We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Improved since last visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drayton Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Improved since last visit”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to the Drayton Manor hotel. We had a complaint the first visit regarding the restaurant (see previous review). Things in the restaurant have improved, but still not great booking wise. Seems to be such a problem to book it when it should be simple!

On arrival we were given our park tickets for the 1st day with no problem. Parking is easy, quite large car park. We asked if we could book the restaurant, due to our problems last visit! We were told this was not possible, and that we couldn't book it until after check in..... Don't understand this at all. We would be at the park until at least 5 pm, and by that time we were worried we wouldn't be able to book the time we'd prefer. So one of us would have had to leave the park to come back to the hotel to book the restaurant. We weren't prepared to do this, as we had paid a lot of money to enjoy the park for the whole day. So we ended up calling the restaurant directly from my mobile after 3pm (check in time). This was not a problem, we just think it's a bit pedantic to say the least, and the hotel should be more flexible regarding booking.

Everything else was great about the hotel. The rooms are lovely, spacious you get what you pay for, quite good value. The grounds are also lovely, park for the kids which you can see from the restaurant and bar - quite handy, but one of us went out to keep an eye as there is quite a bit of woodland at the rear of the park.

The entertainment guy is brilliant - really good with the kids, and had them all giggling for ages.

Restaurant is quite pricey, but you get good quality food. Service was good.

Overall this is a great hotel, and we will be returning again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey302011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor M, Guest Relations Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We are really pleased to hear your found your stay enjoyable, and have found improvements since your previous stay. Understandably the confusion over booking dinner was frustrating and we value your feedback to ensure we can rectify this situation going forward. We do hope to welcome you back to Drayton Manor Hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    491
    271
    95
    62
See reviews for
1,040
99
5
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We arrived early evening to the hotel. Check-in was quick and efficient. Staff were helpful and knowledgable. Our room was clean, spacious, well maintained and just perfect for a nights stay. We dined in the hotel restaurant, the menu was basic with varying dishes of average pub price meals. Service was ok, the meals average in taste but quite plentiful of plate. We had a good nights sleep, the beds comfortable, the curtains dark enough to block out the light. Bathroom facilities were good - the shower quite powerful. Breakfast was self service. The choice was what you would usually expect in a hotel. The cooked breakfast was hot and tasty. Check-out again was quick and efficient. The hotel although it has been open a couple of years looks new, everything has been well maintained.
Our hotel price included a ticket to the park. We went to the park at 9.30am, but there was only the zoo open. The rides opened about 10.30am, which meant you didn't get an advantage of staying at the hotel as other non residents were arriving then. We were there on a quiet day so there was very little queuing for the rides. The park was good, enough rides to keep you occupied for the day. We felt like the zoo needed updating though, a little tlc to get it inline with the park. All in all it was good value for money for the package price I paid. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Compqueen-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor M, Guest Relations Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Drayton Manor Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

we spent one night here as was taking the little one to thomas land very nice hotel. we paid £136 for one night bed breakfast and park tickets which i thought was a very good price. the hotel was very posh and very good security you cant use the lifts if you do not have a room card which is good for little children as they cant run off. the rooms where very nice and spacious and clean. breakfast in the morning was very good and staff were all very friendly they had everything to offer for breakfast. there was a park to the rear of the hotel aswell for the children to play on and the theme park it literally across the road which is very handy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor M, Guest Relations Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we really value feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We recently went here with our two little boys. We absolutely loved it! The Thomas room was perfect! They received a Thomas present when they arrived and had great fun with all the pictures of Thomas and friends around the hotel. The staff at the park and the hotel were great - really helpful. Overall it was a brilliant trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MT_C2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor M, Guest Relations Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel & Park again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Staying helped beat the Q's but luck has to play a part.
Oddly staying doesn't help that much first thing. Park zoo opens early to all but rides 1030 am by then many non hotel guests have also arrived. Also the park decides on the day when it closes.
If you are lucky and weather good and it's a busy day it can stay open a few hours past 5pm. We visited sat/ sun. Q's big most of sat until 5pm then massive drop off by 6pm we were just walking on g force and the popular rides. On Sun able to enjoy quieter rides with less Q's and the good zoo. Good weather meant we went back for lunch on hotel's outside patio , had hotel mainly to ourselves our girls enjoyed the hotel play park before travelling home. Hotel comfortable food just ok but huge wait so lost my v good vote to average. Think hotel missing out by not offer guests only early access to rides 930-1030 would make staying a much bigger advantage.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anyonethere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor M, Guest Relations Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Drayton Manor Hotel, we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the park and we value your feedback regarding park opening times and also speed of food service which we will ensure is communicated to our management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Went to stay for a friends birthday and anniversary party. Having stayed in 4 & 5 star hotels on my travels during the past 5 years, this is certainly not 4 star! 2 maybe, at a push 3! First of all parking was a bit scarce, had to drive around for a bit waiting for people to leave, reception looks like a child's bedroom. Check-in after 3 pm and out by 10 am, don't get a lot of time for the ridiculous £110. Rooms are ok, bathroom little small for the grading, most of the shower ends up on the floor due to the small screen. I've never been in a 4 star hotel that has a shower in the bath. Bar service was a little slow, barman kept wandering off! Fortunately spent the evening over the road in the Tower Suite!
Upon checking out, friends were complaining about the dirty linen, brown stained sheets, and a shower head that kept falling off the wall!! Once again, 4 star!!! Really??!! Not a lot was done as they hadn't booked it direct, but rather through Expedia. Trying for a better deal!
Breakfast. What a disappointment. You'd get better from a roadside truck stop. Watery egg, slimy bacon and mushy sausages, and the strangest, tasteless tea I've ever had! Popcorn and dirt on the floor under the table, and orders taken that never arrived! Just left and went to Burger King on the motorway! ( at least I knew what I'd get!!) All in all, a terrible experience. Relying on the Theme Park next door to justify their prices, star rating and existence!
There are many cheaper, better places in the local area.
Oh yes, and a lovely view of the car park! What more would you want for £110?! Sorry, £112, surcharge for American Express!!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor M, Guest Relations Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your recent stay. We were obviously dissappointed to hear that your stay was not up to standard and please rest assured we have passed on your valid points raised to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The room was fantastic with the sofa bed and cot laid out on arrival. We ordered room service which arrived promptly. Nice extras such as black out blinds to get the kids off to sleep. This hotel really is worthy of it's four star, thank you for such an amazing stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparkyx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry R, Guest Relations Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments in relation to your recent stay here with us here at Drayton Manor Hotel. I am delighted you had a great time and hope to see you return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamworth
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
0.7 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Tamworth Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
1.8 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#8 of 11 in Tamworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drayton Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drayton Manor Hotel

Property: Drayton Manor Hotel
Address: Drayton Manor Park, Tamworth B78 3TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Drayton Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drayton Manor Hotel is set in a unique location amongst 280 acres of lakes and parkland that was once the home of Sir Robert Peel. It is also a moment away from Drayton Manor Park, home of Thomas Land and Drayton Manor Zoo. Every bit of the luxurious Drayton Manor Hotel caters to the modern family and business traveller. Our facilities include: 150 well appointed contemporary guest rooms including 11 Thomas & Friends themed bedrooms Wireless Internet Access & Air conditioning Parklands Restaurant, Bar & Brasserie, Carousel Bar with outdoor lounge area, Parkview conference and banqueting suite, Free car parking, Packages available including Drayton Manor tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Drayton Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing