We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great treat for the children at christmas”
Review of Drayton Manor Park

Drayton Manor Park
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great treat for the children at christmas”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We visited Thomas land yesterday and we all had a great time. This was our 4th visit to Drayton manor and our children love it there. I was a bit worried when I found out that it was fully booked for this weekend, I thought that it would be really busy and long queues but I had nothing to worry about, we did not wait more than 10 Minutes for any of the rides. There was plenty of places to sit and have a nice hot chocolate under the canopies with the outdoor heaters. We took our own food as we find the food a bit expensive for the four of us but that's to be expected in most theme parks. We were given a time slot to see Father Christmas. We started queuing at 12.45 and we waited around 20 minutes to see him. The children loved seeing him and they were made up with the bell and the booklet that he gave them. I thought that the pictures of the children were a little bit overpriced, there is space for the picture on the booklet that Father Christmas gives the children so it would of been nice if the pictures were given as gifts rather than charge £6 each, that's my only moan.!!!
All the staff were really friendly and helpful.
The children loved the snow and the singing.
We will defiantly return to Drayton manor next year as our children love it there and we always have a fantastic time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mchelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,183
    1,617
    630
    261
    229
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“TOO COLD”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We have been to the Thomas Land Christmas special four times with our Grandson,he loves it.This is the first year we have been given a time to visit Santa.Our time was 3-45 to 4.00 pm. We waited OUTSIDE in the freezing cold 'til 4-45pm.As it was a week day it was not overcrowded,dread to think what the wait would be at a weekend.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Drayton Manor”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

A great place for a great day out. Old or young there is something for every one. Whether it is amusements or just a look at the animals around there. well worth a try.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank bigjohn2_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Magical Christmas experience at Thomas Land”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We visited on December 2nd. The previous Sunday we had attempted to visit but the park was closed due to flooding. (I'd already checked the website prior to leaving and no mention of the park being closed was made!)

We arrived at Drayton Manor at 11am to pick up tickets purchased online. The booths had signs that said the day was sold out, yet once actually inside the park we didn't experience too many major queues, so they had made a good call on numbers.

As soon as you go through the gate, you have to go into a queue to pick up a time to go and see Santa. We were allocated 12:00-12:15, so were able to have a walk around first before going to see Santa. As others have stated, the queue for Santa was unreal. We waited an hour and ten minutes to get in to see him. Once inside the individual grottos are lovely. Try and take a sneaky picture once in there though as you will be charged a minimum of £6 for a photo on your way out! The children were also given a present of a book and a bell to go on the tree. People were moaning that it wasn't a lot, but my 3 year old was happy with it.

Around 3pm, the Big Wheel was opened which was a bonus, as it wasn't scheduled to be operating. We managed every single ride - some twice, with three trips on the Carousel! Queues for the rides were no more than 10 minutes at most - from 5pm, we just walked straight onto most rides.

The largest queue, aside from Santa, was to ride on the Thomas train. We must have waited about half an hour to get on the train. When we did get on it, the journey was only about 200m, to the other side of the park near the zoo. Bit disappointing, but we had a look around the zoo when walking back to the rides. What a depressing zoo! The poor turtles in the reptile house were head butting and trying to climb the glass.

Food from the burger place was ok, hot chocolate from the cafe in Thomas Land was lovely!

The Believe fireworks show was amazing, make sure you stay until the end to experience it.

Although there were a couple of gripes, we had a very enjoyable day, with our daughter asking if she could go back tomorrow again. (I think myself and my husband enjoyed the rides as much as she did!) The Drayton Manor staff were fantastic, all polite and helpful and a credit to their place of work.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsShoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice day - even in the cold and wet!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This year’s theme at Drayton Manor Theme Park is the ‘Knight Before Christmas’. The promise of the full Christmassy experience is fulfilled by the full transformation of the Excalibur ride into a Santa’s Grotto, complete with reindeer and friendly elves; a wonderful fireworks display, with the usual loud bangs of fireworks have been replaced by extra sparkle and colour, and a light display.

There is also a showing in 4D of the film Polar Express, which is a nice touch to the festivities, and an experience for the youngsters who won’t be expecting the “extras” that come along with the full 4D experience.

Within the Castle, Father Christmas is there to tell the children a story – and each child receives a gift, and the chance to have their photograph taken with a Jolly Old Saint Nick. You do have to pay for the photograph, which is a little disappointing as the children's gift is a small bell and a cheap booklet about the Story of Christmas, but you can have them made into a bauble or Glitter Photo frame - nice for a Christmas gift.

The Knights and Jesters within the Excalibur Castle also put on a performance to tell the story of St. Nicholas, who was made a Knight and asked to guard a magical egg. Although the actors are enthusiastic, the “Stage” is oddly laid out, with the two actors performing around a group of people standing in the centre of the room. The animatronic dragons and knights are clever, though, and the kids we’re entertained.

Thomas Land within Drayton Manor was gorgeously decorated within the Christmas Spirit. Lots of tinsel and baubles everywhere, and a snow machine which is timed for Thomas Land to be snow-covered three times a day.



Everywhere there are food carts and stopping points to sit down, which were also covered with marquees and outdoor heaters – very welcome on such a cold and wet day! The food was lovely, with lots of choices available too.

By the looks of things, there is a lot more to Drayton Manor than was available to us on the day we visited – lots of the larger rides were closed off (presumably for the off-peak season) but for myself, and two young boys, we we’re more than happy with missing it out to be able to have a second chance at the rides available to us in Thomas Land.

The whole day was extremely enjoyable for everyone, and really got us all into the festive mood. In fact, not long afterwards, we put up our Christmas decorations early and the mince pies went into the oven.

It’s a well-recommended day out for all the family.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drayton Manor Park also viewed

Tamworth, Staffordshire
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Atherstone, Warwickshire
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 

Been to Drayton Manor Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing