We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a very good curry” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monsoon

Monsoon
Ranked #15 of 154 Restaurants in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Asian, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a very good curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

enjoyed an excellent meal the food was very good and the staff were very professional i would recommend the special offer at £10 per person which included any starter ,any main ,any rice ,any nan ,any side

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank grant m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    45
    14
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Definitely recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Visited while on a trip to snowdome. Service was fantastic, unbelievable value for money and the food was cooked to perfection and really tasty. The waiters know a lot about the dishes and there is a lot of choice. Lovely relaxed atmosphere.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Morgan-Moscatiello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The food & service at this restaurant is second to none. Myself and a group of 15 visited this restaurant a month or so ago and we all decided to have the offer which was for a starter, main, rice, poppadums and naan for a bargain £9.95
For the amount of people we had in our group, we didnt expect everything to come to everyones taste but the food came out at the same time, was piping hot and was very delicious.

The service was fantastic, they even had a laugh and a joke with us and let us take our left overs in a doggy bag. The presentation was good & i would certainly recommend this place to any visitors & locals who are within the vicinity of this place.
In response to the Swiss visitors, obviously you had a bad experience, either this was because you are either too fussy or you hit them on a bad day because every time I've eaten there, it has been faultless

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brew1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

great food, great prices, never go home hungry, more for adults but they do cater for children, take away service, staff are lovely, keep going back and it gets better every time

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mellie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The attitude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I made a booking for 12 people for my colleagues who were attending a meeting at the Belfry. All OK up to that point.

On arrival we got seating and started trying to order food - not complicated, but ended up with attitude and explanations that we couldn't "do what we wanted", e.g. couldn't order more than one starter for colleauges who were coming in taxis after us, couldn't order drinks at the same time (different people). Couldn't have the dishes separately - it should all be served on plates arrival at the table. All this was accompanied by some comment about how busy they were.
The food was mixed - mine was great, but other dishes were not.

This all ended with a "discussion" around the dinner receipt and being told/lectured to by some ignorant bloke that I couldn't have the itemised receipt and that this is not normal practice in the UK.

Food bad to OK.

Service - as a colleague mentioned: think Faulty Towers crossed with Little Britain.

OMG. Never again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monsoon also viewed

 

Been to Monsoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing