We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food at reasonable prices”

Christopher’s at the Peel Aldergate
Ranked #4 of 154 Restaurants in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $39
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Christopher's at the Peel Aldergate is well established as one of Tamworth's best eateries, offering a selection of freshly prepared English and European cuisine. In 2014 Christopher's has undergone a major evolution, growing from "Tamworth's best kept secret" to take centre stage within the town. Christopher's has moved into a newly renovated roadside restaurant at the front of the hotel (opening October 2014). The new space is larger, has a more contemporary feel and is open all day, every day. The new restaurant also offers free high speed Wi-Fi internet to all customers Christopher's is open seven days a week for breakfast, Lunch, Dinner. Christopher's offer coffee and cake throughout the day and a wine and nibbles menu in the evening for those looking for a lighter option. Christopher's also offers afternoon tea, when booking 24 hours in advance. Head chef/Proprietor Chris Gill has worked in the catering profession all his life, having trained at the Savoy London from the age of 16. He progressed to becoming head Chef of Moor Hall Hotel at 19 and from there went on to enjoy a career as head chef/catering manager in many different areas of the catering profession. He and his family have been working as a team at the Peel Aldergate for twenty years. Throughout the year we hold a number of speciality gourmet nights, on which a special one off menu is prepaired by our Chefs to tempt your taste buds. Please see the list below, and click on the menu links when the menus are published. If you would like to join us on a gourmet night, please book soon!
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Staying in the hotel for the night and managed to get a table for dinner ,,, the food is totally amazing !!! A hidden gem

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tricia8074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    99
    38
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I were treated to Sunday Lunch by a friend & his wife a couple of weeks ago. We all had different starters, as the choice was so good & varied. Speaking for myself, I opted for Haggis in a Whisky sauce, absolutely superb.The Main Course, I decided on Stuffed Draft of Pork, 2 chose Roast Leg of Lamb & there was 1 roast Beef, a vast variety of vegetables were also available. We all cleared our plates, but were unable to eat all the veg, we had no room left to fill! We asked if we could wait a while before we ordered our desserts, no problem. My wife & I could not eat again that day as we were too well fed. If anyone wants a truly FANTASTIC Sunday Lunch at an affordable price, it must be CHRISTOPHERS.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonah486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“GOOD GAME - GOOD GAME”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Christopher's Restaurant is a hidden gem in the heart of Tamworth coupled with The Peel Hotel Aldergate. The best clue as to location is virtually opposite the bus garage! On Saturday January 26 I was one of a party of 6 who were privileged to enjoy the Gourmet Game Evening. It was food of the very highest quality. There were 7 Game Courses and a superb sweet for £35. In short form, the game used were (1) Mixed pheasant, partridge & guinea fowl terrine (2) Quenelles of rainbow trout mousse (3) Tandoori Quail (4) Half an oven roasted partridge (5) Saddle of rabbit (6) Individual game keepers pie and (7) Venison medallions. The sauces were out of this world, the service attentive and very friendly, the atmosphere relaxed, the wine list varied and not unreasonable. We stayed over after blitzing the wine list. Our room was large, beautifully furnished with the usual 4* features of large plasma tv, coffee making facilities and a well fitted en-suite. The beds were very comfortable and although facing the front, there was no apparent noise from passing traffic. Breakast on Sunday morning was also a culinary gem. My friends all managed the Full English - which looked superb - but my appetite only left room for smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Probably the best salmon I have ever tasted. Christopher's normal menu is varied with an abundance of choice to suit all tastes. What is apparent is that the ingredients are sourced locally (where possible) and are of the very highest quality. Because of the size of the Restaurant, booking is essential for most evenings. There are currently about 25 covers but it is planned to expand this to 40. I cannot wait for the next themed evening. They are usually on the last Saturday of each month. If you cannot justify going to Birmingham or London for a Michelin starred Restaurant - go to Christopher's - it is the nearest you will get to culinary heaven. Good Game - Good Game!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Raratrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top restaurant quality food”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have been to 2 of the themed gourmet evenings at Christophers Restaurant at The Peel Hotel.

The first was an impressive fish menu including delightful dishes such as Lobster Bisque and the second was a game evening including magnificent tandoori quail and gamekeepers pie.

The food is outstanding and the service is excellent and friendly. I can't believe how they do it for such a good price.

Can't wait for the next visit!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank IAN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christopher’s at the Peel Aldergate also viewed

 
Tamworth, Staffordshire
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 

Been to Christopher’s at the Peel Aldergate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing