We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and real ale in a traditional country pub”

The Dog and Partridge
Ranked #1 of 65 Restaurants in Uttoxeter
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Dog and Partridge, Traditional Pub and Dining, in the delightful village of Marchington, Staffordshire. Fantastic food, drink and a superb relaxed atmosphere. The pub has a rich and colourful history dating back to the Georgian era, bursting with character and our friendly staff will always make you feel at home. There is a delicious selection of wines, spirits and beers including locally brewed real ales and fresh, delicious meals all made using the highest quality produce. We can take bookings for up to 50 people if attending local attractions like Uttoxeter Races and Alton Towers - please book in advance. Opening hours: Monday - Thursday: 12 noon - 3pm & then 6pm - 11pm Every Wednesday is Steak & Wine night offering Steak and a Glass of Wine from only £12.95 Fridays: 12noon - 3pm & then 5pm - Midnight Saturdays: Open all day from 12 noon - Midnight. Sundays: Open all day from 12pm with Sunday Lunch served until 4pm. Sunday Music Club from 5 pm. Please have a look at our delicious menu and give us a call to reserve a table. We also offer free Wifi!
Staffordshire Uk
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food and real ale in a traditional country pub”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We have visited the D&P several times and the quality of the food and beverage is consistently high. The chef delivers wholesome and original home made food, in good sized portions, so you will not go home hungry! There is always three very well kept real ales on offer, and a good selection of great value wines. If you are in the area you should give this pub a try. We will be returning regularly!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MickMJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    122
    25
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A hidden delight”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Marchington isn't the sort of place you're likely to stumble across by accident, but if you're a lover of country pubs with excellent food then it's worth making the effort to visit the Dog & Partridge. Apparently there's been a change of ownership this summer, with the licensee from the equally well regarded Unicorn at Newton Solney taking over. It looks like he's brought his chef with him too. We had a lovely Sunday lunch with a very nice red wine. Don't expect bargain basement prices but the choice and quality on the menu seem excellent. Only a shame that we didn't have enough time to take advantage of the loyalty card (buy 8 pints, get one free!).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestJohnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great wlecome & food”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Called in on spec, lovey log fires, warm welcome, and great food. Strongbow on draught could not get any better. Will definatley return to try something else from the specials board.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chris21cask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely country inn and restaurant”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Have to agree with the previous reviews. The Dog and Partridge is a lovely country inn/restaurant in a pretty village about 4 miles outside of Uttoxeter. Our meal was beautifully presented and delicious. The puddings are home-made and I had raspberry roulade whilst my partner tucked into an ample serving of Bakewell tart with custard. Large selection of wines on offer and if you love real ales, there’s an impressive array to choose from. The bill was far lower than we anticipated given the high quality food and service. The place was warm, cosy and very welcoming. We will definitely visit again and if you are in the area I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cookie819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy country pub”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Visited on Saturday evening and had a fantastic time. Perfect country setting, nice and cosy inside. Sat and had drinks at the bar and were made to feel very welcome. Moved to a lovely table and had an excellent evening the food was amazing, I had venison off the specials board and it was to die for, the staff were brilliant and very friendly. We will definitely be returning on a regular basis.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank atbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dog and Partridge also viewed

Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
 
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Dog and Partridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing