We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and really helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value and really helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We booked this hotal for Drayton Manor and it is really convenient. Rooms are clean and fresh and the breakfast is really generous - very good value for a family. When we arrived our door card wouldn't work & we had to swap rooms, then the TV wouldn't work and also an extra bed had to be made up - but each time the staff dealt with it immediately and in such a friendly way so that nothing was a problem. Its a long time since I've stayed anywhere with such helpful staff! Many thanks, Holiday Inn, and we have now joined the Priority Club and will be using them in future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare_C_13186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued comments on your recent stay with us.

Good to read your room was clean and fresh and you enjoyed the breakfast.

We are very lucky to be located so close to all amenities Tamworth offers.

My apologises for the problems you experienced but was glad to read our Reception Team was able to sort everything out in a friendly and efficient manner.

You will find being in the 'Priority Club' a great advantage when staying in our group of Hotels.

Look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards

Szilvia Kiss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    285
    75
    25
    24
See reviews for
292
100
26
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed in the Holiday Inn for two nights to take our daughter to Thomas Land at Drayton Manor theme park. The hotel is pretty fresh and modern. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I had phoned in advance to ask for a cot in the room but it had been made up with a sofa bed instead - however this was swapped immediately and efficiently.

We did find the room very hot and the air conditioning unit seemed to make no difference - perhaps it wasn't working properly but we didn't complain. Unfortunately our room was at the back overlooking the road rather than the lake but the noise wasn't a problem for us.

Breakfast was a fair selection of the usual cooked and continental selection. Price was good as we booked and paid in advance. Location wise it is perfect for Drayton Manor - only 5 mins drive away.

Our one complaint would be that you have to pay £1 every time you leave the car park (unless you're there less than 30 mins) whereas the Premier Inn down the road has free parking.

All in all an enjoyable stay and exactly what we were looking for.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside room - better view and less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC82Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued comments regarding your recent stay with us.

Good to read you enjoyed your stay and the local facilties which are on our 'door step'

My apologies for not having a cot put in your room before arrival but good to read our Reception Team sorted it out without any problems.

We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.

Regards

Szilvia Kiss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Was a bit aprehensive before staying as i had read some not so good reviews. Stayed here as we were taking our 18 month old boy to thomas Land at drayton Manor. For the price and type of hotel it is simply quite exceptional value for money . So Clean and fresh. Good food and facilities . Would highly recomend to families with Children as we are.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britgas01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.

It was good to read you had a good time and found your room clean and fresh.

Thanking you for recommending our Hotel to your familty and friends.

Look forrward to weloming you back in the very near future.

Regards

Szilvia Kiss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel is perfect for visiting Drayton Manor and at £49 for a family room including breakfast we couldn't complain. it is basic but also has the advantage of being situated near to a retail park and supermarket if there's anything you forget to bring with you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrawlerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your recent comments on your stay with us.

We agree with your comments about being very well situated for Drayton Manor and Thomas Land and the Retail Park.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Szilvia Kiss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Fabulous hotel., We were greeted upon arrival by a very friendly young man on reception who checked us in promptly and wished us a nice stay. Our room was spotless, only bugbear was there was no bath and i was hankering after one after a long journey but the lovely power shower more than made up for this. My son was sleeping so i had a relax on the very comfortable bed and watched tv for a bit. Decided to eat our evening meal in the town and the reception staff were very helpful and gave me concise directions into the town. Brilliant nights sleep, lovely and generous breakfast, breakfast staff helped with my 3 year old son, got him a highchair (even if he didnt stay in it long), this was all done lightheartedly. Reception staff made numerous phonecalls to taxi companies for me to ensure i got the best deal to Drayton Manor and the airport respectively. I will definitely be visiting this hotel again in the future due to the cleanliness and brilliance of the staff. Thanks very much to all of you, it was lovely to see so many friendly faces.

Room Tip: any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EsorlovesYrrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with The Holiday Inn Express Tamworth.

It was good to read your glowing report on the Hotel and facilites which we offer.

I will pass on your comments to our Reception and Housekeeping Team.

We do pride ourselves on our Customer Service levels and ensure all our Guests are well looked after.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Regards

Szilvia Kiss
General Manaer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here on business.

It was gross.

Dinner was disgusting.

Ordered a burger because it looked like the safest thing on the menu. Don't think the burger had ever seen a cow in it's life.

While we were sat eating dinner, we noticed all the windows were covered in spiders.

Breakfast wasn't edible.

Room was below average.

Good location if you're going to the Snowdome behind it.

Despite the negatives, it is a Holiday Inn Express, so you get what you pay for. The staff were pleasant enough, & the room was clean, so as a base, it does the job.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suki_sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.

My sincere apologises for the bad experience you had . Could you please let me know if you informed our Reception Team of the upset you felt with the food and the cleanliness of the dining room.

We very much would like to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards

Szilvia Kiss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Very clean hotel well situated next to the snow dome, not to far from supermarkets and retail park. Not much choice with regards to food in the restaurant. The staff were helpful and friendly I chose to eat at the Aspens next door streak or pizza reasonable price very good value.

Room Tip: Eat at the Aspens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPeasePudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your kind comments on your stay with the Holiday Inn Express Tamworth.

I will pass your comments onto our Reception Team regarding their helpful and friendly attitude.

We look forward to you visiting us again in the very near future.

Regards

Szilvia Kiss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamworth hotels
1.6 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tamworth Central Hotel
1.1 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#8 of 11 in Tamworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Gungate
The Gungate
#9 of 11 in Tamworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tamworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tamworth

Property: Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
Address: River Drive | River Drive, Tamworth B79 7ND, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tamworth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tamworth
#7 Family Hotel in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tamworth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth is ideally situated for both business and leisure. With great transport links to the M6 and M42 - its very central and easy to get to. The Hotel has free high speed internet in all the bedrooms and reception areas. Parking is free for all hotel guests, tickets to be validated at Reception. Package deals with Snowdome, Drayton Manor and Twycross zoo are all available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tamworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth Hotel Tamworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing