We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay as good as the first...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meadows Way Guest House
Ranked #3 of 8 Uttoxeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is my second stay at Oldroyd. As before (2011) the room was spotlessly clean and well equipped (more towels than I needed, extra cushions and chocolates as well as biscuits). Staff are friendly and welcoming, and there are flower tubs around the car park! Excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoannaON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldroydguesthouse, Owner at Meadows Way Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Hi ..

Firstly, can I offer you our thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review ... It was our pleasure to welcome you back to Oldroyd Guest House and It is realy nice to know that our efforts are appreciated..

We do encourage our guests to write an honest review and we are very pleased that you once again you enjoyed your stay with us ..

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future

Once again Very many thanks

Jim and all the staff at Oldroyd Guest House
Uttoxeter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 358 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed 4 nights as needed to be near Uttoxeter Racecourse. Excellent situation, warm welcome, very clean, comfortable room, good breakfast. Only a short walk to racecourse, shops and town centre. Good centre for trips out, local bus and train service if you don't wish to drive. Oldroyd was just what I wanted and looked after me very well indeed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldroydguesthouse, Owner at Meadows Way Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Hi .. Firstly can I offer you our heartfelt thanks for writing such and good and honest review..

We are very pleasing to that we have made a very good impression We do try very hard to see that every guest has a good experience whilst staying with us ..

Our location is a big plus and the town of Uttoxeter has a lot to offer

I am glad that your visit to Uttoxeter Race Course went well and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future

Once again Very many thanks

Jim "B"
Owner Oldroyd Guest House
Uttoxeter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I had the great pleasure of staying at the Oldroyd FOR A WHOLE MONTH (!!!) whilst in between houses. It was without doubt the best B&B I have ever stayed in.
It is a family run establishment with at least 14 rooms; central to everywhere in that area (the A50 joining the M1 to the M6 is only a few minutes away) yet peaceful and hassle free.
After spending the night in a lovely warm room on an excellent double bed (and with double wardrobe, drawers, desk and chair) and with the added comforts of a fast (and proper sized) kettle, full en-suite (with shower) facilites, and a flat screen TV with remote; one is welcomed each morning into the quaint and thoroughly pleasant dining room (and with your OWN table - no embarrassing sharing) and served THE MOST BEAUTIFUL BREAKFAST anyone could possibly desire !!!
Plenty of parking space, amazing flower border display and every member of staff is warm, friendly and helpful.
Oh and the price? Superb value for money !!!
One could not ask for more !!!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !!!
Robert - Room 15 - 14th Feb - 16th March, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertEWilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldroydguesthouse, Owner at Meadows Way Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Well .. What can I say ... I am almost embarrassed ... At Oldroyd Guest House we only ask that our guests write an honest review and we are always very pleased when we get a review such as yours .....

So on behalf of myself and all of the staff at Oldroyd Guest House thank you for writing such a wonderfull review, It was a pleasure to look after you and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us...

Once again Very many thanks

Jim "B"
Owner Oldroyd Guest House Uttoxeter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed her overnight having been to Uttoxeter races. The place is superbly located, 2 minutes walk from the railway station / racecourse and less than 5 minutes into the Town Centre.

The staff / owner were extremely welcoming, the rooms spotless and well equipped and a decent breakfast.

Great value, and would certainly return here when in Uttoxeter.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldroydguesthouse, Owner at Meadows Way Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

We are very pleasing to see that we have made a very good impression We do try very hard to see that every guest has a good experience whilst staying with us ..

Our location is a big plus and the town of Uttoxeter has a lot to offer

I am glad that your trip to Alton towers went well and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future

Once again Very many thanks

Jim "B"
Owner Oldroyd Guest House
Uttoxeter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We selected this Guest House for its location near to Alton Towers. We were not disapointed with are choice. Very friendly staff, rooms clean, great breakfast and helpful owner. Would recommend to any family party.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonyW36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldroydguesthouse, Owner at Meadows Way Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Firstly, can I offer you our thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review ... It is realy nice to know that our efforts are appreciated..

We do encourage our guests to write an honest review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay ay Oldroyd Guest House ..

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future

Once again Very many thanks

Jim and all the staff at Oldroyd Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I use the Oldroyd whenever I travel to Uttoxeter as it is cheaper than driving back and forth to ny home. the accomodation is comfortable, the service is friendly and the breakfasts are a delight. Very good value for money either as a business guest a family on a budget

Room Tip: Rooms on the back have less morning traffic noise - if you want a lie in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkLL35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldroydguesthouse, Owner at Meadows Way Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Very many thanks for taking the time to write such a good review ... It is always nice to know that our efforts are appriciated ..

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future ...

Once again Very Many Thanks

Jim "B"
Owner Oldroyd Guest House
Uttoxeter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Cozy and friendly bed and breakfast - good central location. Rooms were fine and we both slept well in our two rooms. Breakfast adequate. Good value for money with very helpful and friendly staff. Nothing negative to say at all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 777Derek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldroydguesthouse, Owner at Meadows Way Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

On behalf of myself and all the staff at Oldroyd Guest House. Very many thanks for your kind words .. It is nice to be appreciated

We do encourage our guests to write an honest review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay ay Oldroyd Guest House and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future

Once again Very many thanks

Jim and all the staff at Oldroyd Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uttoxeter
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uttoxeter
184 reviews
4.5 mi away
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draycott in the Clay
386 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
0.1 mi away
Bank House Hotel
Bank House Hotel
#7 of 8 in Uttoxeter
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lanes Guest House
Lanes Guest House
#1 of 8 in Uttoxeter
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadows Way Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadows Way Guest House

Address: 18-22 Bridge Street, Uttoxeter ST14 8AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Uttoxeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Uttoxeter
Price Range: $85 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and very comfortable Award winning Guest House, set in the lovely market town of Uttoxeter, Ideally situated for Alton Towers, The Uttoxeter Racecourse, The Staffordshire Showground, The National Football Facility and the Derbyshire Peak District. With 14 fully en-suite rooms, free internet and plenty of safe off road parking. We pride ourselves on our friendly service and our renowned full English Breakfast. You are assured of a friendly welcome and a comfortable stay at Meadows Way Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Meadows Way Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadows Way Guest House Uttoxeter, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing