We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely terrible!”
Review of Bank House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bank House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Uttoxeter B&B and Inns
midlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely terrible!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I ate in the Thai restaurant last week with my friend. It was absolutely terrible.
The restaurant lacks reasonable decor of any description and looks like a shabby back street cafe, it also had a really bad smell too. The waitress didn't look like one at all. She was dressed in a thick coat with a furry hood which remained zipped up for the entire time we were there, although it was not cold. Our food was disgusting and inedible, nothing like Thai at all and my friend's meal was not as described on the menu - lacking ingredients. They couldn't even get the drink right . I ordered a diet coke and it tasted like soda water. We told the waitress that it was terrible and she laughed it off.
Totally disgusting. We ended up sitting in the chippy at the top of the high street and their chips were great!
My advice? Go hungry rather than eat here!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lotsofholsMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    32
    29
    13
    26
See reviews for
22
48
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Had a Thai meal here with a Groupon deal (£14.00 for two). The meal was worth £7.00 each but wouldnt have wanted to pay full price as it was nothing special. The restaurant lacked atmosphere and the music was mind numbing as there was only one track that played on a loop throughout our meal. Staff were friendly but numbers on menu had to be given rather than just asking for the meal option? Not a very big menu either but managed to find something that would suffice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We have stayed several times now at the bank house, and have enjoyed each visit , even though some of the four posters are ever so squeaky !
Some of the staff could do with some lessons in manners , but over all a really good stay,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirah2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We spent a lovely weekend at this hotel, Mary could not do enough for us to make our stay more enjoyable, we had a lovely meal in the Thai restaurant, we then moved to a private area where we could have a good old knees up singing our favorite songs, I'm sure Mary remembers our rendition of 8 days a week!!

Thank you all & see you next year

Kindest regards, Steve

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swoolford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Dead flies between window & secondary glazing even though prob 6inch gap so easy to clean - mouldy ceiling round shower - carpet all marked and dirty flooring around toilet raised and coming apart through damp ? Curtains looked like been up for 20 years never been washed - 2 windows but only able to one one - this is room 6 - should be priced at £25 a night for desperate people ? DO NOT STAY HERE

Room Tip: Go to high view cottage
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunston Heath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Uttoxeter hotels

Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

If you need a reasonably priced stop over and aren't expecting to be wowed then this is fine.

Good car park
Good bar
Good staff
Good laundry
Good cleanliness

Improvement needed to dated bathroom
No hair dryer - but delivered when asked for
No room telephone to contact reception

Two unused doorways in room-one joined onto another room and made soundproofing very poor!! Also woke up by guests banging on front door at midnight.
Breakfast expensively priced at £8 so we ate out both mornings and Thai restaurant isn't to our taste so ate out both evenings.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KevKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as it was close to Alton Towers for our visit there. We had it on a room only basis and basically we only slept here. Bed was comfortable enough and the room was tidy, clean and felt fresh. Been in some hotels in old buildings and felt that nothing had been decorated in centuries. Not here though. The shower was a bit temperamental it was either very hot or cold from one moment to the next, but we used the bath instead and this ran quickly both at night and in the morning, providing us with plenty of hot water.
Overall we were happy with what we had.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notimpressed72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uttoxeter
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uttoxeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
10.6 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draycott in the Clay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meadows Way Guest House
Meadows Way Guest House
#2 of 8 in Uttoxeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hare & Hounds Inn
Hare & Hounds Inn
#1 of 1 in Stramshall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank House Hotel

Property: Bank House Hotel
Address: Church Street, Uttoxeter ST14 8AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Uttoxeter
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Uttoxeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bank House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a central location in the historic town of Uttoxeter, just 20 minutes from Stoke on Trent, this charming Georgian-era Hotel offers free Wi-Fi access and secure on-site parking.The property was built in 1777 and served as the first bank in Uttoxeter. To this day the Hotel still retains many of its original features, such as the bank vault and a beautiful unsupported oak staircase. With friendly staff and a thoroughly warm welcome, it’s the perfect base from which to explore the area.Each of the 17 en-suite bedrooms are individually styled and furnished. Emphasising both comfort and relaxation, they all include free Wi-Fi access, TV, cosy bedding, telephone and tea & coffee making facilities. Double, Twin and Family options are available and for those seeking a touch of added luxury, they also offer elegant four poster rooms.Although the Hotel does not have its own restaurant, the delectable ‘Thai at The Bank’ has set up home in the Hotel, offering freshly prepared, authentic Thai food served in a welcoming atmosphere.The Hotel is located in the town of Uttoxeter, just a 25 minute drive from Junction 14 off the M6. Convenient and accessible, it is just 20 minutes from Stoke-on-Trent, 30 minutes from Derby and 45 minutes from Nottingham. Each city has excellent transport links and there is also a local train station at Uttoxeter, just a brief walk from the Hotel. For those flying in, East Midlands International Airport is just a little over a 30 minute drive away.The town of Uttoxeter is perfectly positioned to make the most of all that the surrounding area has to offer. The town itself is home to the famous Uttoxeter Racecourse, just a 10 minute walk from the Hotel. The vibrant city of Derby offers a fine cathedral, the fabulous Westfield Shopping Centre and some of the best real-ale houses in Britain. Whilst Stoke-on-Trent, renowned as the World Capital of Ceramics, offers over 25 pottery factory shops as well as a wonderful selection of award-winning museums and visitor centres. For outdoor enthusiasts, the Staffordshire Moorlands provides excellent walking and beautiful scenery. There are also plenty of nearby historic attractions including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and Tutbury Castle. For unparalleled family fun, escape to Alton Towers, Britain’s most popular theme park. With its adrenaline fuelled rides, blockbusting attractions, amazing live shows and scenic gardens, there is something for everyone to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Bank House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank House Hotel Uttoxeter, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing