We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for park lovers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drayton Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
North Cornelly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect location for park lovers”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and thought the hotel was lovely. We had an executive room which was lovely and clean. There were tea/coffee making facilities with biscuits! There was a safe which was free to use, there was an iron and ironing board and a hair dryer. Lovely toiletries in the bathroom as well. We had an evening meal in the hotel's restaurant one evening and it was delicious. We were able to have cocktails but unfortunately they ran out of the wine we were enjoying. Breakfast was plentiful and you could request things like boiled/poached eggs made to order. My only issue around breakfast was that so many parents allowed their children to run around the food area where things are hot. We had two full days in the park which was fantastic. Plenty of great rides for adrenaline junkies and those who prefer a quieter pace. The second evening we are in the Grill Inn which was really nice.
I would definitely recommend this hotel but would ask that the hotel could ask parents not to allow their children to run around an area which is serving hot food.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
The safety of our guests is always our top priority and your feedback has highlighted an area in which we can improve this area. I am delighted you had a good time at our hotel, and I hope you get the chance to visit the hotel again one day soon. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    499
    273
    95
    63
See reviews for
1,057
100
5
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

An absolutely first class experience from start to finish. Top notch facilities and welcoming (although not over-bearing) staff.
That's about it really - will definitely recommend and use again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank genesis_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
I am glad to see you enjoyed your time with us. I will pass your comments throughout the hotel. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We saved and planned this trip for almost a year. My son is a big Thomas fan, so I knew that we had to make it to Thomas Land while we are stationed in Europe. For his 6th birthday, we spent the day in the theme park. We spent two nights at the hotel. I contacted the hotel in advance regarding a birthday cake. The catch here is that my son has food allergies. The receptionist confirmed with the bakery that they could make an egg free cake. We had the cake served after our dinner at the hotel's restaurant. The staff were amazing. The restaurant has Thomas train tables (though I didn't know this in advance to bring our own trains). Our son quickly made friends and shared engines with other Thomas fans! I thought the Thomas Themed room was plenty big enough for our family of four. The room was clean, the staff friendly and helpful. We have no complaints about our time here except that it wasn't long enough. Yes, it is a pricier hotel, but that is to be expected from a higher star rating hotel! Every penny was worth it for the joy on my boy's face!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
I am happy to see you all had a good time at our hotel, especially your little one. Our cake supplier can cater for all needs and I am really glad to see you made the most of that for your boy's birthday! Should you stay again, Thomas trains are available for hire from our reception for a small deposit. I hope we can continue to celebrate your son's birthday over the years to come. Thank you for the time you have taken out to let us know how your stay went.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Hotel expensive but v child friendly. Entertainment from 5-7 allows parents to relax and recharge with a drink whilst children play within sight with face painters, juggling, hula hoops. Nice play area.

Thomas room v expensive and quite small but boys loved it. Expected a bigger breakfast selection for a 4* hotel. Didn't eat in the hotel in the evenings as menu looks limited and expensive. Poor drinks selection at the bar. On tap beers & ciders tasteless and restricted to one bottles cider unless wanting the trendy fruit ciders.

Would we go back? - yes.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mjas-mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip B, Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your review,

We're glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and I do take your comments on board regarding pricing and choice on menu's. I will share this with the team.

I hope that we got the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We spent the Saturday at Drayton Manor, mostly at Thomasland, then an action packed evening at the hotel with the kids entertainment. What an awesome day! Everything was brilliant even if the weather was not, it bucketed down but still we carried on regardless and it was definitely a very memorable weekend.

Room Tip: Pull out sofa mattress was not the greatest but for a small child, whacked out by a full day it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMama2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip B, Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your review,

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay despite the terrible weather and hope that next time you come back the sun shine's for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here after a day in the park in a non themed family room. Room was spotless with large bed and sofa bed. Tea coffee facilities bit stingy but bathroom was lovely and clean and roomy. Parking was adequate. We didn't eat in the hotel apart from breakfast which was plentiful. We did have a drink in the bar next to the restaurant which was the breakfast room the next morning and prices were reasonable for a hotel and there was a lovely train table next to us for our little one. It was convenient to finish a day in park and have a short stroll to the hotel.
Since we stayed they have created an outdoor play area which we look forward to seeing when we return to the hotel in a couple of weeks time- this time we will be staying in a Thomas room!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank weekendweekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip B, Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your review,

We're pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay and look forward to your return in a few weeks as mentioned. I hope you enjoy the Thomas themed room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in a thomas themed room for our sons 3rd birthday! The room was beautiful and both my little ones (3 and 1) loved it! The goodie bags and bubble bath are a lovely touch! The garden area out the back of the hotel is great for playing and exploring. We ate at the grill and found the food tasty and good value! Beware the spicy chicken wings are very spicy but still good! We had a lovely family break here at drayton manor, the staff, room and venue were all fantastic and we will definitely be back when our youngest son is a bit older!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsSullivan05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip B, Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your review,

We're really glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay. I will speak with our chef regarding the spice on those chicken wings, which will be sorted in time for your next visit.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamworth
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
0.7 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
212 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Tamworth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#8 of 11 in Tamworth
389 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
2,127 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drayton Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drayton Manor Hotel

Property: Drayton Manor Hotel
Address: Drayton Manor Park, Tamworth B78 3TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Drayton Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drayton Manor Hotel is set in a unique location amongst 280 acres of lakes and parkland that was once the home of Sir Robert Peel. It is also a moment away from Drayton Manor Park, home of Thomas Land and Drayton Manor Zoo. Every bit of the luxurious Drayton Manor Hotel caters to the modern family and business traveller. Our facilities include: 150 well appointed contemporary guest rooms including 11 Thomas & Friends themed bedrooms Wireless Internet Access & Air conditioning Parklands Restaurant, Bar & Brasserie, Carousel Bar with outdoor lounge area, Parkview conference and banqueting suite, Free car parking, Packages available including Drayton Manor tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Drayton Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing