We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food !”

Restaurant Gilmore at Strine's Farm
Price range: $90 - $90
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Staffs. UK.
Level 6 Contributor
676 reviews
493 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Great Food !”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have read about this restaurant and visited with my wife to judge for myself. Thanks to satnav, managed to find it, as it is a bit off the beaten track !.
The ambience is homely, and there is a professional air about the whole thing.
So in pleasant surroundings, we sat and waited for the food...................... we were not disappointed, the food is excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed all three courses - it really is worth visiting, and we were impressed with nearly everything.
We really enjoyed the experience, so no complaints but there are a couple of things that I think would make a brilliant restaurant even better ! Firstly this was our first visit ( won't be the last !) and arriving in the dark, although there were lights dotted around the paths, there seems to be no signage - we initially walked around the back of the building looking for a way in.
Secondly the charge of £4.80 for a bottle of water only serves to niggle customers ( not just me - I overheard the people on the next table express surprise)- the food is so good you could easily charge more for the food and less for the water !

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank richardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    11
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
2 reviews
“Yummy”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Lovely food in a great setting. When you eat here prepare to relax and spend a long evening eating. It has been sometime since we were last here, but I would certainly go again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Outstanding”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

You must visit Strine's Farm, it is fantastic. You are welcomed at the door and immediately made to feel at home. There is plenty of space between all the tables and the ambience is relaxed. The food is beautiful. It not only looks amazing, BUT it tastes even better. We ended up trying each others as it was all 1st class. They clearly use only the best produce and it is all fresh and cooked to order. The table is yours for as long as you want it, you are not rushed at all. We will certainly visit again and again and again. Italian night soon ............

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lives up to the reviews”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Went on Saturday for my wedding anniversary. Very civilised, high standards. Don't expect to rush though - everything is cooked from scratch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wow - yet another great meal!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

A delightful country restaurant in a peaceful setting which we have visited many times. Service here is absolutely top class, Dee never fails to make everyone feel welcome and special. The separate cosy diny rooms make for an evening that can be as private or as gregarious as you wish. The food always delights. If you want pre-cooked 'fast' food don't come here - the quality of the food lies in its local origins, Paul's superb culinary skill and the fact that everything is freshly cooked to order. The wine list is comprehensive and, unlike many restaurants, not outrageously expensive. You can choose between a three or a five course menu and every course was packed full of flavour. On our last visit my husband had the duckling which was simply exquisite, the accompanying croquettes were absolutely zinging with flavour. Downsides? None.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve and Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Gilmore at Strine's Farm also viewed

Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
 
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
Stramshall, Uttoxeter
 
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing