We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Close to Drayton Manor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Tamworth Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Tamworth Central Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Close to Drayton Manor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed in this Premier inn the night before our day out at Thomas Land Dayton Manor. it is about a 10 minute drive to the park from here and was perfect for what we required. The hotel was clean and well persented and had a place to eat also. Would use again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    183
    62
    20
    14
See reviews for
384
80
19
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

hotel staff were very helpful. room was ok... perhaps a little cramped as a family room. Bed springs were broken, pillows 'flat' and heating was terrible to control.

Restaurant was awful. Two breakfast sittings and they could not get either right. Orders taken were incorrect (apparently a fried egg is the same as a poached egg!) and food was either over or under cooked.

Only one dinner sitting (thank goodness). Again orders taken were incorrect and it took 15 minutes to order a drink. Once we had ordered food it took 45 minutes to serve and then it was wrong and cold. Food was bland and tasteless. Manager disinterested and not bothered in sorting out any issues. They really could not have got it any more wrong.

My suggestion is stay at hotel as good location and drive out to the local restaurants as they must be better than this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foody4Ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Tamworth Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your review.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our restaurant did not meet your expectations.

Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.

Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you once again for your review.

Naina
Social Media Team,

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at this premier inn and cannot fault the hotel at all. Room was lovely and clean and very spacious as was the en suite and the bed was really comfy. We had a travel cot in our room for our son and he had 2 good nights sleep so am guessing that the cot was comfy too. The staff were really friendly, if you needed anything they were happy to help and always asked how you slept or how your day had been.
The only issue we had with our stay was the breakfast at the beefeater restaurant. We didn't realize that if you hadn't booked breakfast you might have to wait as we did for 30 mins as non residents can also have breakfast and for us that was not ideal with a young child. Also the breakfast was not great.
Overall we had a pleasant stay and would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Nothing but compliments from my family for this hotel. Clean, friendly and modern the hotel delivers exactly what is sets out to do. Great location and well set out. Good food at the joining Beefeater with good quality breakfast and evening meal great value. Overall, top stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonnie2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I can't think of anything negative to say about our stay in this hotel. Everything was perfect, the room was clean, the beds comfortable, the tv was large, the heating was perfect, there was no noise and the location was just right for this trip to the Snow Dome and Drayton Mannor. We even walked into Tamworth for a Saturday night meal with our 2 children (3 and 6 years old). The walk only took about 15-20 minutes.

We will definitely be staying here again, and definately use Premier Inn again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WazK224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The first problem with this hotel is finding it! My SatNav has struggled to take me to the door on two seperate occassions as there is no signpost on the roundabout and it hides behind the Beefeater Pub which actually easier to see at night when the sign is illuminated. My rooms was everything you would expect from a Premier Inn, clean but basic and a relatively large comfortable bed. The Restaurant is in the Beefeater Pub next door and as other contributors have already described, struggles to cope when busy. I found the menu was not to my taste and struggled to find something I might enjoy eating but the item I did chose (vegetable pasta with a grilled chicken breast) was actually very nice, but I would have a real problem with the food if I had been staying longer than one night. The staff in the hotel were particularly welcoming and even offered to help me up the stairs with my case (the hotel has no lift). I would stay again but would probably eat out next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed for a weekend to go to the snowdome and visit the castle grounds. The hotel staff were welcoming and the room was comfortable. The restaurant, however, struggled to cope. At breakfast, nothing seemed to be there all at once. If the coffee was there, there was no milk. If the milk arrived, no coffee. Cereals and juices were also never all present. Therefore, a lot of time was spent hanging around by the buffet table, often eventually giving up on whatever I was waiting for. As you pay about £8 a head for this, I expected a bit better. However, the hotel was well situated for the town and snowdome, both a pleasant walk through the lovely castle grounds park, which our 4 year old daughter particularly enjoyed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stellaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamworth hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
1.5 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,423 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Tamworth M42
Travelodge Tamworth M42
#6 of 11 in Tamworth
4.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#7 of 11 in Tamworth
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Tamworth Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Tamworth Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Tamworth Central Hotel
Address: Bonehill Road | Bitterscote, Tamworth B78 3HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tamworth
#4 Family Hotel in Tamworth
#5 Business Hotel in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Tamworth Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drive ten minutes to Drayton Manor Theme Park or make the five minute stroll to Tamworth Castle ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Tamworth Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Tamworth Central Hotel Tamworth
Tamworth Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing