We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tamworth Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Tamworth Arms
Ranked #4 of 6 Tamworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel for 2 nights as its only 10 minutes drive to drayton manor. Our room was outside in another building which was perfect for us as we could park the car right outside our door. The room we was given was a family room (we only booked a double) it was large and really nicely decorated. I found the bed very uncomfortable as it was soft and some springs were raised aswell but my boyfriend said he found it very comfortable and slept well. We had a large flatscreen TV in the room which was nice.The room was clean and also the bathroom was very clean with some soaps provided...this was good as we forgot our shower gel. I have to admit the lady on check in was lovely and friendly but at breakfast i found the ladies who served us to be not friendly and they would just come up to our table and stand there as if to say "what do you want". I guess for the price we paid breakfast was ok and i did enjoy the sausages and bacon. We did not eat dinner at the pub but we found a nice indian and another pub just 10 minutes walk away so great location.The gentleman on check out was very friendly (i assume the owner) Overall we had a great stay and i would definately stay again if i was in the area.

Room Tip: Maybe an outside room as ours was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forensic2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    50
    24
    14
    13
See reviews for
37
43
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed at this pub one night. 3.Sept. Room very clean as was showerroom. Staff very helpful. Dined in pub in the evening and enjoyed some good pub grub. Unfortunately staff left on an extractor fan and a cooler which were directly outside our room NO 3 so was like sleeping in a wind tunnel. Breakfast was good. For the cost £45good value just dont go in ROOM NO 3.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed fOr 3 nights in the family room which was fantastic for us and a 2 year old barely any noise from the pub considering we were there at a weekend and it was busy. It was very clean and every single member of staff is a credit to the business we were made to feel at home and nothing was too much trouble. Also the breakfasts were lovely and big enough to keep you going for thomas land!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welovecakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Four of us stayed here for 1 night the day before we went to Drayton Manor Theme park.

Lovely pub, staff really friendly, rooms were clean, well decorated and spacious in a cute court yard. We had a little table and chairs outside the room and tea and coffee making facilities. They put an air freshner in the bathroom which you don't get in a 5* hotel, just little touches like that meant someone had given it some thought.

Only 10 mins from park so great location. Ate in the pub that evening and the food was good and good value. Good selction for breakfast. Would have no problem recommending it to anyone and would stay there again as it was great value for money for B & B.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 22 which was really nice and spacious for 3 with lovely shower and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally13_8_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahoo25
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

stayed in july 2012 for 1 night..excellent value for money at £50 for 2 adults and 1 child in double room bed and breakfast. we were visiting thomas land so was in a perfect location, only a 10 min drive. really easy to find on the roundabout at lichfield street. free car parking round the back.
we normally stay in premier inns but this 1 was half the price as booked last min. i still prefer premier inns but the rooms were quite simular deco.
only 5 min walk into shops with alot of eating places, bars and nice shops. we had tea at wetherspoons (burger and chips with a drink only £3.99 each) cant go wrong!! then we had breakfast at the pub the next morning which was lovely, full english, choice of cereals, fruit, yogurts and fruit juices very nice!
breakfast served 6 till 9 through the week. check out was 10.30 which was fine as we were leaving early anyway.
friendly staff made us feel really welcome. tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
we had roadside window but didnt find it noisey at all. nice comfy bed, flat screen tv on the wall, large wardrobe and small shower room. VERY CLEAN and tidy in our room and downstairs in the bar.
the only faults i can pick is that the rooms are a little bit small, which would of been ok if it was the 2 of us but with having a toddler found it a little cramped, so i wish ide went for larger room and payed abit more. the shower room is also TINY! we found it too small! and not sure if this is the same in every room but we missed a bath with having toddler he doesnt like a shower so found that difficult. but that wouldnt stop me from recommending it or returning myself.

Room Tip: ask for bigger room if your taking the kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mahoo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at the Tamworth Arms to visit the nearby National Memorial Arboretum at Alwras. For only £45 the double room and breakfast was very good value. We had dinner in the pub which was also enjoyable with a varied menu. The room with en suite shower room was light and modern and clean. Would recommend this for anyone wanting an overnight stay in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank StellaStar46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

The Tamworth Arms or better known as The Bottom House is a town pub with accommodation. It is the first time we have stayed at such an establishment and we were very pleasantly surprised how good it was. The location on the roundabout was ideal and easy to find. There is an adequate car park at the rear and is easy parking next to the open area with tables and chairs. Booking in was at the bar and when keys are handed over, you go to the residents part of the building which looks as though it is a pub and a house attached. Entry through a separate door to the accommodation and up the stairs to one of the 21 rooms – some are off the yard at the rear which are said to be very good indeed. Our room was small (good job we had no cat to swing about) and it was very clean. There was a small en suite (one at a time please). Just room at each side of the bed to move and drawers and a cupboard wardrobe are provided. There was a TV opposite the bed and tea/coffee making facilities. We had an evening meal in the pub part and this was brilliant as was the huge breakfast next morning. Overall, the stay was very good and we would go back there but have a bigger room (even though we don’t have a cat).

Room Tip: Ask for a large room or one off the yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dormouse39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamworth hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tamworth Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#8 of 11 in Tamworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gungate
The Gungate
#9 of 11 in Tamworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.5 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tamworth Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tamworth Arms

Property: The Tamworth Arms
Address: 71 Lichfield Street, Tamworth B79 7QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Tamworth Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing