We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Saturday night ”

The Dog and Partridge
Ranked #2 of 71 Restaurants in Uttoxeter
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Dog and Partridge, Traditional Pub and Dining, in the delightful village of Marchington, Staffordshire. Fantastic food, drink and a superb relaxed atmosphere. The pub has a rich and colourful history dating back to the Georgian era, bursting with character and our friendly staff will always make you feel at home. There is a delicious selection of wines, spirits and beers including locally brewed real ales and fresh, delicious meals all made using the highest quality produce. We can take bookings for up to 50 people if attending local attractions like Uttoxeter Races and Alton Towers - please book in advance. Opening hours: Monday - Thursday: 12 noon - 3pm & then 6pm - 11pm Every Wednesday is Steak & Wine night offering Steak and a Glass of Wine from only £12.95 Fridays: 12noon - 3pm & then 5pm - Midnight Saturdays: Open all day from 12 noon - Midnight. Sundays: Open all day from 12pm with Sunday Lunch served until 4pm. Sunday Music Club from 5 pm. Please have a look at our delicious menu and give us a call to reserve a table. We also offer free Wifi!
Reviewed October 28, 2017 via mobile

Really nice friendly atmosphere the food was lovely. Our party had 5 different dishes and each one was a joy.
A certain return everybody loved it
I think a Sunday dinner is definitely on the cards

Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olivetreeburton, Owner at The Dog and Partridge, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2017

Thanks for taking the time to submit a review Chris. Delighted you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you for Sunday lunch!

Best wishes

Paul and Becks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 107 of 772 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2017

Meal was really lovely and the service was great. Huge menu choice in terms of food as well so even someone who is as fussy as I am ended up being spoilt for choice. Service was great - staff attentive but not at all pushy.
If you are Gin drinker you will love this place - they have a gin menu - and apparently add new ones to this on a regular basis - also tried the elderflower tonic with a non flavoured gin and loved it really lovely.
We had an early dinner for a group of friends and by the time we finished the bar and restaurant was exceptionally busy so would definitely recommend booking in advance
Overall a lovely evening, good food, great gin choice and lovely atmosphere

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank glennrusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olivetreeburton, Owner at The Dog and Partridge, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2017

Thanks Glenn, really good to see you all at the D&P and we're already looking forward to your next visit!

Paul and Becks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile

12 of our walking group had lunch here. As walk leader I recieved "brownie" points for my choice!
What a great place. Although we arrived a little later than planned due to upteen overgrown stiles we were made very welcome and enjoyed an excellent good value lunch. Beer was great too! I have been requested to do another walk in this area. I wonder why ? !!

1  Thank BORIS187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olivetreeburton, Owner at The Dog and Partridge, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2017

Thanks Boris, really pleased that we were instrumental in helping you to earn 'brownie' points :) We very much look forward to welcoming you all again when you organise your next walk.

Kind regards

Paul N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017

Great food, well prepared and loads of local character - well worth diverting off the hectic A50. Marchington is a haven just outside Uttoxeter

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olivetreeburton, Owner at The Dog and Partridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2017

Dear Mark T thanks so much for your review and for pointing other prospective customers to the Dog & Partridge in Marchington. We are just a few minutes away from the A50 and located in a very pretty village. All of our food is cooked freshly to order and it is great to know that it is appreciated.

Best wishes

Paul N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

The carver meal we had was very filling , a Great selection of vegetables to go with generous portions of either beef chicken or pork
with a nice atmosphere added we had a very nice experience

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank trevor a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olivetreeburton, Owner at The Dog and Partridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2017

Dear trevor a

I think you have reviewed the wrong Dog and Partridge (there are three others in the area). We are the Dog & Partridge in the village of Marchington and we do not offer a carvery and therefore, you may want to repost your review to the correct restaurant.

Kind regards

Paul N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dog and Partridge also viewed

Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
 
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
 
 

Been to The Dog and Partridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing