We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small kids will love this place”

Ash End House Children's Farm
Ranked #3 of 34 things to do in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small, family owned childrens farm, which has been operating for over 30 years. We have lots of friendly farm animals, mostly undercover so weather does not cause any problems, we also have The Big Play Barn on site, which is a newly built indoor soft play centre. The Big Play Barn has its owe review page on trip advisor and you can look at their web page and facebook for more info. The farm is Ideal for all visitors who love animals and wish to have close contact with them. Plenty of handwashing facilities, ample free parking and activities throughout the day. The main daily activities include holding a baby chicken and bunny, go on a egg hunt to find a freshly laid egg from the Hen House, sit on the pony or shire horse! We also run the tractor and trailer ride everyday and children get a bucket of feed for the animal (except horses). There are extra activities that we put on thoughout the year and we also put on special events days so look out on facebook page and on our webpage for more info. On our farm we have falconary centre which puts on displays everyday (weather dependant) and we breed our Shire Horses in our Shire Horse Centre. All the activities are included in the farm admission price
west midlands, england
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Small kids will love this place”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have visited here numerous times over the years as my little one was growing up and has become almost a ritual to go at least a few times over the summer. A fantastic chick section that kids adore and a wide variety of freindly animals. Reasonably priced at about a fiver each, on site cafe, all under shelter, the only thing is it wont take you long to get round. As my daughter has grown [11 now] she seems to have grown out of it which is a shame as I have always loved the place and manage to drag a visit out by having the best bacn and egg sandwiches in the world at their cafe before starting off. Go around a couple of times and you can easily see off a long afternoon.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank arewetherenowdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    118
    29
    11
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for kids; but the food...”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This place is a delight for children. The animal range is good; the staff dealing with the children are enthusiastic; and the playground is fun for them. But the canteen is small and the range of food is very limited and singularly unimaginative and if you don't eat pork or ham, there is very little left.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank frank s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“for animal lovers”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is a great place for the kids -and kids at heart. If they like to get involved, feed ,stroke and learn about life in the country. We have been ther twice and would certainly go again. It has a nice little tea room and shop, it isn't an expensive day and is informative as well. Can be a bit tricky to find though.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1janeaki21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place for Children”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Well worth a visit, lots to see and due to small groups there is a lot of interaction, eg sitting on a horse, feeding a goat, holding a chick etc.

Very helpful and enthusiatic staff - even more with new added ball park and additional outdoor play area.

Very good value for money.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hitendra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charging for Adults unfair in Summer holidays”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Have visited the Play Barn about 5 times now, our latest visit today proved to be quite expensive. We found out today that there is now a charge for adults in the summer holidays which seems quite unfair. We do not use the facilities at all, only our son does, today it was very busy and to have to pay to stand up seems ludicrous and unjustifiable, I mentioned it to the staff when we paid and he acknowledged that other people had commented on it too. I am not surprised, it is the first time I have visited a soft play area and been charged to do so when supervising my child. It has put me off visting again and I will look for another play area where the charges seem more fairer.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kvc05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ash End House Children's Farm also viewed

Tamworth, Staffordshire
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 
Tamworth, Staffordshire
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 

Been to Ash End House Children's Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing