We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, nice staff, great price!”
Review of Bank House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bank House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Uttoxeter B&B and Inns
Watford
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, nice staff, great price!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Myself, wife and two kids stayed here as part of a two day trip to nearby Alton Towers. We found the hotel through an online discount site and booked a family room for only £50.

After a great day at the theme park, the hotel was only a few miles away and easy to find. The car park is a little more tricky to find as you have to enter it via the main shopping car park. That said, plenty of room as the hotel was quiet.

The hotel itself is a little old but shows the character of the bank that was there before it. The staff were all very friendly, courteous and efficient. We were shown to our room after checking in and it was a really good size. The kids beds were in a separate area to the main bedroom with a door to close them off allowing us to watch TV in peace. The bathroom was off the main room and was big and clean as were the towels (plenty of these) and bed linen.

We had a couple of drinks in the bar before bed and slept soundly. We didnt eat in the hotel as already had plans elsewhere.

Overall, very satisfied with the hotel and a real bargain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambulancematt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    32
    30
    13
    28
See reviews for
22
49
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel about 6 years ago, but unfortunatly since then the hotel has become very tired, and in need to a refurbishment. The carpets are stained and the curtains are thin and do not fit the windows, the beds really could do with replacing as well although sheets are clean and crisp, the electric shower was a no go if honest ! a little trickle but that wasnt really a problem as the room had a bath aswell.
We booked three rooms Room 1, being of the better having a four poster bed, but unfortunatly it also has a very flimsy interconnecting door.. which caused a sleepless night !!! however the owners where very nice and understanding and did not charge us for that room.
The hotel is in a very good location in the middle of town , and like previous reviews have stated yes the church bells do chime throughout the night , but not a fault of the hotel !
Breakfast was nice and the staff where polite and very helpful, we stayed whilst on a trip upto Alton Towers which is a very easy 15 - 20 min drive away. Its a shame the resturant in the hotel has changed from english to a Thai and although it looked nice enough we didnt eat in there. We parked the car in the carpark out the back and entered the hotel via the rear of the hotel and had to wiggle our way with bags past people smoking and an over spilling ashtray mounted to the wall. It wouldnt take much to turn this beautiful old building full of charm into a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonzzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Est Sussex, England
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip. Ideal location in the middle of town. The room was clean but in dire need of refurbishment, the carpet was stained and the drawers had handles missing, it was also the creekiest bed I've ever slept in. having said that the staff were very friendly and helpful, and even though I was on a room only rate they were happy to cook me a breakfast free of charge, a very nice touch. One other thing to take into account, the hotel is right next to the main church which has a clock and chimes loudly every half hour!

Room Tip: only stayed in the one room, not sure about the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick_Cox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, Essex.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We have just returned from weekend at Alton Towers, this hotel is ideal, about 20 min drive away. We booked 3 rooms for family. I was worried after reading some of the reviews on trip advisor, but we were all pleasantly surprised. Yes, it is slightly tired building , but it is old and I think this adds to the character. Our rooms were huge, all with four poster beds and we had a corner bath & shower en-suite. The staff were very friendly & helpful. We didnt have our evening meal here, but breakfast was good and very quick service considering how full the hotel was. Hotel is right in middle of Uttoxeter and handy for everything. We found the car park easily, contrary to some of the reviews we read ! All in all, it is very clean & comfortable and well worth the money, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelseaBoy349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

stayed here for the acoustic festival in may 2012 and 2011!
it's a old and slightly tired building, but the location and convenience makes up for it.
the staff are very laid back - and pat has a dry wit, so don't get caught out.
i stopped in room 8, which a perfect family room, sleeps 5. bathroom space is ample, so why it only has a tiny shower cubicle...
it's a peaceful room, albeit the church rings out every 15mins, but it's nice for a city boy like me.
breakfast - part help yourself/part service. not sure how far they go with a warm breakfast other than an 'english' - but that's very good.
the hotel has it's own bar, which the locals use.
uttoxeter is a nice market town. it has all the conveniences you require. the rail station sits alongside the horse race course, and is a pleasant walk to the hotel, but if you have a lot of luggage, you might want to pre-order a taxi.
if i ever visit uttoxeter again, i'll be sure to stay there again.

Room Tip: room 8 sleeps 5, x2 double beds and a single. thought the bathroom is small in comparison.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank no1mav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed here for one night. The beds are as old as the building, showers that fall off the wall when not turned on and creaking floorboards all over. We arrived late so ate in the hotel, which was a bad decision most of the menu was sold out, the steak that was on the menu was as tough as old boots, You have been warned!

Room Tip: Go Elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Uttoxeter hotels

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night as part of a group and found the hotel to be nice, clean and tidy.

The welcome wasn't great however, as the first thing we were told, was that they thought we wouldn't be coming, even though at the time of the booking I had made it clear that we would be at Alton Towers for the day. Agree with others that the car park should be signposted better.

However breakfast was fine and every one thought that the hotel was fine for our needs and convenient for the town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexPianist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uttoxeter
4.6 mi away
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draycott in the Clay
354 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
0.1 mi away
Meadows Way Guest House
Meadows Way Guest House
#3 of 8 in Uttoxeter
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hare & Hounds Inn
Hare & Hounds Inn
#1 of 1 in Stramshall
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uttoxeter
185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank House Hotel

Property: Bank House Hotel
Address: Church Street, Uttoxeter ST14 8AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Uttoxeter
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Uttoxeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bank House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a central location in the historic town of Uttoxeter, just 20 minutes from Stoke on Trent, this charming Georgian-era Hotel offers free Wi-Fi access and secure on-site parking.The property was built in 1777 and served as the first bank in Uttoxeter. To this day the Hotel still retains many of its original features, such as the bank vault and a beautiful unsupported oak staircase. With friendly staff and a thoroughly warm welcome, it’s the perfect base from which to explore the area.Each of the 17 en-suite bedrooms are individually styled and furnished. Emphasising both comfort and relaxation, they all include free Wi-Fi access, TV, cosy bedding, telephone and tea & coffee making facilities. Double, Twin and Family options are available and for those seeking a touch of added luxury, they also offer elegant four poster rooms.Although the Hotel does not have its own restaurant, the delectable ‘Thai at The Bank’ has set up home in the Hotel, offering freshly prepared, authentic Thai food served in a welcoming atmosphere.The Hotel is located in the town of Uttoxeter, just a 25 minute drive from Junction 14 off the M6. Convenient and accessible, it is just 20 minutes from Stoke-on-Trent, 30 minutes from Derby and 45 minutes from Nottingham. Each city has excellent transport links and there is also a local train station at Uttoxeter, just a brief walk from the Hotel. For those flying in, East Midlands International Airport is just a little over a 30 minute drive away.The town of Uttoxeter is perfectly positioned to make the most of all that the surrounding area has to offer. The town itself is home to the famous Uttoxeter Racecourse, just a 10 minute walk from the Hotel. The vibrant city of Derby offers a fine cathedral, the fabulous Westfield Shopping Centre and some of the best real-ale houses in Britain. Whilst Stoke-on-Trent, renowned as the World Capital of Ceramics, offers over 25 pottery factory shops as well as a wonderful selection of award-winning museums and visitor centres. For outdoor enthusiasts, the Staffordshire Moorlands provides excellent walking and beautiful scenery. There are also plenty of nearby historic attractions including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and Tutbury Castle. For unparalleled family fun, escape to Alton Towers, Britain’s most popular theme park. With its adrenaline fuelled rides, blockbusting attractions, amazing live shows and scenic gardens, there is something for everyone to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Bank House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank House Hotel Uttoxeter, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing