We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drayton Manor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for the weekend for a friend's wedding. Couldn't find any fault during the entire weekend. Was a bit worried after reading some reviews about cold water and cold room but that wasn't an issue. There was a hairdryer, iron and coffee making facilities in the room. The room was nice and clean. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Thought the price of £56 a night was extremely reasonable and everything you could want was available for breakfast (cereals, toast, full english, juices). All in all I was very happy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

I am happy to see you found our hotel good value for money. I do hope you had fun at the wedding you attended. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,142 - 1,148 of 1,750 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here Boxing Day with tickets into Thomas land the following day, the hotel is well situated, lovely rooms- plenty big enough for a family of four, only downfall was we didn't the pillows very comfy, you have everything you need and the staff were great. Due to the Christmas holidays the entertainment wasn't on in the evening so we found this a little boring with nothing to do before retiring to bed but it defiantly didn't ruin our stay. The breakfast was one of the nicest I've had on a bed and breakfast stay with the staff been extremely helpful with our children, we didn't eat in the evening but it looked reasonable priced and nice restaurant, we would stay here again for our next visit into the park.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katyGriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for spending your xmas with us. I am glad to see you had a good time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We arrived at 12 noon, rooms weren't available for check in until 3pm so we went into the restaurant for lunch. There were no other customers in and we waited for ages for someone to take our order, after asking, someone came to take the order. Fifty minutes later our food arrived and it was average to say the least, a sandwich was accompanied by the smallest salad ever, the bread was not granary as stated and was slightly dry and yet the price was £6.95. The room was adequate only slightly better than a Premier Inn, it was well appointed for plugs, mirrors & towels. There was no shampoo, only a soap dispenser bolted to the wall by the sink and high up in the shower, this meant I had to decant some into a glass in order to be able to reach it in the bath.

We were part of a awards night group and we had the surreal experience of gathering in the bar in our evening wear in what felt like a McDonalds diner, it most definitely is a 'Kiddy' hotel, probably great if you are staying with children, I would personally avoid it if not.

Breakfast the following morning was good, a varied selection and plenty of it, served on a Sunday morning until 10.30am but this is what I thought ridiculous. We had our breakfast leisurely and wandered back to our rooms at 10.10am to collect luggage only to find we were locked out as we'd passed the 10 am checkout, we had to go all the way down from the third floor to queue at reception for a new key card to retrieve our luggage, that in fact means i'd paid £55 for a 19 hour stay. Most hotels I've stayed in require an 11am or even 12 noon checkout which seems more reasonable.

Contrary to some or the other reviews, we as a group didn't find the customer service particularly good, in fact the word we used was apathetic...

Room Tip: I had an adjoining door in my room which I thought made it noisier, I could hear everything spoken i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rembrandtsmyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

I am unsure awards night you attended so can not comment on which bar you had pre-dinner drinks, though I do apologise if the area did not meet your expectation. Our Housekeeping department do provide extra soap/shower gel/shampoo on request for which there is notice in all of our guest bedrooms. Our staff would have been happy to bring these to your room. Our executive chef has been made aware of the wait for food and portion sizes and have no doubt he will pick this up with his team. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights between Christmas and New Year and had a fantastic time. For the price of £92 per night for a family room this included our theme park tickets which was excellent value, and our 3.5 year old loved Thomasland - every ride was suitable for his age and despite the rain we spent 2 full days there and didn't have to queue at all. The hotel was modern, clean and the staff were so helpful - in particular, Christian helped us with a problem with the safe in our room, and his service (and that of James the waiter) in the restaurant was superb. The food in the evening was excellent quality (not cheap, but not too expensive either, and a very good children's menu), and breakfast was lovely, good selection and constantly replenished. There are play tables/train sets dotted around the bar and restaurant which meant that we could relax and enjoy our meal/drinks while our son played (note that you can hire trains for a refundable deposit of £10 from reception - some people didn't realise this and their children thought they could just help themselves to our son's trains!). My one and only negative comment would be that this isn't mentioned or advertised, and a few little posters dotted around would prevent little ones getting upset when another child takes their train! There's a free 'noddy train' that constantly runs between the hotel and the main theme park entrance (or a minibus in the rain), or you can walk it via a back entrance to the park in just a few minutes, although our son insisted on going on the train/bus as he thought that was another ride! Another bonus was having a fridge in the room - useful when little ones need milk at bedtime! The rooms were well equipped and very clean, the bathroom was spotless and very modern. We will definitely be returning in the summer for another break, when the rest of the theme park will be open (note during the Xmas period it's only Thomasland that's open).

Room Tip: Our room no. 130 overlooked the carpark but from the window we could see the little firework display...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzyQ2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your kind words about our bedrooms and restaurant service. I have forwarded your comments on to Christian and I am sure he will be thrilled. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Hotel is clean and roomy, we only paid £28 per adult and kids went free for b&b through super breaks for all 5 of us in 2 interconnecting rooms (£56 pound total minus 10% nhs discount - £50.40 total) which was exceptional value. At full price I may have been a bit disappointed - the rooms are nice but no nicer than premier inn or holiday inn - but quite a bit more expensive at full whack and we had to ask for the extra bedding twice for our put up bed - but the staff were lovely and in the end it was sorted quickly. Breakfast was a good selection and hot in the right places with tea and coffee on demand and very polite waiting staff. (We booked cheap tickets for the Thomas land online through the Drayton manor website- so approx £100 for a day out for 5 with overnight stay was excellent value

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaePudsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

I am happy to see you had a good stay with us for what looked to be a bargain price. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed on Dec 29th/30th and the found the service from the reception to the restaurant to be very high .All the staff we came in contact with could not do enough for us. The food very good breakfast buffet excellent.The hotel and the rooms all clean and of a high standard.My wife and I brought our 4 year old granddaughter and had a good time at the Theme Park despite the winter weather.It was a pleasure to come back to the Hotel after being out all day. We had dinner no problems there food was good hot and served quickly. Having stayed in Hotels around the world in Singapore ect Drayton Manor will in my book rank high amongst them.

Room Tip: 1st floor level I found good you can just pop down one short flight of stairs to reception save wait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you for your review. I am very happy to see the sevice was of a high standard for your stay. We are looking forward to seeing you back at the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at the hotel between xmas and New Year's Eve, 2nd time we had been to Thomas land, and 1st time staying in hotel.
The park was excellent, and just the right time to go,hardly any queuing for anything :-) ( after the mad xmas rush which we did the year before..not so enjoyable) the Santa experience was still on and was so lovely and magical for our 2.5 year old,

The hotel was great, and we had a fantastic meal in the restaurant on the evening. Have to say the steak was just beautiful, and well worth the money, whoever cooked it...thanks!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z0bee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

I have passed your kind comments on to the chef who I am sure will be thrilled. Thank you for welcoming the new year here at Drayton Manor Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamworth
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
0.7 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
245 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Tamworth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
1.8 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#7 of 11 in Tamworth
419 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drayton Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drayton Manor Hotel

Address: Drayton Manor Park, Tamworth B78 3TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Price Range: $72 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Drayton Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drayton Manor Hotel is set in a unique location amongst 280 acres of lakes and parkland that was once the home of Sir Robert Peel. It is also a moment away from Drayton Manor Park, home of Thomas Land and Drayton Manor Zoo. Every bit of the luxurious Drayton Manor Hotel caters to the modern family and business traveller. Our facilities include: 150 well appointed contemporary guest rooms including 11 Thomas & Friends themed bedrooms Wireless Internet Access & Air conditioning Parklands Restaurant, Bar & Brasserie, Carousel Bar with outdoor lounge area, Parkview conference and banqueting suite, Free car parking, Packages available including Drayton Manor tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Drayton Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing