We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding day. ”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
Swadlincote, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our wedding day. ”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Me and wife got married at the castle hotel on the 11/8/13. The staff was really great. Food and the room out of this world. The weather was really good for us. The wedding plans was spot on, the wedding host was really great could laugh and joke with.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Williamdallimore82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleHotelTamworth, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your comments they are much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    58
    40
    38
    42
See reviews for
156
105
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband and I got married here on the 4th July 2014. What an excellent choice we made!!! The service was outstanding from start to finish the staff could not have done more for us or our guests. The food was great served quickly and efficiently and there was lots of it!!. The room looked amazing it really had the wow factor the staff worked so hard. Our master of ceremonies was called Phil he was a lovely friendly guy, really professional and so well organized he was instrumental in making our day so wonderful. We would highly recommend the castle hotel for any occasion. Many thanks to all the staff there

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleHotelTamworth, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you Dawn & Andrew for your lovely comments, it was a pleasure to contribute to your special day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We attended a wedding here on Friday 4th July and had a fantastic day. The staff at this hotel were brilliant. They were friendly, efficient and attentive. The Master of Ceremonies, Phil, was outstanding in his organisation and the whole team were really helpful. Best service I have experienced in any hotel for quite some time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleHotelTamworth, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your comments Ruth, it's much appreciated, I hope we have the pleasure of looking after you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

I was supposed to stay 2 nights at this hotel booked in on Saturday 28th June 2014.if it wasn't for my friend getting married on the Sunday I would of walked into my room and walked straight back out.thought it was tired looking and the carpets and woodwork looked like it could of benefited from a good scrup.I didn't sleep the wedding it self was beautiful food lovely perfect day I packed all my things up on the Sunday evening and decided to go home . Really really very disappointed with this hotel..which put a shadow over the whole day as I was very tired on the Sunday the only reason I gave a 2 rating was solely for the wedding
Sharon manning

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleHotelTamworth, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you Sharon for your review. I am disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Had you mentioned to us during your stay that you were unhappy in any way with your room we could have arranged to move you to a different room which may have been more suited to your needs. You were allocated Room 14 as you were here for 2 nights so it was a quiet room opposite where the Bride was staying the night prior so that you were all close together to get ready for the wedding on Sunday morning. I apologise if the décor was not to your taste, however I can assure you it was repapered at the beginning of the year when we refurbed several rooms and replaced carpets in all but a few bedrooms.

I am glad you enjoyed the wedding; I just wish you had made us aware of your issues prior to departure so that we could have had a chance to rectify them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I am totally blown away by the service, venue, staff and value for money at The Castle Hotel. We booked a sit down 3 course meal for 48 people, at £15 a head. Guests had wine and a top up and coffee as well. There was no room charge and they even had a meeting with us so the tables could be set in the right colours. They were so helpful and I would absolutely recommend anyone to go and have a look at the facilities. I would definitely go there again as the food was delicious as well. Just want to thank everybody there for a brilliant day. Mum and dad were totally blown away

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleHotelTamworth, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thanks for your lovely comments and I am pleased to read your appreciation of our efforts. Thank you. I hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had our wedding at the hotel and from start to finish the service was excellent. Staff were extremely helpful throughout, especially Nikki, Heather and Phil our master of ceremonies. It was the most perfect day with everyone being made to feel at home and catering for everyone's needs including wheel chairs. Food was excellent, the service fantastic, the room as we imagined it to be. Could not find fault with the package, excellent value for money and would recommend the whole experience to anybody.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleHotelTamworth, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you, pleased you had a great wedding with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding at the castle hotel and have to say it was the best day of our lives! Everything was better than we imagined it to be in every way! The staff couldn't do enough for you and it was extremely well organised, there wasn't a moment that you felt uncomfortable! We would like to thank all the staff for putting on the best day for everyone and ensuring everything went smoothly, special thanks to Nikki and Heather for being so professional about every moment and special thanks to kian on the day for being our master of ceremony, he was a diamond! We would recommend this venue to everyone and the package you get is by far the best deal you will find! Location and price especially! Wouldn't change the day for anything!! Thanks again guys!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mattandsophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleHotelTamworth, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for you review, it is always a pleasure to read that how much the hard work we put into making a perfect day is appreciated. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamworth
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
1.8 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
1,598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Tamworth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Gungate
The Gungate
#9 of 11 in Tamworth
67 reviews
1.4 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
212 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Lady Bank, Tamworth B79 7NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Tamworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing