We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright”
Review of Namco Funscape

Namco Funscape
Ranked #4 of 5 Fun & Games in Tamworth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fun for all the family 26 Bowling Lanes with Ramps & Bumpers Kids Kingdom Soft Play, licensed Bar, Wimpy Restaurant, Top Video & Arcade Games. Birthday Parties and Group Events. Click website for more info and for the best offers.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Alright”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

As a few reviews have said it is a bit dated but we actually found it quite fun as the graphics reminded us of old games and it sparked off conversations about great games etc from the 90s.

We had quite a few issues and ended up having to ask staff for help about 6 times, I don't know whether other people experienced that or whether we just got unlucky. Thankfully we went on a groupon voucher, if I'd paid full price I'd probably have been really annoyed about the amount of issues we had.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    41
    22
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tamworth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Needs a refurb...”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have been here for bowling a few times, its good for kids and teenagers however for couples and adults I wouldnt recommend it. It really does need a refurbishment for bowling as its just very dated and shabby. Its not worth the money at all either. The kids Kingdom area is very good though and its cheap inside and kids love it. It doesnt get crowded either which is a bonus. The arcade area is alright nothing to write home about really. Cheers for reading.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank chelsey-93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strykers, Manager at Namco Funscape, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
You'll be pleased to hear the site is1/4 of the way through a refit and should all be finished by mid-June, looking to seeing you in the near future to see the changes that have taken place. ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, Birmingham
Level Contributor
117 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Xmas works party”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We booked a department Xmas party for 12 people as a night out at this Bowling alley. We had a great time mainly because I was second in winning the bowling. We had a fabulous time we had tickets to get a free drink at the bar which was very nice treat.
Buffet came quite late about 9.30pm food was ok , mainly pastries and chips and sandwiches could do with more salad and pickles and variation . We were all quite hungry the bowling was fabulous we bowled forever lasted till 10.30pm which was quite good. Nice bar for hot and cold drinks which were quited good. Not bad for a cheap night out cost about £12 per head. We all had a great time would recommend this as a team or work do.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank daisyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“great night out”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

great atmosphere, good value, kiddies club - great for kids.
the lanes are due for an overhaul, plenty of parking for free.
lots of special offers day and night

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trunkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“no staff in the late afternoon”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We went bowling for a birthday treat for a six year old, a family thing with 10 people .

the two lanes we were put on had faults with the pin setter only putting up eight pins on one and balls not coming back on the other... we endured

There was only about 6 staff in the entire place.. 1 in wimpy 1 in the bar 1 cleaning lanes 1 on kids play and 1 or 2 on the rest... no one was happy, no one was customer friendly (never went to the bar so he may have been ok) the lanes were mended several times and each time was a venture to find someone.. Eventually the cleaning/engineer man said we had two choices be re laned or carry on with eight pins... (How is eight pin bowling a choice)... we re laned

The man had no apologies and really didn’t care

we needed to order food but because were in a party with three families they wouldn’t order all the food as on , instead they did it in parts... and as there was only 1 person serving there was a 25 min wait between fod coming... and every order had errors... were they customer friendly... NO instead all the errors were our fault apparently. Until we pointed out that she had no idea who had had what because of splitting orders

Not one person had a smile, no one wanted to be there (staff or us in the end) and it completely spoiled a young lads birthday night (there were 3 under 6 yr olds, it was impossible to keep them happy as we were waiting for food or maintenance all the time)

I had been years ago and on staff nights out and it had never been that bad

If you do go avoid ordering food, its unbelievably slow, prices are ok but service is the worst in Tamworth.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank amw01827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Namco Funscape also viewed

Tamworth, Staffordshire
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 

Been to Namco Funscape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing