We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roll over...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Roll over...”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

With family close by we have been seeking a reasonable place to stay in Tamworth. This HIE is better than the Premier Inn by the motorway with more spacious rooms, nicer decor and far better facilities. Complimentary breakfast was fair but not going to win any awards. Given the room rate of £62.00 we were reasonably happy generally.
Only bone of contention was the bed; substantial dip in middle caused me to sleep not at all well, although herself was fine. When mentioned at reception I was informed that some rooms had hard beds and some soft beds - (which make you roll into the middle) - so I should have requested a hard bed apparently. Well, I'm no mattress expert but I did not think even soft mattresses were designed to throw you into a coital position for the duration.
At the reasonable rate paid we would stay again but hopefully on a firmer bed...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxglove22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued comments on your recent stay with us.

Thank you for your compliments on the Hotel but must apologise for your uncomfortable nights sleep due to the mattress.

When you book next time please ensure you request a firm bed and if we can, we will, oblige you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the very near future.

Regards

Szilvia Kiss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    293
    77
    25
    24
See reviews for
298
104
26
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
anywherehot
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

just returned from a two night stay at holiday inn tamworth. Great hotel. very clean and modern. the staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. very convenient for drayton manor, castle and retail parks, which was great when I left hubby with our son and went out for some retail therapy for a couple of hours. Will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: we had a lower floor and there was no noise at all very quiet and we slept very well
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yummymummy009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

It was good to read you enjoyed your stay with us and you found your room to be very clean and modern. I will pass on your thanks to all our Reception Team for their help.

I agree with you regarding our location to all Tamworth amenities we are very lucky.

Look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards

Szilvia Kiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay in this hotel. It was very clean and modern and quiet at night which I like.
The hotel situated about a 5 minute walk from Tamworth Castle, park, play area and shops. There is also a large retail park within a 10 minute walk.
Space was limited in the bedroom with 4 of us in there and the sofa bed down but it was ok, clean and modern and great value for the 4 of us including breakfast for £50. The ensuite shower room was gorgeous with a great power shower and plenty clean large towels.
The staff on reception were all very helpful though they do stick to the check in time of 14:00 hrs and would not let us check in even 5 minutes early despite a long 4 hour drive!
The ladies who serviced the rooms and the staff around at breakfast time were all pleasant and very helpful.
Breakfast was good - fresh and plenty choice. The coffee was lovely and hot and my husband loved the sausages.
This hotel was perfect for visiting Drayton Manor and The Snowdome which my daughter loved. We also visited Cadburys World which was approx 40 minutes drive through busy Birmingham roads but definitely worth it ( though book online or over the phone before you go because it does get very busy and visitors are limited)
We would definitely return to this hotel again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a lake view room because the other side of the hotel Overlooks a busy dual carr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibba8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank for taking the time to comment on your stay with the Holiday Inn Express Tamworth.

It was good to read you enjoyed your stay and your room was clean, fresh and modern.

We agree with your comments, we are situated extremley well for local attractions around Tamworth.

Good to read you also enjoyed your breakfast and the coffee was hot and your husband enjoyed the sausages.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Regards

Szilvia Kiss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We booked this hotal for Drayton Manor and it is really convenient. Rooms are clean and fresh and the breakfast is really generous - very good value for a family. When we arrived our door card wouldn't work & we had to swap rooms, then the TV wouldn't work and also an extra bed had to be made up - but each time the staff dealt with it immediately and in such a friendly way so that nothing was a problem. Its a long time since I've stayed anywhere with such helpful staff! Many thanks, Holiday Inn, and we have now joined the Priority Club and will be using them in future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare_C_13186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued comments on your recent stay with us.

Good to read your room was clean and fresh and you enjoyed the breakfast.

We are very lucky to be located so close to all amenities Tamworth offers.

My apologises for the problems you experienced but was glad to read our Reception Team was able to sort everything out in a friendly and efficient manner.

You will find being in the 'Priority Club' a great advantage when staying in our group of Hotels.

Look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards

Szilvia Kiss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed in the Holiday Inn for two nights to take our daughter to Thomas Land at Drayton Manor theme park. The hotel is pretty fresh and modern. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I had phoned in advance to ask for a cot in the room but it had been made up with a sofa bed instead - however this was swapped immediately and efficiently.

We did find the room very hot and the air conditioning unit seemed to make no difference - perhaps it wasn't working properly but we didn't complain. Unfortunately our room was at the back overlooking the road rather than the lake but the noise wasn't a problem for us.

Breakfast was a fair selection of the usual cooked and continental selection. Price was good as we booked and paid in advance. Location wise it is perfect for Drayton Manor - only 5 mins drive away.

Our one complaint would be that you have to pay £1 every time you leave the car park (unless you're there less than 30 mins) whereas the Premier Inn down the road has free parking.

All in all an enjoyable stay and exactly what we were looking for.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside room - better view and less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC82Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued comments regarding your recent stay with us.

Good to read you enjoyed your stay and the local facilties which are on our 'door step'

My apologies for not having a cot put in your room before arrival but good to read our Reception Team sorted it out without any problems.

We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.

Regards

Szilvia Kiss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Was a bit aprehensive before staying as i had read some not so good reviews. Stayed here as we were taking our 18 month old boy to thomas Land at drayton Manor. For the price and type of hotel it is simply quite exceptional value for money . So Clean and fresh. Good food and facilities . Would highly recomend to families with Children as we are.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britgas01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.

It was good to read you had a good time and found your room clean and fresh.

Thanking you for recommending our Hotel to your familty and friends.

Look forrward to weloming you back in the very near future.

Regards

Szilvia Kiss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel is perfect for visiting Drayton Manor and at £49 for a family room including breakfast we couldn't complain. it is basic but also has the advantage of being situated near to a retail park and supermarket if there's anything you forget to bring with you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrawlerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your recent comments on your stay with us.

We agree with your comments about being very well situated for Drayton Manor and Thomas Land and the Retail Park.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Szilvia Kiss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamworth
1.6 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
1,623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Tamworth Central
0.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#7 of 11 in Tamworth
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
215 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tamworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tamworth

Property: Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
Address: River Drive | River Drive, Tamworth B79 7ND, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tamworth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tamworth
#7 Family Hotel in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tamworth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth is ideally situated for both business and leisure. With great transport links to the M6 and M42 - its very central and easy to get to. The Hotel has free high speed internet in all the bedrooms and reception areas. Parking is free for all hotel guests, tickets to be validated at Reception. Package deals with Snowdome, Drayton Manor and Twycross zoo are all available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tamworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth Hotel Tamworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing