little niggle there was they gave a VERY small amount of milk but the cookies were delicious. Breakfast was great, the room it's served in is past the ascot bar/lounge and has views over the spa. You can have anything from full English, fruit, yogurt to waffles, pancakes or smoked salmon! I would recommend this hotel 100 times over and am looking forward to coming back! Also before I forget, it's great that the hotel has a book library where you can borrow DVDs (£20 deposit Is taken incase you loose it) and you can order a sweet tray (£7) it had a macaroon, few homemade jelly sweets, few truffles and nougat. Great idea but not enough there for £7 but all tasted lovely. Don't forget the £4 tray charge too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pinkvintagerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianTomlin, General Manager at Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. It sounds like you made great use of all of the facilities we have across the resort in the Spa and in the hotel restaurants. Thank you for your comment regarding the sweet tray, I will ensure that this is reviewed by our food and beverage team. I hope that you will have the opportunity to return to us again soon. Kind regards Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I visited this superb hotel at the end of August. We did not make use of the spa but found this hotel to be pretty special ...the accommodation was fabulous, the Brasserie which we ate at was super...wonderful food..and generally the service was exceptional from front desk , Concierge group etc. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yveline Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianTomlin, General Manager at Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Yveline
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that next time you are in the UK that you come back and try the wonderful Spa. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bagshot
8.3 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
10.3 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
7.5 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa

Property: Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Address: London Road, Bagshot GU19 5EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Bagshot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bagshot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pennyhill Park is a magnificent country house hotel in Bagshot, Surrey, set amongst 123 acres of gardens and parkland including a 9 hole golf course. This five-star luxury hotel offers everything from unmatchable luxury spa breaks and treatments, afternoon tea in the Ascot Bar, lunch and dinner in The Brasserie and is a perfect venue for weddings, conferences and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pennyhill Park Hotel And The Bagshot
Pennyhill Park Hotel And Country
Pennyhill Park, An Exclusive Hotel & Spa Bagshot, England - Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing