We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for Money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meadows Way Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Meadows Way Guest House
Ranked #2 of 10 Uttoxeter B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel after booking a 2 day ticket at Alton Towers for half term. As there are 5 of us I often have difficulty in finding rooms to accomodate us all and was pleased to find this hotel at a reasonable rate. The hotel was very clean, the staff friendly and the breakfast lovely. The beds were very comfortable and my daughter was especially pleased as we all had 2 pillows (easliy pleased!) as so often there is only 1 provided and we end up propping up with towels and the room was spacious with en-suite. There was wi-fi to please the kids and a big tv/dvd player to please the hubbie. The hotel is only a 20 min trip from Alton Towers and has it own car park which makes things easier. It is very near to the races and we will probably book in here again for a day at the races. Would definitely recommend and come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldroydguesthouse, Owner at Meadows Way Guest House, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Very many thanks for your lovely review ... We always encourage our guests to be honest about us and our facilities and of course the way that we treat our customers ..

Uttoxeter has a lot to offer and as you have said our location is ideal for both the Uttoxeter Race Course and the Town Center ... We always try to help our customers wherever and however we can and we will be very happy to welcome you back to Oldroyd Guest House in the future

Thank you once again

Jim "B" (Owner)
Oldroyd Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    76
    21
    8
    9
See reviews for
90
99
29
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tring, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night, prior to a visit to Alton Towers. We found the room very clean and had a great nights sleep on very comfortable beds. Staff were friendly and nothing seemed to be too much trouble, they went out of their way to make our 5 year old feel welcome and special which was a nice touch. Breakfast was excellent and a full vegetarian English option was also available - perfect! Would definitely recommend and use again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldroydguesthouse, Owner at Meadows Way Guest House, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Very many thanks for your lovely review ... We always encourage our guests to be honest about us and our facilities and of course the way that we treat our customers ..

We always try to help our customers wherever and however we can and we will be very happy to welcome you back to Oldroyd Guest House in the future

Thank you once again

Jim "B" (Owner)
Oldroyd Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Plenty of parking, friendly welcome, room outside in carpark, very floral room with en suite, reminded me of my nans front room 30 years ago, flowers galore, dated but clean. Decent bed slept well, the shower was a good one with plenty of power, breakfast room clean and tidy, asked for brown toast, they didn't have any, not the end of the world, just had cereal and went, Not the best place I've stayed. But it doesn't pretend to be something it's not, everything worked as it should and it was clean, enough said..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saywhatisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldroydguesthouse, Owner at Meadows Way Guest House, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Very many thanks for your review .. I find it very interesting to study how people differ .. and how the expectation of one guest is so different from anothers, for what is dated and basic for one guest is top class for another ..

We are a 3 star guest house with a good reputation for providing reasonable quality family accommodation, for offering a good friendly service and value for money prices .. We have no delusions of grandure and we are fully aware that we are a million miles away from being a 5 Star Hotel ..But over the last two years we have spent over £100k on re-vamping, re-decorating and renewing the furnishings and fittings in our bedrooms and public areas .. We still have some way to go and of course there is always plenty of room for improvement .. But we do try wherever we can to make sure that every guest is treated as someone special ..

I am pleased that you slept well

Once again very many thanks

Jim "B"
Owner Oldroyd Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night after going to the races, which happens to be on the doorstop of The Oldroyd! When I booked the room I contacted the owner Jim to ask if we could park our car a little earlier than they were expecting us and he promptly replied granting our request and also inviting us to check in early if our room was ready for us, which it was. All the staff were a friendly bunch and Jim even offered to lend us his wheelbarrow to bring back our winnings! (unfortunately we didn't need use of this) As we are a family of 2 adults and 3 children we were put in room 12 which is one of the attic bedrooms but don't be put off by being up in the rafters, the room is really comfortable and we didn't have any trouble finding space for belongings. It has a double bed (sooo comfy), a single bed and bunk beds. The freeview telly was a decent size and has a built in dvd player and a selection of films are available. We all has nice hot showers in the morning. We were supplied with massive fluffy towels and the quilts and pillows were top quality. The breakfast room was spacious and the food was again top quality. Even though we all ordered different breakfasts, it all was cooked to perfection. We wouldn't even consider trying a different B&B when we visit Uttoxeter again! The Oldroyd is definitely the place to stay!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTownsend5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldroydguesthouse, Owner at Meadows Way Guest House, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Well .. What can I say ... I am almost embarrassed ... At Oldroyd Guest House we only ask that our guests write an honest review and we are always very pleased when we get a review such as yours .....

So on behalf of myself and all of the staff at Oldroyd Guest House thank you for writing such a wonderfull review, We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon

Once again Very many thanks

Jim "B"
Owner Oldroyd Guest House Uttoxeter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I'm actually sitting here eating my full English at the Oldroyd and I just have to say what a lovely hotel.
I booked last minute and will admit was a little dubious as it seemed such good value for money - is it all too good to be true ?
But no, I actually arrived early yesterday and was quickly checked in so I could pop my bags in my room and then go for a walk around whilst they finished off cleaning.
Uttoxeter itself is small and not having a car with me there was not much I could access but from what I could gather there is lots to do the local, such as Alton towers and Drayton manor which are only a short drive away, and there is a 24hr Tesco/ cinema/ Frankie and Bennys and a KFC practically on the guesthouse doorstep.
The rooms are clean and the perfect size. The staff are lovely and I would totally recommend the full English in the morning :).
There is also TV/DVD and wifi in every room which is very handy :)
All in all I've had a lovely stay and totally recommend this little hotel to anyone :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hb12792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldroydguesthouse, Owner at Meadows Way Guest House, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Well .. What can I say ... I am almost embarrassed by your lovely review ..

We try at Oldroyd Guest House to make all our guests feel as welcome as they in their own homes .. We also try to give good service and to provide good quality, clean accomodation at a reasonable price ... and it is nice to hear that our efforts are appreciated ..

Uttoxeter is a lovely little market town with a lot going for it .. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Once again Very many thanks

Jim Butterworth
Owner Oldroyd Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Isle of Man
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

A real treat...a great place to stay which was excellent value for money, in a very convenient location, within walking distance of the racecourse, train station and town centre. Excellent parking facilities and very clean & well decorated rooms. Friendly and accommodating staff. My compliments to Jim and his team.

Room Tip: Book early !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gavin_blackwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldroydguesthouse, Owner at Meadows Way Guest House, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Firstly, can I offer you our thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review ... It is realy nice to know that our efforts are appreciated..

We do encourage our guests to write an honest review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay ay Oldroyd Guest House ..

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future

Once again Very many thanks

Jim and all the staff at Oldroyd Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here for a night in the October half term to visit Alton towers. The guest house is close to the station and the bus to Alton towers stops over the road which was great as we travelled by train. If you are coming by car there's a car park and I'd take you about 15 minutes to drive to Alton towers. We were greeted and made to feel welcome when we arrived. There was five of us do e booked the family room. The room was nice and comfy we slept well and were able to borrow DVDs to watch. When we went down for breakfast we were greeted by a lovely man who couldn't do enough for us. He served us a delicious cooked breakfast and there were cereals.
In the immediate area there are lots of takeaways a tesco cinema and restaurants.
I would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miss f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldroydguesthouse, Manager at Meadows Way Guest House, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
On behalf of myself and all the staff at Oldroyd Guest House. Very many thanks for your kind words .. It is nice to be appreciated

We do encourage our guests to write an honest review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay ay Oldroyd Guest House and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future

Once again Very many thanks

Jim and all the staff at Oldroyd Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uttoxeter
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uttoxeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
4.5 mi away
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draycott in the Clay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bank House Hotel
Bank House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Uttoxeter
3.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadows Way Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadows Way Guest House

Property: Meadows Way Guest House
Address: 18-22 Bridge Street, Uttoxeter ST14 8AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Uttoxeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Uttoxeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and very comfortable Award winning Guest House & Spa, set in the lovely market town of Uttoxeter, Ideally situated for Alton Towers, The Uttoxeter Racecourse, The Staffordshire Showground, The National Football Facility and the Derbyshire Peak District .. With 14 fully en-suite rooms, free internet and plenty of safe off road parking...We pride ourselves on our friendly service and our renowned full English Breakfast.. You can also enjoy our fabulous new Spa facilities set in a Swiss Style log cabin and featuring a huge Hyrdo Massage Hot Tub ..You are assured of a friendly welcome and a comfortable stay at Oldroyd Guest House & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Meadows Way Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadows Way Guest House Uttoxeter, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing