We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drayton Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Drayton Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

My son absolutely loves thomas and this hotel and thomas land where his vision of paradise. We got room number 1 very close to reception and was a good size, clean and we had a great nights sleep. We had just one problem and that was the plug in our bath was broken and I took it out and it was covered in hairs. I spoke to reception manager and he sorted it straight away but I must apologise to castigergirl from previous review as he told us he had changed it for another room and it looks like he swapped it with theirs.
Great to have entertainment on for kids but 6-8 is across meal time so couldn't stay long. The Land train which takes you to entrance is also very welcome. Ate in hotel and food was good although a bit pricey but the train track is a good idea and my son enjoyed playing with his train on it so big tip take a couple of trains with you. Breakfast excellent and for the price I paid for stay and play with the offer I got a great deal.
Overall a great stay and my son already nagging to go back. I will definitely go back if I can get the great deal again under £100. It's worth relaxing in the hotel before a long drive home and just to mention thomas land was fantastic, almost had it to ourselves, weather great and a special mention to the Father Christmas who was excellent. He was very patient with my slightly apprehensive son and we had loads if time with him never felt rushed.

Room Tip: Take a train to play on tables
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clarktoppcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
I am happy to see you and your family had a good time at our hotel, and felt the experience you had was good value for money. I was the gentleman who replaced the faulty plug you had and can assure you it was swapped with one of the many spares we have with our Housekeeping department. Once again I must apologise for this having occured to begin with. As you may have seen by my responses to previous guests, the children's entertainment is a key area we are looking to enhance for the 2014 season. We look forward to welcoming you, particularly your son, back to his paradise in the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    478
    265
    93
    60
See reviews for
1,005
98
5
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Booked due to reasonable price & location for us to visit our daughter at university nearby. Nice room - a few cobwebs but overall very clean. The bed wasn't the best as we ended up rolling together as the mattress wasn't good.
The breakfast provided was good but the noise in the dining room was terrible.Children having fun is lovely to hear but all we heard was children having tantrums ,screaming & crying. If mine had behaved like that I would have thought about others & removed them from the room. I think it would be good if the hotel could have an area where people who want a peaceful breakfast could sit well away from the kids. Don't want to sound a moan bag but we were paying guests as well but didn't feel catered for in the dining area.
Staff really polite

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear the staff were polite and you found the room nice. We are looking in to ways we can segregate familys into different areas, so those who like a bit of quiet can eat in peace. I hope to see you and your faily back at the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed here for the second time, 2 adults and 2 children, we stayed in a room with 2 double beds, plenty of space. The children loved the Thomas theme of the hotel and were very impressed with the evening entertainment (as was my husband) Not sure the extra cost for a Thomas theme room would be worth it as my children were happy enough with what we had. Room was very clean, good supply of tea, coffee and biscuits, nice to have a fridge in the room for drinks and snacks. Staff all very helpful although at busy times the queue for check in was terrible, we were lucky and did not wait long but the people at the end of the queue had a very long wait, not ideal with tired young children. Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice and the children loved playing with the train tables (don't forget to take a train) which meant the adults had some time to enjoy breakfast without being rushed by bored children. Park tickets can be bought at reception much cheaper than on the gate. Both children have not stopped talking about the hotel and Thomas land since we came back and want to go again. We had a small problem with the plug in the bath which when reported to reception was dealt with immediately, would definitely stay here again and recommend to others

Room Tip: Stayed twice and both rooms were great, cant comment on the Thomas themed rooms as did not stay in o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank castigergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel and Thomas Land in the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I am wishing in hindsight, that I had thought to look a reviews here before paying what I considered a lot of money for one nights stay in a hotel. I found that I have agreed with most of the negative and the positive comments.
Overall the hotel is clean and the bathrooms in the rooms where of a very high standard, however I did expect the emphasis to be on the 'family' aspect.
Reception staff are helpful but check in at 3, when returning from a full day at the park (with everyone else), leads to big queues, very tired children and just not enough staff or a quick enough turnaround time to keep young children form being bored, also just one toilet in main reception again can be a problem for large numbers of people.
The themed rooms are a waste of money, DVD players are provided in the beds but DVDs are borrowed from reception, I was expecting them along with books, toys etc to be available in each room, again this is reflected in the dining room, tracks are provided for little ones to use but no trains, we did eventually find out that trains were available at reception for a £10 deposit, but it's not always the best thing trying to get young children to return them, I am sure that compared to the expense of the stay a small train provided in each gift bag would not be unreasonable.
The hotel brasserie food was delicious and as an adult I had no worries with it, however as a parent I found the chicken bites and chips meal for the children to be unsatisfactory (2 breaded chicken mini fillets and a ramekin of chips with a side salad), also after paying £280 for the stay I wasn't really expecting to have to pay another £60 for a evening meal. (I may be being unreasonable but have stayed at many high rated city centre hotels that have includied a 3 course evening meal for this price).
I think the final straw that has prompted me to write this was being charged £5 for two glasses of milk as a bedtime drink for the little ones!
I would advise any one staying to take such provisions with you, the rooms contained a standard tea tray but again was geared more for the adults, no juice, milk or even glasses where available for the children and when it took over an hour to receive two side plates from hotel room service I guess it would be easier to just take your own.
Sorry it sonds like such a moan but as a special birthday treat for my son I expected much much more, it is the small things that make a big difference and never more so than when travelling with tired, over excited small children.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara752013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for the time you have taken to review your recent stay. I have shared the issues you have raised with the team which will help us improve for the future. For room service a £2.50 tray charge is added to each bill. This is common in most hotels, and I think this is the reason why the milk may have appeared quite expensive. Each Thomas pack should include a 20-minute DVD for each child to keep. Can I ask you to email frontoffice@draytonmanorhotel.co.uk and we will arrange for these DVDs to be sent to your home address. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Visit twice a year but this weekend HUGE changes. On thew Ben 10 ride children told only two goes despite the fact the ride was empty. (Video evidence available) Paid £258 for character breakfast and themed room. Told breakfast was at 8, arrived at 8.17 and kids told they are too late. 4 year old cried his hea\rt out and manager Arthur said rules are rules. Thats fine but you can only abide by rules if you know them. Its a child theme hotel nopt a boot camp. Four year olds are hard to keep to timetables, if the cut off time is 8 tell people. Ruined what has been a great expoerience in the past and ruined whatr we hoped would be a great family occasion. Learn froM dISNEY - YOU ARE DEALING WITH CHILDREN NOT CONVICTS. 07583422905 Patrick

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickScanlon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
I am sorry to hear we did not meet the expectations you have come to expect from us this time around. From your previous stays I am sure you can appreciate this is not the standard we usually pride ourselves on.

I can assure you we are taking your response extremely seriously and our General Manager has been informed. I am sure he will be in contact with you shortly regarding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, South Staffordshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing place to take your family!

We stayed at the hotel last night and also spent the entire day in the park. We stayed as a party of 7 (4Adults - 3Children) and must say from the moment we pulled into the car park to us leaving the car park today we were in no doubt that we were welcomed by all the staff!

Our rooms were spacious and very well thought out. The only thing I would suggest is for a hotel that focuses on children so much it would have been nice if steps could be provided in bathrooms so my girls could reach the sinks (or put a low wash basin in).

We dined in the main restaurant and found the portion sizes to be perfect. The meals were fairly priced and very tasty. The wine we ordered was delayed and once I had brought this to the attention of the manager it was very quickly sorted.

The level of service we received was fantastic. I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel and park. We will definitely be returning next year!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chappers0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for the time you have taken to review our hotel. I am very happy that the service met your expectation. I have taken your comments regarding the sink height into consideration and will see if there is anything we can do to improve this area going forward. I look forward to welcoming you and the family back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Left a review following new year trip. The hotel commented on my review inviting me to raise concerns with them. I have forwarded my previously unanswered emails to address provided and still no response. Very poor in my opinion. Staff at park are fantastic wish I could say the same for after sales.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cymru1Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Let me firstly apologise on behalf of the hotel for not responding to you sooner. I am not sure why this has been the case but I am more than happy to speak with you regarding any issues you may have had during your stay. Can I ask you send me an email at frontofficemgr@draytonmanorhotel.co.uk highlighting any issues you may have had, along with a contact telephone number for me to contact you on. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamworth
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
0.7 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Tamworth Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
1.8 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#8 of 11 in Tamworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drayton Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drayton Manor Hotel

Property: Drayton Manor Hotel
Address: Drayton Manor Park, Tamworth B78 3TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Drayton Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drayton Manor Hotel is set in a unique location amongst 280 acres of lakes and parkland that was once the home of Sir Robert Peel. It is also a moment away from Drayton Manor Park, home of Thomas Land and Drayton Manor Zoo. Every bit of the luxurious Drayton Manor Hotel caters to the modern family and business traveller. Our facilities include: 150 well appointed contemporary guest rooms including 11 Thomas & Friends themed bedrooms Wireless Internet Access & Air conditioning Parklands Restaurant, Bar & Brasserie, Carousel Bar with outdoor lounge area, Parkview conference and banqueting suite, Free car parking, Packages available including Drayton Manor tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Drayton Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing