We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable as always.”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Having stayed here a few times on my travels, I always have a very enjoyable time. The Hotel offers plenty of fun at night, the rooms are lovely, and the staff are friendly. If your like me and enjoy fine cuisine and exploring historical architecture (the castle literally next door) than this place is perfect.
It also has its own night-club! However, I found one of the dj's is slightly unusual. If booking here make sure you specify your room well, they can vary on size. Saying that, once I had a room for me and my wife, and I swear it was large enough to build a small village in.

Room Tip: They vary, so ask to suit your needs best.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 407 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

So very sad to see the previous lady's post....Many of my family and friends were put in The Brewery and would have swopped with the other party to enable them to sleep better.....I could easily hear the merriment from the Tudor suite but thought the Bride and Groom and family deserved a good night, so did not complain.....

Now getting to our wedding day....It was magical, Heather was fantastic, as was our Toast Master and all the other staff.....Food was fantastic, service was top notch.....They cared for us as though we were their loved ones getting married.....

Great Value for money and my son is thinking of getting married here next year.

One tip....Bring people to help you help you unpack your car when arriving with all your stuff for the wedding....I was worried about getting a ticket, and good lungs as the stairs are a killer when you have to several trips to do....Lol

Love Billy and Shelley xxxxxxx

Room Tip: If you are attending a wedding....Bars rarely close at 9pm when the kids sleep.....so ask for the Br...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Staff are very friendly and helpful. It was in walking distance to nightlife. The beds were comfortable and the bar is really nice, overall the place is very nice and I had a very pleasant stay. Would recommend it

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice005_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Me and my friends had a brilliant time last night at the castle, starting in the vodka bar for an old catch up and then heading down to the brilliant Decadence night club for a private party!
The staff were friendly and helpful and the DJ's were absolutely on top form! I will most certainly be returning to this awesome, awesome hotel!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We had our wedding here and it was completely faultless. Scott heather and nikki were all amazing.
Yes the hotel needs a facelift but you get so much for what little money you are asked for. As a young couple we didnt mind the late night noise levels but to those wanting an early night beware room 8 but we apreciated the amount of drinks on hand to cool my frazeled nerves which scott calmed by simply being absolutly amazing, even when my mother in law turned up late which he took in his stride and organised me and my bridesmaids accordingly.
The hotel is always busy wich in my mind is a testiment to their abilities in the wedding industry. The food is plentiful and the staff are well trained and the room (tudor suit) looked amazing. The whole day was perfect.
The young tattooed red haired man at breakfast on sat morning was hilarious and made our morning by generally being helpful dispite his late night ;)
thank you to all the staff and thank you to the young barmaid at our reception who handled our drunk uncles like a star:)
again Nikki Heather and scott thank you soooo much for a wonderful day,
Mr. And Mrs. Bellinger

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbellinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

My wife and I were married at the castle hotel on 22/12/12. Everything was excellent about our day the rooms were lovely and the staff were a credit to the hotel
Every guest commented on how nice the catering was and everything went like clock work. Our wonderful day was made even more special by holding it at the hotel. With the castle hotel you can book a wedding that's 5 times cheaper than many places but the quality and service is 5 times higher, really can't recommend this place highly enough. We only wish we still had our wedding to look forward to

Eamonn & lara power

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eamonnp70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We recently stayed at the Castle Hotel for our daughters wedding. We were extremely impressed with Nikki who helped us through a particularly difficult check in as some room bookings had been mixed up, but sorted out effectively and efficiently.
SCOTT deserves a glowing commendation for his faultless running of the wedding event itself, discreet and totally in control, an excellent ambassador for the hotel, simply couldn't have had the day in better hands.
The rooms are unfortunately very tired and in need of some TLC, BUT they are clean so the housekeeping staff should also be thanked as I know during our stay the Hotel was particularly busy and they were hampered somewhat in their duties.
On the whole we were very pleased with the day. I would advise that anyone with a family or a desire to sleep before 12.30am, avoid room 5 as it is above the bar and the noise levels are unfortunately high until the early hours.

Room Tip: Rooms located in seperate building are more suited for families, due to noise from bars.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamworth hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
1.8 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
1,675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Tamworth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Gungate
The Gungate
#9 of 11 in Tamworth
70 reviews
1.4 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#1 of 11 in Tamworth
229 reviews
1.3 mi away
Plough & Harrow
Plough & Harrow
#10 of 11 in Tamworth
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Lady Bank, Tamworth B79 7NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tamworth
Price Range: $56 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Tamworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing